Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 81 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 254 reviews
on January 18, 2015
Bull crap that its not available for amazon prime stream anymore. I was feeling in the mood to watch degrassi and they took the live stream down. They need to put it back up
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
I randomly caught this show flipping through the channels when I was 11 back in the early 00's and man was I instantly hooked. This cast is topnotch, no matter what, you will find 1 character you can relate to. The story lines draw you in and the drama is addicting. I can't say enough good things about this show, it helped me make good decisions and have such an open mind throughout middle school and high school. Now at the age of 23, I was feeling nostalgic and wanted to re watch the first few seasons. I couldn't find them anywhere online so I ended up purchasing the seasons from here. I finally got my DVDs yesterday and I forgot how amazing this show really is. I caught myself laughing quite a bit. This isn't just a show for teens, I forced my 25 year old boyfriend to watch the entire first disc with me for the first time. He's addicted and cannot stop watching and he hasn't even hit the intense seasons yet!! This is coming from a guy who falls asleep to every movie! Best purchase ever, so happy I get to relive my childhood with this awesome series! One thing I don't like about the discs is that after an episode ends it goes back to the main menu, I wish it would just play the next episode instead of me choosing it every time. Other than that, this is a good dvd set that you should buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
Being a long time fan of Degrassi, I finally decided I wanted to own the seasons for nostalgia purposes and so I could watch them whenever I wanted to without having to find them online. The shipping was great, came one day before original scheduled delivery and was concealed well. Once out of the package I do have to say it did not look like it was "new" because the plastic seal around the box was loose and ripped a bit. I was getting a bit worried, but once I inspected the box, disks, etc all looked incredibly well and seemed to really be new. So maybe the plastic sealing was throwing me off. The final test of course was to watch the season, and each disk played smoothly and had no problems with them. I am very pleased with my order and have since then ordered seasons 2, 3, and, 4. Will review those as well once they arrive. Very pleased with my order, I highly suggest buying this and watching Degrassi of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
I LOVE THIS SERIES! I have watched and re watched this series about 5 times and i will do it again! it is so amazing and to see all the characters grow up to who they are today. I LOVE THE OLD CHARACTERS, but not so much the new ones. PACKAGING WAS VERY GOOD AND COMPLETE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2017
I thought that I would be getting all of the first 3 seasons when I ordered this pack but instead I got all three discs with extra episodes, bloopers, etc. I guess I read the description wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
Most US movies and TV series suffer from 20- or even 30-somethings portraying high schoolers, which always looks and sounds really odd, for obvious reasons. This Canadian series manages to avoid that pitfall, by using actual high school age actors, making it one of the most genuine such shows around. It is, of course, VERY PC, but what do you expect from something made in the early 2000's......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2016
Most US movies and TV series suffer from 20- or even 30-somethings portraying high schoolers, which always looks and sounds really odd, for obvious reasons.
This Canadian series manages to avoid that pitfall, by using actual high school age actors, making it one of the most genuine such shows around.
It is, of course, VERY PC, but what do you expect from something made in the early 2000's......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
I missed a lot of the first few seasons as I didn't start watching till 2008 so it was nice to see how it began, I even hulu the earlier shows with Emma's mom as a student. degrassi jr. high and degrassi high I think I will eventually pick those up too. its a slow process. I enjoyed seeing Emma as a child experiencing some of the issues that her mom did in the other seasons, just with high Tec. being more involved. once you put a computer into a preteen/teens room they're bound to go into chat rooms just like Emma did. its a good thing she had manny, toby and JT looking out for her and they were able to run to her mothers reunion and get help. As for the other characters I loved spinner he was such a clown. I think that Ashley needs to loosen up some and Paige is just annoying she is the "poor little rich girl" who is craving for attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2008
I had heard about Degrassi The Next Generation a couple of years ago. But never gave the series not much of a thought because I was too busy with American television series at the time. Back when American television still had great television. I watched a few episodes of the series on The-N website and was instantly hooked. One interesting aspect of the series is they actually teenagers playing teenagers. Something that doesn't happened in the U.S. Another thing, that get me hooked was the fact that the series takes some real risk. No disrespect to good Teen Dramas i.e. Season one and Season Two of Dawson's Creek & Everwood. But most teen drama series begin with, the oddity which is the first day of a new school. Degrassi has this but it has something I had never seen anyone dare try in their first episode which is Cyber Predators. What the first episode of this new series does is bridge fans of Degrassi High - The Complete Collection and viewers of this new series. So if you are a new viewer of the Degrassi univirse like I am, you are not completely confused. And if you are a long time viewer of the two previous Degrassi series; it is like meeting up with old friends again. The first season of Degrassi The Next Generation deals with such things as rape, your first date, jealousy, body image, drugs, porn, drinking, peer pressure and all things young kidsdeal with when they are young without all the over the top BS you get on One Tree Hill and Gossip Girl. The first season sets up relationships and friendships that are still on going now in the series 7th season and some that are taken to the 10th level in future seasons. Like friendships such as, Manny Santos & Emma Nielson, Spinner Mason & Jimmy Brooks. And rivals like Paige Michalchuk & Manny Santos. Season One also begins the iconic relationships of Liberty Van Zandt & J.T. York, and Emma Nielson & Sean Cameron a relationship to this day fans of the series' wonder if they will ever be. If you despise teen dramas of all kinds then do not purchase these DVD's. If you don't mind going back and seeing as close to junior high & high school a television series can be. Then please do purchase this series. I will discuss the special features because I don't think they are all that good. Also, do not get these DVD's because of the great picture quality or sound qualilty. Degrassi has never and will never have the budget that series like Gossip Girl or One Tree Hill will have but when it comes to emotion no one beats Degrassi.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 17, 2010
I first found Degrassi : The Next Generation on the local CW Network in Rockford before it was pulled in favor of Edgewood and I instantly became a fan because it had such a greater depth than similar shows that exist in the United States. This is how I found myself purchasing season one of Degrassi : TNG. Even in the first season, this show from our Canadian friends packs a brutal punch. In the opening two episodes, Emma decides to meet a sixteen year old she met online, only to discover that it's really a 30-40 ish man who wants to have sex with a child. In other episodes, Emma gets her period for the first time and receives help from an unlikely Paige. Toby and JT decide to entertain themselves by looking at some porn online, and in the season finale: good girl Ashley takes some ecstasy JT got and ends up breaking up with Jimmy, telling off Paige, and almost sleeping with Sean.

American television just will not touch these issues, so if your looking for something that feels a little bit more realistic than Gossip Girl or any "reality show" currently orbiting the corpse that used to be MTV. I offer my highest recommendation to Degrassi for their raw and less idealized storylines.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse