BCA Month Salon Beauty altText This Week in Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 25, 2014
I ordered this book, and the book I received had about 40 pages that were upside down. This was disappointing. I would not recommend.
Here is a picture of the book I received: [...]
review image
1414 comments| 214 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2017
This book literally fell apart two weeks into using it. Page by page, they began to fall out. Made it VERY difficult to continue using it. It was purchased to use in an internship setting. I will have to buy another one elsewhere for actual practice because this one is VERY cheap
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
This is a valuable resource for therapists and the Kindle version is an economical way to access it. It does not display on the Kindle well however and the ease of use is a tradeoff for the low price. I would still recommend it and would buy it again.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Exactly what I needed...though the paper is VERY thin. I put a post it note on the one page and when I pulled it off it ripped the page with it... still for the price it's a good starter manual. Fast shipping!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
Binding is poor quality. Because it is a paperback, I have only had it two months, and the pages are already falling out. It is not user friendly in that sense. Otherwise, the book does have what I need...I just need to buy a rubber band to keep it together.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
The copy of the new DSM that I received from Book Preface was terrible! The binding is so stiff that continual effort is required to keep the book open. The paper quality varies from section to section - some smooth, some rough. The pages are bound crooked. The ink is smudged in places... Discounted price = inferior quality & workmanship.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
It's hard to rate this book, because it has no competition. This is the American Psychiatric Associations official diagnostic guide and therefore essential to anyone who has to assign psychiatric diagnoses. The DSM-III and IV criteria for PTSD were basically developed by a veteran's advocacy group and often didn't translate well to childhood trauma. The DSM helps with that, and it also tightens up the criteria for bipolar disorder, which were entirely too broad before. It still suffers from trying to split some areas down into entirely too many subcategories.

It does update the research nicely, and is actually a pretty good reference guide on prevalence and risk factors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
Really wanted a copy of this (I know I'm a nerd) needed it for school was a great excuse...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
Love the diagnosing aspect and the DSM 5 makes it easy! Would highly recommend to any student or mental health practitioner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
The latest version of the DSM does not impress me with it's new psychopathological way of seeing certain conditions that seem more related to selling pills for large pharmaceutical companies than a precise science of various mental and emotional challenges for America.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse