Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 227 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 294 reviews
on July 5, 2016
This is a decent film with a different point of view as the main character has time traveled from the present to the past. Unfortunately, the film was not made by a high end company and is therefore not the quality it could and should have been to do it justice. The book is wonderful. My seventh grade students study it each year and we finish the unit by watching this film. They are often frustrated by the changes and agree that if they had not read the book, they would have been bored and confused by the film. Overall, this is a decent film but it had such potential to be better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
I teach middle school students and we do a unit every year that includes the Holocaust. This is the first time my students have truly been exposed to the horrors of the Holocaust. This is an excellent movie of the book by the same name. Age appropriate for middle schoolers - wouldn't go much younger due to some of the content. I did prepare my students for a couple of things they would see and told them they didn't need to watch if they didn't want. I have had many students go read the book after we have watched this movie. Great for discussion. I use with the Pyramid of Hate and it makes a great impression on the importance of the choices we make with our actions and words.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
I showed this film to my 11th grade high school students and they absolutely loved it. The violence wasn't over the top in the movie so I did not feel uncomfortable showing it in my class. I worried the film would only appeal to female students, however that was not the case. My 6th hour is packed with football players and they were quite interested in this film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
A true story stunner but in all honesty it need to be told because kids are unmove by violence today and it's consequences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2008
Dustin Hoffman's poignant introduction reveals his passion that young people today never forget the horrors of the holocaust. To my surprise, the film proved to be a most riveting and attention-holding movie, "The Devil's Arithmetic" is geared to teenagers.

Modern teenager Hannah Stern, feeling no attachment to her religion, resents being made to participate in her Aunt Eva's Passover celebrations,. As her relatives, all concentration camp survivors, try to recount their experiences, Hannah turns away, bored. All of this changes as Hannah is chosen to perform the ritual act of opening the door for the Prophet Elijah--instead of the hallway of her aunt's apartment, Hannah is transported to rural Jewish Poland, circa 1941.

Hannah attempts to make sense of her old life, and the girl her new Polish "family" expects her to be. As time passes, Hannah and her cousin Rivkah explore the town before attending a wedding, at which point Nazis round up the wedding guests and load them onto trucks going to the concentration camp
If ever a theme of love, sacrifice, and the horror of hatred needed portrayal outside the realm of religion, one could not do much better than to show this film. What Hannah does for her best friend at the movie's conclusion is as gut-wrenching as it is predictable, and Nazi treatment of the Jews is brutally captured with appropriate reserve--no easy task! In the end, a young Jewish girl who began only with an interest in tattoos learns the lessons of history, tradition, and above all--life's priorities. In a nutshell, how lives and a culture can change in an instant is the strength of "The Devil's Arithmetic".
Be very sure--this film will make a powerful impact on young teens! The dropping of the gas pellets at the conclusion of the dream sequence is intense...very intense. Yet how can the Holocaust be portrayed without such reality? With younger teenagers, take care that background preparation, as well as a reflective time for discussion is provided.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2017
Very good movie. My grandmother said a lot of it is true to fact
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2017
excellent film on the holocaust
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2017
Great dramatization of a first class book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
As advertised
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
The movie was somewhat unlike the book in the beginning, but moved along into a fascinating and very personal tale of the holocaust. The end of the movie (and book) had a twist that makes you really think about the main character's actions, thoughts and beliefs. I used this movie after my 8th graders studied the holocaust through 3 novels, each with a personal perspective on the holocaust. Excellent up-to-date movie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse