& FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Demons & Angels has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: The CD shows very minor wear if any at all. Orders shipped Monday through Friday. Safe and Secure Bubble Mailer! Your purchase helps put people to work and learn life skills to reach their full potential. Thank you!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Demons & Angels

Limited Edition, Ltd ed.

Import, Box Set

4.4 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, Import, March 12, 2001
$29.41 $23.74

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Rev. Gary Davis is one of the giant figures in early blues and gospel music. This 3-CD box set contains 57 tracks and features many of his greatest performances, many never released before.


When folk revivalists all of a sudden became fascinated with country-blues performers of the early 20th century, no one had to go into the sticks to find Reverend Gary Davis. Though he'd stopped recording, Davis was an active street singer and preacher in Harlem throughout the 1940s. In the 1950s, folklorists, fans, and followers began to seek him out to hear him play, record him, and learn from him. Stefan Grossman, now a respected guitarist in his own right, was one of his longtime students, and he's compiled this wonderful three-disc box set, complete with detailed song notes and an essay that explores Davis's pre-New York days. Disc 1 features rare recordings made by Columbia University student John Gibbons in 1958 and 1959, and it focuses mostly on Davis's instrumental prowess: a thoroughly matchless fingerpicking guitar style that fused bits of jazz, blues, and ragtime into a highly personal technique. In addition to the many instrumentals on the first disc, there are some of Davis's most spellbinding vocal performances, especially "Crucifixion" (which blends singing and preaching) and "Don't Know Where to Go." Disc 2 includes home recordings from the mid-1960s, while the final disc of live recordings shows off his stage charisma and command. Demons and Angels clearly displays the breadth of Reverend Gary Davis's talent and material--from pop songs to "holy blues" and age-old folk--and is quite a welcome boon to his devoted fans and anyone else looking to discover one of the genre's inimitable talents. Beyond that, it will have aspiring (and even accomplished) acoustic guitarists staying up half the night trying to figure out exactly how the good Reverend played what he played. --Marc Greilsamer

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Buck Dance
  2. Soldier's March
  3. Baby, What You Going To Do (Sic)
  4. Twelve Sticks (The Dozens)
  5. Save Up Your Money, John D Rockerfeller Put The Panoc On
  6. I Am The Light Of This World
  7. Nobody Cares For Me (Sic)
  8. Slippin' Till My Gal Comes In Partner
  9. Blues (Sic)
  10. Crucifixion
  11. Rag Blues In C (Sic)
  12. Blues In E (Sic)
  13. Square Dance Verses (Sic)
  14. Don't Know Where To Go (Sic)
  15. He's My King (Sic)
  16. I'm Throwin' Up My Hands (Ain't Gonna Work No More)
  17. Cross And Evil Woman Blues
  18. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning
  19. I'm So Tired Of Being All Alone (Sic)

Disc: 2

  1. I Am The True Vine
  2. Lord, Stand By Me
  3. Won't You Hush
  4. Mean Old World
  5. Moon Is Going Down
  6. Sportin' Life Blues
  7. God's Gonna Separate
  8. Soon My Work Will All Be Done
  9. Blow Gabriel
  10. Get Right Church
  11. I Want To Be Saved
  12. Oh Glory, How Happy I Am
  13. There's Destruction In That Land (Message From Heaven)
  14. Tired, My Soul Needs Resting
  15. Georgia Camp Meeting
  16. Bill Bailey
  17. Honey Get Your Towel Wet
  18. She Wouldn't Say Quit
  19. You're Going To Quit Me Baby

Disc: 3

  1. I'm Going To Sit Down On The Banks Of The River
  2. Twelve Gates To The City
  3. I Heard The Angels Sing
  4. Twelve Sticks
  5. It's A Long Way To Tipperary
  6. When The Train Comes Along
  7. Little Boy, Little Boy Who Made Your Britches
  8. All Night Long
  9. Who Shall Deliver Poor Me
  10. Jesus Met The Woman At The Well
  11. Lord, Search My Heart
  12. Lord, On Your Word
  13. Let Us Get Together
  14. Cocaine Blues
  15. Devil's Dream
  16. Blow Gabriel
  17. Sun Is Going Down
  18. Spoonful
  19. Whistlin' Blues
  20. Virgin Mary

Product details

  • Audio CD (March 12, 2001)
  • Ltd ed. edition
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Box set, Import, Limited Edition
  • Note on Boxed Sets: During shipping, discs in boxed sets occasionally become dislodged without damage. Please examine and play these discs. If you are not completely satisfied, we'll refund or replace your purchase.
  • Label: Shanchie Records
  • ASIN: B000059LEM
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #168,756 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Rev. Gary Davis Store

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 3 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

February 7, 2005
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
June 21, 2002
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
March 16, 2007
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Demons & Angels
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Demons & Angels
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: country music bear family box sets