Buy new:
$15.71
List Price: $26.99 Details
Save: $11.28 (42%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Tuesday, June 29 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
$$15.71 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$15.71
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: This item is returnable
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.
The Devil and the Dark Wa... has been added to your Cart
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$13.41
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: the_nps_store
Sold by: the_nps_store
(406396 ratings)
94% positive over last 12 months
In Stock.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$23.96
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Publisher Direct
Sold by: Publisher Direct
(83740 ratings)
93% positive over last 12 months
Only 20 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$21.15
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: ZiFiti
Sold by: ZiFiti
(1110 ratings)
96% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Devil and the Dark Water: A Locked-Room Historical Mystery Hardcover – October 6, 2020

4.2 out of 5 stars 3,058 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$15.71
$12.85 $9.45
Editors' pick
This vivid, page-turning tribute to Arthur Conan Doyle contains a supernatural twist Doyle would surely approve of."—Vannessa Cronin, Amazon Editor

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Devil and the Dark Water: A Locked-Room Historical Mystery
  • +
  • The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
  • +
  • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

""[An] outstanding whodunit... Fans of impossible crime fiction won't want to miss this one."" - Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review

"A devilish sea saga that never runs out of cutthroat conspiracies." - Kirkus Reviews, STARRED Review

"The Devil and the Dark Water artfully combines intriguing characters, fascinating historical details and a seafaring labyrinth of twists and turns-not to mention a demon named Old Tom...History and mystery lovers alike will delight in the heart-racing escapades of The Devil and the Dark Water." - BookPage, STARRED Review

"The locked room murder meets a Michael Bay movie, by way of Treasure Island; you can't know what's going on, if only because the author won't let you know until he's delivered the final surprise – and another one after that. The effect is irresistible." - The Guardian

"If you read one book this year, make sure it's this one." - Daily Mail

"And unlike most whodunits I wouldn't recommend it for pre-lights-out reading – not just because of the spooky bits, but because such a lovingly complex construct needs readers who are fully awake." - The Sunday Telegraph

"Turton has a fantastic time laying out the details of his intricate plot, leaving the reader wondering if it is something human or supernatural causing the devilry on the Saardam." - The Observer New Review

"A glorious mash-up of William Golding and Arthur Conan Doyle." - Val McDermid, #1 bestselling author

"An absolute treat from the most original voice in crime fiction." - Ragnar Jónasson, international bestselling author of Snowblind and The Island

"The Devil and the Dark Water is mind-bending, genre-bending, intricate, vivid, intelligent, and with one of the most gloriously grizzly cast of characters ever. An absolute razztwizzler of a novel." - Ali Land, author of Good Me, Bad Me

"[A] rousing, action-filled mystery." - Booklist

"An enjoyable throwback to the exaggeratedly intellectual plotting of Golden Age crime fiction." - Library Journal

"Stunningly good. A page-turning mystery on an epic scale, intricately plotted and expertly landed." - Simon Lelic, author of The Search Party

"A superb historical mystery: inventive, twisty, addictive and utterly beguiling. I fell for this book (and its characters) in a big way. Beautifully crafted escapism for fans of Sherlock and Master & Commander. A TRIUMPH." - Will Dean, author of Dark Pines

"The desperate life on board an Amsterdam-bound Dutch Indiamen has never been so vividly painted. Throw in a demon (who may or may not exist), a cast of beautifully realized, compelling characters, along with a series of locked room mysteries, and the result is one of the most extraordinary books being published this year." - M.W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show, winner of the 2019 CWA Gold Dagger Award 2019

About the Author

STUART TURTON is a freelance journalist who lives in West London with his wife. Stuart is not to be trusted-in the nicest possible way. The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is his first novel.

Get a $10 credit

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Sourcebooks Landmark (October 6, 2020)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 480 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1728206022
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1728206028
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.4 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6.25 x 1.5 x 9.25 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 3,058 ratings

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
3,058 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on November 22, 2020
Verified Purchase
81 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 13, 2020
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

TKo
1.0 out of 5 stars More like a young adult novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 16, 2020
Verified Purchase
64 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Gretna
1.0 out of 5 stars mind-blowingly bad
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 28, 2021
Verified Purchase
29 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
2.0 out of 5 stars Clever but rather horrible
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 20, 2020
Verified Purchase
23 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Clive Block
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of a week's reading
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 23, 2020
Verified Purchase
24 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Jacob Collins
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly addictive!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 22, 2020
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse