Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on January 17, 2018
I loved this movie as a kid and am happy to be able to share it with my kids. We all enjoy watching the adventures of "Basil of Baker Steet". The twists and turns of mystery are exciting and fun. There are a couple "jump scares" plus the villain, Ratigan gets pretty frightening at the end, so I recommend parents watching it with small children. The DVD arrived quickly and was in great condition. It made a great movie night!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 25, 2013
This is a favorite from my childhood. I was delighted to get it on DVD. It is a cute (American) junior Sherlock Holmes story. I believe with the plethora of Holmes remakes currently available for adults, this is the charming addition: a children's version. It is based on the story 'Basil of Baker Street' and has some parts/ characters that may be a bit scary for tots, but nothing outside of the Disney norm. The villain is voiced by Vincent Price and is delicious even amongst the other Disney baddies. He also gets the best song on the piece. Even as an adult I think this film is a delightful Disney confection. I believe it would stand up even without my nostalgia.

I'd recommend it to anyone with kids, and any Disney movie aficionado.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 3, 2010
The Great Mouse Detective is one hour and fourteen minutes and was released in theaters on July 2, 1986. This was Disney's 26th animated film. The film is base children's book series Basil of Baker Street. The story begins at the Flaversham Toy Shop. It is Olivia's birthday and her father gives her a present. As she is playing with her new toy, Fidget comes in and captures her father. Major Dr. David Q. Dawson finds Olivia crying in a boot and the two find 221B Baker Street; the home of the Great Mouse Detective-Basil. Basil, Dawson, and Olivia, along with Toby (a basset hound) are off to find Olivia's father. In other words the game is afoot. The first stop is at the scene of the crime where Fidget is stealing royal guard's clothes from toy soldiers. While there, Fidget is able to kidnapped Olivia and takes her back to Professor Ratigan's hideout. Professor Ratigan kidnapped Olivia as an incentive to make her father to build the robot of Queen Mousetoria so he can use it to overthrow the real queen. In their quest to find Professor Ratigan's hideout, Basil and Dawson walk into his trap and Professor Ratigan schemes of a cleaver way of killing the two. Basil uses logic and mathematical deductions to get out of the trap. The group head over to Buckingham Palace to free the queen and to rescue Hiram Flaversham. Professor Ratigan takes Olivia hostage and flees Buckingham Palace. Basil, Dawson, and Hiram give chase. The climax of the movie takes place at the top of Big Ben where Basil and Ratigan have their final fight. When the clock bell tolls, the two fall to their deaths, however Basil has managed to grab part of the steering from the dirigible that Ratigan used to make his escape. All four return to Basil's home. An on going gag in the movie is Basil keeps pronouncing Olivia Flaversham's last name incorrectly. During the clock scene, the computer animation is great. The Great Mouse Detective helped launch the Disney Renaissance era. The Great Mouse Detective is a great movie to own and gets an AAAA++++.

DVD FEATURES

Scene Selections
Set Up
Bonus Material
A) The Making of the Great Mouse Detective
B) Clock Cleaner-Animated Short
C) Donald's Crime-Animated Short
D) "The Worlds Greatest Criminal Mind" Sing-Along Song
E) The Great Mouse Detective Scrapbook
Sneak Peeks
A) The Rookie
B) Mickey's House of Villains
C) Monsters, Inc.
D) Beauty and the Beast
E) 101 Dalmatians II: Patch's London Adventure
F) Inspector Gadget 2
G) Rolie Polie Olie: The Great Defender of Fun
H) Schoolhouse Rock
I) Teamo Supremo
Play

VHS PREVIEWS
A) Hercules: Zero to Hero
B) Doug's 1st Movie
C) My Favorite Martian
D) Mickey's Once Upon a Christmas
E) Winnie the Pooh: Seasons of Giving
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 3, 2017
It was an engaging story with good animation. A little scary for really young kids
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2017
My favorite original classic of all time ! Love seeing this movie after so many years and my roommates daughter loves it ,she is two an has never seen it before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 5, 2014
Great Disney Movie! I love to story of The great mouse detective and really enjoy this version of the classic. I am so glad Disney decided to start bringing back the older animated movies in Blu-ray/DVD combo packs. It makes it easy to watch at home or in the car. I can't wait for more Disney movies to be released.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2017
Great movie, purchased for my grandson, he enjoyed it just as much as his mommy did when she was little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 8, 2017
Great movie. I watched this as a child and now I get to share is with my children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2017
Great movie my granddaughter loved it, she watched with Grandpa and enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2016
Having been a fan of Sherlock Holmes Mysteries for many years, including novels, short stories, movies, TV serials, and a stage
performance on HBO starring Frank Langella as the famed detective, ( find it if You can, it's a classic), I really did enjoy this animated
version, a lot ! Your Kids are sure to enjoy it, and so will You. Plenty of subtle humor for adults, and plenty of excitement for Kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse