Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Shop movie deals exclusively for Prime members on Amazon Video Shop movie deals exclusively for Prime members on Amazon Video Shop movie deals exclusively for Prime members on Amazon Video  Echo Dot Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now

Deep Water
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 30, 2017
This is not a great book but one that refuses to let you put it down.
Calm, ordinary in its everyday world of ordinary people who perform the most extraordinary things with little emotion and absolutely no guilt.
Baffling, compelling and a damn good read.
Perhaps this IS a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 23, 2017
Well, she is not the great writer I expected from what I knew about her. Characters stiff and empty where they could, in the right hands, like Anthony Minghella's, blossom into something great. I am reading it now for the history of her work but it is tiresome as can be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 2, 2017
I did enjoy this story. It is a bit dated but that did not detract in any way. The characters are totally unlikeable. The wife almost more so than her husband.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 27, 2017
A little dated in details, but wonderfully written. Surprising twists and turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 19, 2017
Such a great quality book. It arrived here in perfect condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 22, 2014
One can see, from reading this, where Ms. Highsmith's later characters come from. But at least this nasty fellow comes to a bad end. The development is actually fairly good, although one has a serious issue understanding how the two protagonists might have coexisted for as long at they must have. It is a quick read but not very believable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 29, 2014
The Wall Street Journal ran a book discussion on Deep Water. The book seemed a bit dated, implausible, and at the time it was written, shocking. Having said that, I really looked forward to each time I picked up the Kindle to read the story...and I cannot say that about every book I read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2017
Beautiful written, page turner and can't wait to read more of her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 4, 2014
If you're looking for a mystery that offers up cheap thrills page after page, this book is not it.

However, what Highsmith is able to create here is a portrait of a fractured marriage that by all means should not exist but still does. You're left wondering what is motivating Vic and Melinda and what could possibly result from their obviously destructive relationship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 1, 2014
Patricia Highsmith is undoubtedly one of the best crime mystery fiction writers of all time. However, this novel is flawed. The plot moves forward very slowly and the reader never really quite understands the motivations of the main protagonist, Vic. If you want to get a feel for how great this author really is, read Strangers on a Train, her first novel. Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Blunderer
$13.34

Need customer service? Click here