Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.99

Save $13.00 (48%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to Teixcalaan! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
A Desolation Called Peace (Teixcalaan Book 2) by [Arkady Martine]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

A Desolation Called Peace (Teixcalaan Book 2) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 2,970 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99

Audible Holiday Deal
Save 46% on your first 4 months. Get this deal


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review


Editors' pick: Readers of meaty sci-fi will love book two of this Hugo-winning series that finds a terrifying alien fleet on the empire’s doorstep."—Adrian Liang, Amazon Editor
--This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Review

“A dizzying, exhilarating story of diplomacy, conspiracy, and first contact in the powerhouse sequel to [Martine's] Hugo Award–winning debut . . . This complex, stunning space opera promises to reshape the genre”―Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Martine weaves a dramatic and suspenseful story of political intrigue and alien first contact . . . each character is rendered in exquisite detail.”―Booklist, starred review

Praise for A Memory Called Empire

“A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled.”―The New York Times Book Review

"[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly away the planned sequels to this impressive debut."―Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Politics and personalities blend with an immersive setting and beautiful prose in a debut that weaves threads of identity, assimilation, technology, and culture to offer an exceedingly well-done sf political thriller."―Library Journal, starred review

"This is both an epic and a human story, successful in the mode of Ann Leckie and Yoon Ha Lee. A confident beginning with the promise of future installments that can't come quickly enough."―Kirkus, starred review

“Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters”―The Los Angeles Times

"Interesting, detailed, lavish."―The Wall Street Journal

"A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All around brilliant space opera, I absolutely love it."―Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice

"In A Memory Called Empire, Arkady Martine smuggles you into her interstellar diplomatic pouch, and takes you on the most thrilling ride ever. This book has everything I love: identity crises, unlikely romance, complicated politics, and cunning adventurers. Super-fun, and ultra-fascinating."―Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

“Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won’t-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome.”―Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

“An elegant and accomplished example of the subgenre of subtle scheming with a background of stars. A delightful read. I couldn’t put it down.”―Jo Walton, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author of Among Others

“A taut murder mystery entwined with questions of technological ethics, A Memory Called Empire is also an evocative depiction of foreignness. Martine creates an elaborate and appealing culture against which to play out this story of political intrigue, assimilation, and resistance. Daring, beautiful, immersive, and often profound.”―Malka Older, author of Infomocracy

A Memory Called Empire is a murder mystery wrapped up in a political space opera, and deeply immerses the reader in a unique culture and society. I very much enjoyed it and look forward to what Martine does next.”―Martha Wells, author of The Murderbot Diaries

"A cunningly plotted, richly imagined tale of interstellar intrigue that does something new with space opera."―Ken MacLeod

A Memory Called Empire elevates space opera to poetry―clever, deep, sometimes tragic, sometimes violent, always transcendent poetry that shines like the edge of a knife.”―Delilah Dawson

“An intricate, layered tale of empire, personal ambition, political obligations and interstellar intrigue. Vivid and delightfully inventive.”―Aliette de Bodard, Nebula Award-winning author of the Xuya Universe stories and The House of Binding Thorns

“A cutting, beautiful, human adventure about cultural exchange, identity, and intrigue. The best SF novel I’ve read in the last five years.”―Yoon Ha Lee, author of the Machineries of Empire trilogy

“An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov.”―Elizabeth Bear, author of Hammered

"A Memory Called Empire . . . is so frigging good. It's like a space opera murder mystery combined with all the political parts of Dune."―Dan Wells, author of I Am Not a Serial Killer

--This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07QPJHNSM
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tor Books; 1st edition (March 2, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ March 2, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4153 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 493 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 1529001625
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 2,970 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
2,970 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on March 19, 2021
Verified Purchase
34 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 19, 2021
Verified Purchase
26 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 6, 2021
Verified Purchase
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 2, 2021
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 5, 2021
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

J. Heritage
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable sequel, building on the first
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 15, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Julian P Killingley
5.0 out of 5 stars An ambitious and sprawling read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 2, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TarquinJohn
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 3, 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
RPG
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 11, 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars A great second book in the duology
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 15, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse