Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Doppler $139.99 All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis dm3 Shop Now toystl17_gno_dm3



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 49 reviews
on August 3, 2015
I liked it... I didn't LOVE it, but it DID have familiar names and faces.
"Arty" from Warehouse 13 is in it, briefly.
No "pristine restoration" but it does look pretty good since it came from an actual 35mm print.
"Katarina" hosting and doing bonuses make it worth having. An atmospheric film about an old
curs-ed Nazi ship that rams other ships to obtain blood---for the ship's "fuel".
It's an old haunted house... AT sea.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
Maybe i should only give it 4 stars due to no "pristine restoration" but it does look pretty good and the bonus with Katarina hosting and doing bonuses make it worth having. Though it seems they didn't really push the Katarina's Nightmare Theater intro in HD as is looks splotchy and upconverted, but when she does her skit it seems nice and clear. You can maybe get by with the DVD as nothing really jumped out at me visually with the blu-ray, but it looks good and the movie is a nice creepy film about an old cursed Nazi ship that sinks other ships to obtain any survivors to fuel itself with blood - so i wanted the Blu-ray just because i enjoyed the movie enough to want a best version.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
I never seen this movie until now , I really enjoyed it , it was kind of creepy , I remember seeing a movie called Ghost Ship , kind of the same , but this one stands by itself , I thought they did a great job with the ship , all rusty and stuff , the Captain from the other ship went all half mad and stuff , women eating that piece of candy , I knew something would go wrong when she poped that in her mouth , BIG DUMMY !!!, LOVE IT !!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
Scorpion Releasing continues with their next exciting genre release, this time a real classic in the form of a lesser known violent ghost story at sea, Death Ship.

Featuring the always welcome George Kennedy (whom would go on to further 80s horror fare - see the excellent Just Before Dawn) and the ever familiar Richard Crenna, this is a very original horror movie which tells the tale of a group of shipwrecked survivors that happen upon a rusted out old abandoned ship from the 1930's. They go aboard, as it seems like a chance for survival from the open sea, but they soon realize they are in far more danger on the Death Ship!

While low on atmosphere, this film still does have some - and it's effective. The Nazi element is unsettling and gives cause to the paranormal violence that the survivors have to face. There is a quite memorable scene with the beautiful Victoria Burgoyne in the shower, when a large amount of blood ruins her day. Pretty awesome.

Filming a horror movie on the open sea is always an effective way to set up tension, as established early on with Jaws and other films ad nauseum. However, with Death Ship there is an extra sense of dread in that this time the threat is of a paranormal nature AND you cannot escape because there is still the threat of being lost at sea. In other words, where it lacks in atmosphere Death Ship makes up for in overall dread and fear. Plus, you get a decidedly dark performance from George Kennedy than you are probably used to. Overall though a really great "haunted-house-on-a-boat" spook fest that boasts some cool practical effects and decent scares. Definitely a midnight movie.

I have not seen the DVD so cannot compare - I have the Blu Ray, and it looks excellent. Death Ship was a great choice for Scorpoin Releasing's first Blu Ray release.

On a side note, while not advertised on the cover this time, Death Ship is the latest film to be released under the Katarina's Nightmare Theater line of genre horror releases. It contains both the regular film and the version that she opens and closes. She is silly and charming as usual.

Great buy for 70s/80s horror enthusiasts.
44 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
Viewed this DVD(movie) and it was fairly interesting but could have been a bit better. It had some good scenes in it but I feel that they could have made a few of the scenes slightly more interesting with little to no work. The DVD played really well also so there were no technical problems at all with this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
3 stars is for the movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
An interesting horror film, but a bit dated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
My brother told me about when he saw this movie at the drive-in back in the day. He had fond memories of it. For some reason we couldn't find it anywhere except on VHS on EBAY, and they wanted some outrageous price. I don't know if it was available on DVD until recently or what. Anyway, the stories about a haunted nazi interegation ship and some people who have to board it after their cruise ship sinks. It was a good movie, but some times things don't stand the test of times and our memories seem to make things better than they really were. It was probably good 30 years ago but it is a bit dated. It makes you think how far movies have come in the last 3 decades, with CG and other special effects. Me, my brother and my son watched it together so it was good family time, and thats priceless. We enjoyed it and my son liked it too. The picture quality was good. It came quickly and in excellent condtion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
This is one of my favorite movies of the 1970's/1980's horror era. It is original, has a well-known cast of good actors and is scary without all the gags, gore and dumb naked bimbos that many of today's so-called horror movies rely on. The physical appearance and atmosphere of the German death ship is enough to give you the creeps. This remastered version has a nice clear picture which is a pleasure as some of the older movies have not been offered in DVD's of decent quality. There is a bonus feature that translates the German that is spoken by the former occupants of the ship into English so you know what is being said during these scenes. I found this helpful but it sort of took away from the creepiness of having to guess what the voice is saying. You know how leaving something to the imagination can be more visceral than if it is actually presented. Either way if you like a good, old fashion horror flick than don't miss this one. I have watched this movie many times and always get something more from each viewing. Death Ship is a winner and not to be confused with the mediocre Ghost Ship from a few years back.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
A++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse