Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on December 11, 2013
This is a rare evidence of human power and strength to resist oppression by Nazi invaders in a ghetto Terezin, where prisoners were held helpless and intimidated. They used the glorious music of Verdi's Requiem and latin language to disquise the harsh meaning of the words which predicted death and destruction to the murderers and oppressors. The mass was prepared by a professional musician who rehearsed the singing with ordinary prisoners under the harshest circumstances and conditions during WWII in a celar with just a broken piano. This is a document of human courage to fight even if there is no hope of achieving freedom. Most of the original participants were murdered during the war years.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
This is a piece of history that seems little known. As a practicing music therapist, this confirms the work I do with music. It is a universal language, and whole brain activity that may assist people through the deepest trauma. "Defiant Requiem" is similar to "Road to Paradise" about the women's camps run by the Japanese, and the "orchestra" that one camp had of women's voices. Music welled up as strong medicine during these times. Requiem is very disturbing on the one hand, but demonstrates resolve and the fact that individuals who have everything taken away still have the choice of how they will act in response.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
A documentary about a well covered era, but the subject matter was not well known to me. The tenacity to live, to live up to one's purpose, to hold on to one's faith in spite of such oppression, darkness, hopelessness is amazing. To be able to inspire it in others is beyond amazing. I am so glad that conductor Murry Sidlin was possessed to bring about this awesome tribute to the people who lived through the events and to bring Conductor Rafael Schacter's life to our consciousness. His bold defiance in face of oppressors gave his fellow captives the courage to use their inner strength to stand up in dignity. Not only defying cruelty but proving to themselves and us that each and every human life is worth while and we should never forget.
The work is very well done, not clinical yet not maudlin. A work that we will watch many times.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
This is a fascinating movie very worth the watch. It was a story of the Holocaust that we had never heard, and as a family of musicians, it tore at our hearts. It is hard to stomach, as with all Holocaust stories, yet one that needed to be told. It's not for chidlren -- at least not young ones -- and certainly something to be watched under supervision for all the questions that will arise. Everyone, everywhere, needs to know as much about the valiant ones who survived to tell the stories with so much dignity. This should be a "must see" movie for all college music students.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
This film caught me up in all the horror of the death camps and the whole point that when there are not words to describe the happening around one, that music is the vehicle to express everything. It spurred me on to read Eichmann's Inferno Auschwitz.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
When I can watch history in the making, no matter how difficult the hardships were, I become a person who realizes how blessed I have been for 78 years. This film overwhelmed me at their courage, their love for life, making something good out of horrific horror. Everyone should get this and have their children, grandchildren, and friends watch it, so we as individuals can be encouraged to overcome our small misfortunes, and live a more meaningful life not centered around things, but focusing on being a good neighbor. Freedom is everyone's business. When one loses their freedom, then we are all in danger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2016
Great untold important history not to be forgotten. Beautifully done. I recommend to anyone interested in WW2 history, those intending to visit Terezin, middle school students and older, and musicians everywhere. Music is healing. Here's s little proof.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
An excellent movie, reconstructing the Terezin concentration camp experience, and the powerful artistic expression that came out of that living hell.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fantastic piece - a must see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse