Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 813 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,145 reviews
on July 2, 2017
I've read a few of Drew Karpyshyn's books in the last few months and they do not fail to disappoint although they are not as "heady" as some other science fiction and Star Wars novels (Like Darth Plagueis by Luceno). It is a very good page turner and easy read which I've discovered to be the hallmark of Drew's writing style. Its it not complex, but not overly simple either. The characters are good and fleshed out decently, but not to the point of being overly laborious. Depending on how fast you read, you could finish this novel easily in an afternoon, or a day or two. It reads quickly but its a good novel. I enjoyed the Darth Scourge character and the plot line including his alliance with others in the novel wasn't outside the realm of believability for a Sith outsider in their political settings. I was disappointed in the ending. I felt more could be done with all of the characters and this novel didn't really leave that open for spin-offs, sequels, or the like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
This one is a must read for a true Revanite. If there is one character who defines the Old Republic era of Star Wars it is Revan. From his shocking introduction in the original KOTOR the enigmatic Jedi/Sith has gone on to appear in comics, games and books, in the process becoming one of the most recognizable and beloved characters ever to come out of the Star Wars Universe. Drew Karpyshyn wrote much of the Knights of the Old Republic game and has also worked on the MMO The Old Republic in addition to writing several books set in the Old Republic era. His writing is not spectacular, detailed, or emotionally evocative, but his journeyman style is easy to read and it serves his purpose: spinning a good yarn. And it is a good one. Although there will always be unanswered questions about the man known as Revan, the book gives us a healthy dose to keep us satisfied (at least until the next novel). Karpyshyn wastes no time re-hashing old information, the reader is expected to be familiar with the plots of the KOTOR games. While those who have not played the games may find this frustrating, the vast majority of readers will appreciate the author jumping right in the mix. This approach allows us to be instantly involved in the story, and also gives more time for Karpyshyn to cover all of the plot elements that are needed.
Since this is a review I won't spoil anything. Suffice it to say that through the course of this book you will become re-acquainted with many old friends (and enemies), introduced to some new ones (Scourge's character stands out), and witness a great confrontation between the Dark and Light sides.
Oh, and the Sith Emperor is heavily featured. 'Nuff said.
Overall this is a great addition to the Star Wars canon in general and the Old Republic in general. No matter how much Revan we get, it never seems to be enough, and be warned, that will be the case with this one too. The book ends without the story being fully resolved, in order to entice fans to play the Old Republic game, which may disappoint some. However, anyone who has an interest in the story of the fallen and redeemed Jedi Revan should pick this one up. I certainly found it worth the read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2015
Im a big Old Republic fan and despite all the negative reviews of this book it is a good read in itself. Now giving them that little bit of credit if you are a long time big hearted fan of the KOTOR games and you're looking for an epic closure for Revan then there is definitely going to be a big let down. Im not going into grave detail because plenty of reviewers have done far better than I could with that and I wholeheartedly agree with them because I was pulled hard into the games. They are by far my favorite games and I hope they will one day remake them for the newer consoles if they can do so without ruining the game. Now back on topic, this books closure of Revan and the Exile is indeed a grave let down im very disappointed. I'd rather go back to letting my mind wonder on what happened to revan than let this be the end of the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
Overall I enjoyed the story. If I was brand new to the whole Knights of the Old Republic story line, I probably would've enjoyed it much more. However, after putting hour upon hour into Knights of the Old Republic 1 & 2 the book seems lackluster. It completely cuts out the emotions between all of the characters as you made your way through the games and towards their endings. Though the book brings closure to a lot of the mysteries shrouded by the fact that Knights of the Old Republic 3 was canceled (thanks Lucas Arts), it is not the ending in which I think should've been given. Instead the book is clearly written to be a prelude to Star Wars The Old Republic (SWTOR), which in my honest opinion is not the Knights of the Old Republic story line I loved. For me this book really killed and was not a suitable ending for the Knights of the Old Republic story line. Now only if they would make Knights of the Old Republic 3 into an actual game and just forget about the garbage story introduced by SWTOR all would be well and balance restored to the force.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2014
After playing the MMO "The Old Republic" (TOR) on and off for a few years, I finally started to get into the lore of the game. Outside of the game the first place I looked - after some player reccomendations - was "Revan." The novel "fills in the blanks" between not just Knights of the Old Republic (KotOR) 2 and TOR, but also between the first two KotOR games. "Revan" sets the stage for SOME of the storylines in TOR, but nothing too earth shattering.

I read this in hindsight, and unfortunately the novel's short length doesn't allow for a whole of additional "meat" than, say, a Wiki entry. I'm sure at the time of the release of the novel - and before players could truly get into TOR - this novel would have been a great addition to the game's lore (and a great setup to a few of the stories, as mentioned), but after two and a half years if playing I just wasn't too enthralled with it. It does a great job at what it was supposed to do (fill in some of the blanks before players could explore the TOR galaxy in-depth), but as a Star Wars title, Revan definitely does NOT stand on its own.

I'd recommend this to anyone who has played the original KotOR games and is thinking about trying TOR, but for anyone without an interest in that era/those games I would avoid the title. Even if you're not a fan of the games, there is one title - "Annihalation" - that I strongly recommend if you're just looking for a Star Wars novel that can stand on its own merits.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2015
Darth Malgus wants to take over Coruscant. Unfortunately, the Emperor has different plans.

Zeerid is a smuggler forThe Exchange. He has a handicapped daughter, of whom he doesn't want his employers to know. It's refreshing to see a "normal" person dealing with the Jedi vs. Sith issue, as well as how a disability for someone not of a high ranking is handled.

Aryn is a Jedi Knight who has a brush with the Dark Side when her Master is killed. She goes rogue to avenge him.
She's also an empath. I like seeing different ability manifested from the Force.

The three find their paths entwined and facing situations that bring them out of their "comfort zones."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2012
This review is more a critique on the character of Malgus than anything else.

One of the big complaints about the Star Wars books that focus on Luke Skywalker is because he's so powerful at this point in his life there is little drama with him. Since Luke always wins and since Luke is so powerful the battles are over before they even begin which removes all sense of anticipation and intrigue. I find it ironic then that everyone in these reviews raves about Malgus. I find the virtually invincible Sith Lord who mows down scores of Jedi Knights without even breaking a sweat as annoying and boring as "the goodie two-shoes Mary Sue" Luke Skywalker. There is no drama. In every fight Malgus comes out on top. Every time. Easily. Even the ones that end in a draw have more to do with the opponent practically running away than it does with giving Malgus a decent challenge.

Malgus can be summed up in one word. RAGE. In battle Malgus calls on unlimited stores of RAGE to defeat his enemies with ease. Malgus's RAGE nearly consumes him when he's dealing with other Sith Lords. Malgus commits a horrible act against his lover for the sole purpose of generating pain to feed his RAGE. He then uses the memory of that act in battle to intensify his RAGE even more.

Despite the fact that Luke is dealing with a headstrong teenage son and is still reeling from the death of his wife he's regarded as "boring" but Malgus who is one dimensional with a crush on his slave is "deep" and "complex" and "nuanced" and "fascinating".

The book itself honestly wasn't that bad. However, knowing that Malgus would wipe the floor with every opponent he went up against sucked all tension out of the battle sequences. Seriously, with the sheer power this guys RAGE generated there was NO WAY he'd ever lose any of the fights in this book. As I started each battle sequence I said to myself "let's see how long the author drags it out before Malgus and his unstoppable RAGE destroys everything in his path. . .well that didn't take long."

For what it's worth the only guy in the book I found remotely interesting was the smuggler archetype Z-man. He's the only guy who actually seemed like he had something to lose.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
This was an extremely disappointing book and not worth your money. Not even the Kindle price. The last third of the kindle version is full of sample chapters for other books. If I wanted samples if those books I would have downloaded them for free on my own instead of unwittingly paying for them.

But about the book. For KOTOR fans it was a huge let down. The characters from KOTOR 1 are all mentioned by name at least once, but only Canderous plays some sort of significant role. Bastilla just sits on Couresant while Revan goes off on an adventure.

The events if KOTOR 2 are given a few very meager paragraphs that don't do much to explain the game. The time between the two games is addressed somewhat with Canderous, but it's ultimately not enough.

Then the author invents a Sith empire out of nowhere. The Emperor has powers almost exactly like Darth Nihilus from KOTOR 2. How original....not.

In his attempt to stop the Emperor, Revan spends most of the book in captivity. In fact, that's how the book ends. Yup, that's really what I wanted to read about: one of the most powerful and complex figures in the Star Wars universe sitting in a cell and having an eternal battle of wills with a Sith strong enough to destroy an entire planet yet somehow afraid of invading the Republic.

I expected much better from the author of the Bane trilogy. This was shoddy work, plain and simple.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2017
I read some bad reviews about this book about The ending and stuff but after reading it i got to admit i dont understand The critics. I couldnt stop reading The book and the ending is nice too. Big star wars fan here played KOTOR 1 and 2 and still playing SWOTOR and i got to say i recommend this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
I read this book without having the perspective given by playing the Knights of the Old Republic video game, where the character of Revan was introduced. Without that background I would say this is a good ancillary novel (much along the lines of the author's other Star Wars universe novels), which does a good job of establishing and fleshing out the back story to the "main" "Star Wars story and characters we all know. It is set many years before the events of A New Hope, and involves a threat by a different Emperor with many of the same ambitions as Sidious. However his ultimate goal was so extreme that the other sith worked together against him.

Revan, who was himself a Jedi turned Sith turned Jedi again, but with no memory of his past, went in search of the threat to the Republic he knows is out there, but cannot identify. The first half to 2/3 of the book involves Revan trying to find answers from his past, intertwined with the internal Sith plot to stop the Emperor. The last part of the book (after a time jump) brings the two stories together.

It is a book where a lot happens, and contains much of the action you would expect from the novels as well as some suspense. Nothing is tied up in a nice bow in terms of the story at the end. Although we know that the Sith will eventually be whittled down to two during the Darth Bane years, this leaves everything open when it comes to getting to the point where the Darth Bane novels begin. While some who are more tied to the characters from the video game do not seem to like the book, I think it is an enjoyable read, although nothing you are likely to read over and over again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse