Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 571 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 811 reviews
This is a simple, no frills version of the movie although the DVD does contain a very interesting special feature about the making of the movie. The movie is all that is needed. I recalled the jokes such as "I'm gonna make you squeal like a pig, boy" surrounding the movie but had never actually watched more than a few minutes of the movie. Needless to say, I was blown away. This movie is chilling. It has a deliberate pace that keeps moving forward but at the same time keeps you on the edge of your seat. This could have been just another cheesy B movie but the excellent acting combined with great directing and a great story left me with my mouth agape saying "Oh My God" repeatedly by the end of the movie. The premise is one to which most people can relate. What would you do if you were placed in a situation where you had to kill someone to save your friends? What would you do afterwards? Would you trust law enforcement in a rural area far from home? would you and your friends hang together or would someone crack? If you have not seen this movie and like thrillers, this is a must see. It is a classic and like most classics, you understand why after you have seen it. Lastly, Often with classic movies, one has to begin watching the movie expecting that the movie and style of film making is is going to be dated. While the cars and the hair styles do display this factor a bit, the plot and the movie hold up very well 45 years after the initial release.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2016
Lewis: "Sometimes you have to lose yourself before you can find anything...A couple more months, she'll all be gone...from Aintry on up. One big dead lake." I saw "Deliverance" when it was released in 1972 and have seen it many times since then...always with a sense of anticipation for the opening scene with the dueling guitar and banjo duet between Ronny Cox and Billy Redden; and a sense of satisfaction after the last frame fades into the closing credits. Adapted from James Dickey's novel of the same name, this is one of the best suspense thrillers ever made...my opinion of course; and as the opening quote indicates, it also had environmental overtones. The superlatives don't end there...the film also features Burt Reynold's best dramatic performance (my opinion) and arguably the best by Jon Voight. It also features the film debuts for Ned Beatty and Ronny Cox; and they both hit the ground running...Cox never did better than in this film. British director, John Boorman, also delivered his best performance behind the camera...he teams up Dickey on the screenplay, so he gets double credit for the excellence of this film. Dickey, in addition to writing the novel and co-writing the screenplay, plays the sheriff of Aintry County. The tune played by Cox (who was and is an accomplished musician) and Redden (who does not actually play the banjo) is of course, "Dueling Banjos", and I thought for many years it originated with this movie; but it was actually written in 1955 by Arthur Smith. The music score is another superlative, perfectly setting the mood for the film. The R-rating is well earned for violence, including the famous male-on-male rape scene...be mindful of that if you decide to watch it. My highest recommendation
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
There are good things about this movie. Photography, for one. Just puts you right into the scene. For another, the outstanding acting performances of Burt Reynolds, Jon Voight, Ronnie Cox, Ned Beatty. ( I am sorrythat Ned Beatty's first role in a major feature film, this one, involved forced nudity and non-consensual sodomy. Truly I am ) River scenery is breath-taking.

Events are paced quickly and give us thrills and fear. Not altogether a plus, as the movie is "shock 'em, rock 'em, but don't let 'em think..." In other words, "direct impact, that's all"...
This movie is the grandfather of several things in our culture, such as survival, survival, survival...These days we approach survival differently than the guys in the movie did.

To accentuate the positive, Burt Reynolds is well photographed in "Deliverance". Burt Reynolds has a beautiful male human form shown off dramatically in this movie and used well to advance the storyline; Jon Voight offers very complex development of his character, by turns tender and comforting and by turns bold and brave. To say the least. Ronnie Cox and Ned Beatty handle very complex demands of their roles.

When new in theaters in 1972, Deliverance the movie was reviewed by both Roger Ebert and by Vincent Canby (New York Times) As I can't quote their copyrighted material here, I hope you will find their reviews easily on the internet and look the reviews over. Deliverance the James Dickey novel from 1970. on which the movie is based, has been reviewed as a Freudian odyssey-novel.....plus being considered one of 100 best novels of some kind. An accolade with which I disagree. As to Freud, well, Freud is said to be a fraud who altered his research findings to get them published.

In conclusion, the best things about this movie are skilled acting and skilled photography, plus spectacular scenery. The scenery was created by God, and used by James Dickey. And Dickey uses you, too, every time you watch this.

The movie falls apart after the first very dramatic death by arrow. It then goes on its own momentum burying bodies. I am sorry Mr. Dickey couldn't invent more for his characters to do. Photography great.

.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2017
An All Star Cast in the lead roles, the 4 men set out on a trip to the rapids deep in the rural mountains. The trip starts out great and everything seems good. Two of the men end up getting out of the boat they are in and encounter a few "locals" that want to start trouble and I don't mean the robbery kind.
Burt's character and his friend see the other boat and then know they are in trouble. From there, it gets real as in "survival" of the fittest. These two locals that harassed 2 of the friends, one of them was able to escape and the other, well, can't get up permanently. They make a verbal pact so they can get out of this situation the best they can. It get's real from here on in the movie!
Sound and picture quality are pretty good and Special Features are plenty here.
A great Burt Reynolds movie, with notable cast leads, Ned Beatty, John Voight, Ronny Cox.
If you want a good drama set in rural mountains scenery, you should get this or at least watch it once in your lifetime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 28, 2015
Man, you forget what a great movie this is until you pop it into a dvd player and watch it on an HD TV. You also forget what a terrific actor Burt Reynolds can be when he puts his mind to it. Jon Voight is a given, he's an actor's actor, and so is Ned Beatie. This movie has some gripping and hard-to-watch scenes, some very graphic moments, but if you like a well-told adventure story, this is it. This movie is as fresh today as the day it was made, it is not dated at all. Brilliant.

Oh, and that banjo scene, it's even better than I remembered: I think they cut it a lot on TV, shorten it too much. When you see the whole scene it's absolutely stunning.

I'm sure a lot of people get hung up on questioning the morals of some of the decisions made by the characters in this film, but keep in mind this is a story, it's fiction. And we humans are far from perfect.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2014
DELIVERANCE is a solidly written, gripping movie about man versus nature (Mother Nature and human nature). Sometimes the point was a little too on-the-nose, but it raises interesting questions about modernity, masculinity and survival. Also great are the four central performances by Jon Voight, Burt Reynolds, Ned Beatty and Ronny Cox. Each of them inhabit their character completely and fully immerse themselves in their roles. Even more incredible is the on-location shooting in Georgia which results in some beautiful images and taut thrills as the four men make their way down the river. The only complaint I really have is that towards the end, it slows down a lot and the way some of the story is wrapped up drags on for a few minutes too long. Still, this was an unforgettable journey that was worth the trip. You also might not look at pigs or "purty mouths" the same way again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
An action movie usually doesn't include complex subjects and emotions: this one does. There's never a dull moment, even though you're basically on the edge of your seat the entire time. Each man's character is well developed and very different from the other main characters. It's hard to explain the feeling their river experience gives you because the viewer is shown the experience of each adventurer. There's no taking sides, truth or closure. The film title is perfect. The word is heavy with meaning in Deliverance.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2017
Believe it or not, but I had never seen this movie and I am in my 70's. I have heard about it since forever, so I decided to rent it. I did enjoy it for the most part; however, I thought Burt Reynolds had a bigger role than he did--not that I am that disappointed because I never thought Burt Reynolds was that great of an actor, although he was a handsome man in his younger days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
BLU-RAY DIGIBOOK - CODEFREE

ENGLISH:

Never seen before this movie but Burt Reynolds looks HOT in this movie.

Anyway: Usually I don't like movies without any big orchestral soundtrack. Only in few scenes we can hear (with except of the banjo/guitar duell scene) some guitar music. But for the most during the movie we only hear noises of the nature and wilderness.
And I was surprised how much thrilling and dramatic the movies is - even without any orchestral soundtrack. And I was bit shocked about the man-to-man rape scene in the woods. Anyway: thrilling movie, with a great cast and very well filmed.

Im happy that I bought the digibook which contains interesting 40-pages with infos about making the movie and notes about the actors who did their own stunts (even the scenes on the river etc.)

The picture quality is very good. A bit soft - could be more sharp but its clean and free from any dirt and damages. Only a night scene looks a bit terrible (guess it was filmed with a filter) and on the beginning the frame is corny and grainy.

The soundtrack: English is HD-Master 5.1, spanish, french and german in MONO only. Also available are subtitles in english, german and others.

The bonus-features are interesting. Specially the new 30 minutes Reunion of the 4 actors: Voight, Beatty, Cox and Reynolds who remembers back to their work 40 years ago.

Also the Audio-commentary and the 4-part-documentary is very interesting.

GERMAN:

Eigentlich habe ich den Film nur wegen hottie Burt Reynolds gekauft und als der Film ohne orchestrale Filmmusik begann, dachte ich schon was für ein langweiler der Film wuerde. Aber ich wurde eines besseren belehrt.

Um ohne viel zu verraten: der Film ist spannend und mit ein oder zwei Szenen sogar ziemlich schockierend.

Die Blu-Ray (in Form eines Digibook mit interessanten 40 Seiten) ist CODEFREE und enthaelt auch deutschen TON (in Mono), sowie auch deutsche Untertitel fuer den Film und bonus-Material.

Die Bildqualitaet ist eigentlich recht gut bis auf ein oder zwei Szenen etwas koernig. Die Anfangsszene in der Kiesgrube ist mitunter etwas koernig und weisst einen flackernder Schleier auf. Fuer den Rest des Films ist die Bildqualitaet recht gut, etwas soft vielleicht und etwas mehr detailschaerfe haette gut getan.

Hervorragend und interessant ist das Bonus-Material. Besondes das Reuion-Treffen nach 40 Jahren der vier Hauptdarsteller (länge 30 minuten) ist interessant und humorvollgeraten.

Auch interessant: der Audio-Kommentar und der 4-Part-Documentary.

FAZIT: sollte man in der Sammlung haben - der Film ist spannend!
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2017
This is not a video/audiophile review of the movies picture and sound quality. As a fan of the movie, I am more than satisfied with the audio and visual presentation by this blue ray. It is on par or slightly better than the Netflix version that was recently discontinued, and hence the reason I bought this product. Overall excellent movie and is packaged well. There is a slightly cheaper version without the booklet, but I would say if you're a fan of the movie, it's worth the few extra bucks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here