Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 69 reviews
on March 1, 2016
well balanced story of the human side of the loss of 120 men in sudden sinking of Thresher. well written acount of the risks inherent in submarine design and engineering, the inter-dependence of civilian shipyard workers and the ship's crew who remain aboard during refit periods and subsequent sea trials. While the resulting SubSafe program was mentioned briefly, there could have been more engineering diagrams and information regarding the broad range of changes which were included for boats under construction and existing boats as they came in for overhaul. "Scorpion Down" is another great read.i
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
As an ex-submarine sailor in the 70's, listened to many, many rumors of how this boat and the Scorpion went down. Never really determined what actually caused the boat to sink, but do agree with the conjecture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
Polmar does an excellent job of collecting all relevant data on the Thresher and building a picture of this ship and crew. What was of particular interest is the history of the ship prior to it coming to the forefront after its loss. I clearly remember the suspense of the time that I listened to any piece of news I could about the sinking. I never knew of the ship prior to that day. This book does an excellent job of filling in those holes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
I love accounts of real maritime disasters, and this book, while rather light-weight, is still a good read. I believe that much more about the loss of Thresher is known, and with her stats no longer classified, I would like to have had more info about what is known about the ultimate cause of her demise. Worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2014
The boat went down when I was a kid and I remember the event vividly. Of course, I never knew what had happened. Polmar's account makes for very absorbing and, ultimately, sobering reading. I am astounded that there was a hint of sabotage in the case that seems to have never been pursued. At the height (it seemed) of the Cold War. This is an excellent, gripping history, and if you don't know the Thresher's story, you will get it in a highly professional manner here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
Quite interesting though sad. A worthwhile read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2017
Wonderful book about a terrible tragedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2017
Excellent recap of the facts. I was at Portsmouth Navy Yard and witnessed it going out the morning it went down. Knew some of the crew members.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2017
Very interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2017
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse