Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Delp and Goudreau
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Kate Voegele Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
10
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon June 14, 2007
I suppose most people looking for this album are fans of Boston, the "More Than a Feeling" 70's rock monster from Tom Sholz. The titular Delp and Goudreau were members of that band, guitarist Barry Gourdreau in its heyday and vocalist Brad Delp through every incarnation right up to the band's last release in 2002. Just a year following, in 2003, the pair released this set of 10 original compositions, having last worked together in the early 90's as part of RTZ (Return to Zero), a middle-of-the-road, melodic rock outfit that scored one big hit before folding.

This album might, in fact, be better thought of as a new RTZ project. Not only are all the old members on hand - drummer David Stefaneli, bassist Tim Archibald, and keyboard player Brain Maes - but so too are a group of songs that fit quite easily in the RTZ mold, although performed at a slower tempo with a more laid-back approach. Produced by Goudreau in his home studio, the songs have a much sparser sound than a full-on RTZ or Boston production. And that's just fine. Bombast is not necessary, nor even expected. Apparently the intention here was to make a quieter, more personal musical statement, with the voice in front and an emphasis on lyrical content.

That turned out to be a good decision with this group of songs, perhaps Delp's most thematically consistent work, a look at life from late middle age. As mortality suddenly looms large, with "time slipping away," Delp reminds us that "we still control our fate" and to use our "precious time ...to live for today." Unfortunately it seems Delp was unable to abide his own advice. Following his suicide in early 2007, "Out of My Hands" now seems like a lost call for help:

----------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------
It seems that I've been living in some imaginary place
And when the truth comes bearing down on me
It's more than I can face

Somewhere in a recess that I can't quite recall
Where the voice of reason, hit an emotional wall
Now I feel nothing at all

Except the constant ringing and the voices in my head
Like the sirens sweetly singing, telling me I've been mislead
And the walls keep bearing down on me
With words that must be said
Interaction, with compassion
These emotions that I dread

It's out of my hands - there's a side that cares too much
It's out of my hands - and a side that says don't touch
----------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------

Musically, there's not much happening on this album. "Hands of Time" is melodically infectious, and the twangy guitar lines and vocal harmonies on "I Need Your Love" might remind you of George Harrison. But the backing vocals on "Reconciliation" are glaringly feeble, Delp's voice warbles on "Everyday," and the drum fills on "Out of My Hands" are not only predictable, but sound quite thin for real drums. The instrumental "Keep on Runnin," a jam built on a simple riff, might have fit on a Head East album 30 years ago but seems out of place here, as does the album's best rock number, a live version of "The Rhythm Won't Stop," both of which were probably inserted to fill out an otherwise short album.

While not by any means a horrid album, neither is Delp & Goudreau likely to be in heavy rotation in anyone's private music collection. This is an album for collectors, a curiosity for fans, and is probably of little interest to anyone else.

#
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
DELP & GOODREAU: While hardly on the same sonic plateau as the first BOSTON album (then again, how many platters ARE?), the late, lamented BRAD DELP's final project pairs him with frequent guitar slinging partner BARRY GOODREAU, whom he also worked with on the latter's 1980 solo debut, the mid eighties band ORION THE HUNTER and their semi-successful nineties act RETURN TO ZERO. You won't find much in the way of out and out rockers along the lines of PEACE OF MIND or DON'T LOOK BACK here, but there's plenty of smoothly rendered ear candy ala RTZ's Top 40 pop hit UNTIL YOUR LOVE COMES BACK AROUND. For fans of DELP's one of a kind set of pipes, thought provoking, melancholy lyrics and GOODREAU's tasteful six string soliloquies, that should be more than enough. The toughest tracks, RHYTHM WON'T STOP and RECONCILLIATION, arrive near the end of this under the radar effort, with the acoustic ballad MY ONE TRUE LOVE serving as a decent swan song for one of contemporary rock's truly amazing, soul-searing voices.

RATING: THREE SAD NOTES
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
Not as good as I thought or hoped. Goudreau is on his game guitar wise, vocals not so much. Don't expect Boston or his solo album. Delp needed better songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2009
A good job done well, Maybe a little sad, but true. Hoping for a live CD from this group or some sort of thing like that.(RTZ or Boston, etc.)
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
not what I was expecting, too mellow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2015
Great seller, will use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2006
Bought this about the same time Corporate America came out. This isn't the best effort of Mister Delp and Goudreau, the three RTZ cd's are more true to the "Boston" sound we've all grown to love.

This collaboration is pretty "soft" when it comes to rock, the only real rocker is a live piece (Rhythm Wont Stop, tossed in to fill out the tracks, and actually one of the worst on the album. Brad refers to Barry as "My Man"....jeesh.

In any event, this is better than the lame effort from Tom and crew that was and is Corporate America. Lose the chick and stop playing country for crying-out-loud...you're BOSTON!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2015
R.I.P. Brad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
If you liked Boston, you will love this CD. Better than anything Boston put out since the first album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2007
It's Delp's voice you listen for and having his portrait prominent on this CD is no accident. (Even CBS made sure Tom Sholtz kept Delp's voice on the three contracted 'Boston' albums). For that matter his lyrics, nay, his poetry, are far more refined than Barry's. I really looked forward to a distinctive Goudraeu album, but it's just not there. Wasn't there with 'Orion the Hunter' nor all the 'RTZ' CDs. They also sat in my closet for years until I pulled them out after Brad Delp died on March 9th.

Delp will never put out his own album. He is (was) too busy helping his 'Boston' friends reap some individual success on thier own. Brad Delp and Tom Sholtz were the owners of the 'Boston' name and copyrights. The others might have fared better had they trusted their "friendship", but they all sided against Sholtz with CBS and lost, the effects of their disloyalty painfully apparent as the years progressed. Music Class 101, write the songs and lyrics if you want the royalties, or if you are just one of the musicians make sure you have a clearly written contract to receive these royalties (recall how Styx beat down Dennis DeYoung's arrogance with this assurance).

I like Barry, but those who are looking for the 'Boston' sound are misdirected. I laud Barry for his efforts. Keep trying, buddy, I can see that you are trying to make it your own. Frankly, I think it comes down to the fact that you are not America's idol. You are at your best in a group band that shares idividual writing and producing talents to come up with the magic of a finished album. With Brad gone, God's plan for you should now be more apparent than ever.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here