<Embed>
List Price: $16.00
Save: $2.01 (13%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Aug 12 - 15
Fastest delivery: Tuesday, Aug 11 Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Book has a good amount of folding to the covers and pages but remains intact and a good usable book.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$9.74
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Marlton Books
Add to Cart
$9.75
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Godsfaith
Add to Cart
$12.17
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: indoobestsellers
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Deep Down Dark Paperback – September 1, 2015

4.5 out of 5 stars 920 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$13.99
$9.74 $1.72

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Free book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Deep Down Dark
  • +
  • 33 Men: Inside the Miraculous Survival and Dramatic Rescue of the Chilean Miners
  • +
  • Trapped: How the World Rescued 33 Miners from 2,000 Feet Below the Chilean Desert
Total price: $29.47
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Vivid, suspenseful, [and] electrifying.” ―People

“The equal, if the geographical inverse, of Into Thin Air.” ―Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air

“Weaving together the drama of the miners' harrowing ordeal below ground with the anguish of families and rescuers on the surface, Tobar delivers a masterful account of exile and human longing, of triumph in the face of all odds. Taut with suspense and moments of tenderness and replete with a cast of unforgettable characters, Deep Down Dark ranks with the best of adventure literature.” ―Scott Wallace, Los Angeles Times

“Whether the story is completely new to you, or if you were one of the millions glued to the news reports and wondering, will they make it-physically, emotionally, spiritually-you'll be greatly rewarded to learn how they did.” ―Mac McClelland, The New York Times Book Review (Editors’ Choice)

“Héctor Tobar takes us so far down into the story and lives of the Chilean miners that his reconstruction of a workplace disaster becomes a riveting meditation on universal human themes. Deep Down Dark is an extraordinary piece of work.” ―George Packer

“In this masterful dissection of the 2010's dramatic sixty-nine day ordeal by thirty-three trapped Chilean miners, Héctor Tobar weaves a suspenseful narrative that moves back and forth between the waking nightmares of the buried men, and those of their families on the earth's surface. In Deep Down Dark, Héctor Tobar takes us deftly to the very cliff-edge of human survival.” ―Jon Lee Anderson

“It's almost hard to believe that Héctor Tobar wasn't himself one of the trapped Chilean miners, so vivid, immediate, terrifying, emotional, and convincing is his Homeric narration of this extraordinary incident. Deep Down Dark is a literary masterpiece of narrative journalism, surgical in its reconstruction, novelistic in its explorations of human personality and nuance. In a manner that feels spiritual, Tobar puts himself at the service of his story, and his fidelity to and unquenchable curiosity about every fact and detail generates unforgettable wonderment and awe.” ―Francisco Goldman

“A gripping narrative, taut to the point of explosion.” ―Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“My favorite book of the year. Perfect for fans of Unbroken.” ―Ann Patchett, People

“An account that brims with emotion and strength.” ―USA Today

“A powerful tale of universal interest.” ―The Christian Science Monitor

“That Tobar has so vividly reconstructed a life-threatening event remembered differently by thirty-three minds is a mountainous feat of reportage.” ―The Washington Post

About the Author

Héctor Tobar is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and a novelist. He is the author of The Barbarian Nurseries, Translation Nation, and The Tattooed Soldier. The son of Guatemalan immigrants, he is a native of Los Angeles, where he lives with his wife and three children.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
920 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on January 2, 2015
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 21, 2015
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 10, 2015
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

David Garratt
4.0 out of 5 stars A good informative read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 29, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
E M Griffiths
5.0 out of 5 stars A very readable book.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 12, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kevin C
5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 25, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
pete_mate
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Holt
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 15, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Annabelle Nelson
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 19, 2017
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
victor patterson
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 14, 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
DESMOND NEVILLE COLE
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 16, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Allison Nelson
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 9, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
A. Gornall
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 6, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Ian
5.0 out of 5 stars My wife stayed up all night until the very last ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 20, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Emily Maw
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 14, 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
JPG
4.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING INSIGHT ...
Reviewed in Canada on August 20, 2017
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
H. Werntz
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly interesting
Reviewed in Italy on January 23, 2017
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dia
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book for My Library Collection
Reviewed in Canada on July 15, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: history of new orleans, history of physics, books in latin, social stories, Deep Foundations