Amazon Vehicles Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 470 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,017 reviews
on January 27, 2013
Die Another Day is often unfairly maligned as derivative of past Bond movies. But that misses the point - as this was the 20th Bond film, released on the 40th anniversary of the first one (Dr. No 1962) this movie intentionally pays homage to the past, as noted in Michael Kelley's write-up. As it turned out, paying tribute to Bond's past was especially important here, as the series was "rebooted" from scratch after this one, with Daniel Craig in the lead role. So Die Another Day is both an homage to the past, as well as the end of an era - who wouldn't want to see that?

As a stand-alone Bond movie (i.e. disregarding the connections with the past), this is somewhat above average in my view. But it's the connections with the past that move it significantly higher than that. The connections are too numerous to mention them all, but consider - WARNING, MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD -

- At one point, Bond pretends to be an ornithologist, this is a reference to the fact that the original "James Bond" was an actual American ornithologist, who Ian Fleming respected and who's name was borrowed for his protagonist.

- Halle Berry appears out of the water in a swimsuit, a la "Dr. No".

- There is a diamond-studded space-ray, a la "Diamonds Are Forever".

- There's a use of lasers that reminds one of the famous "Goldfinger" scene.

- Many of the past technology gadgets are seen again (including at least two that I recognized from "Thunderball"), and comments are made by Q's replacement which mirror Q's from the past.

- Speaking of technology/gadgets, some reviewers have derided the "invisible car". I have no problem with the car, and I give credit to it being an Aston-Martin (albeit a new one) - a nod Bond's first gadget-laden car from "Goldfinger". I believe it's the first time an A-M has been featured since "Goldfinger", probably the best-loved film of the series.

- The connections to the past are endless, far more than I have revealed above (a connection with "The Spy Who Loved Me" is especially memorable). At one point I could even swear I saw one of that bad guys stroking a hand-held controller in much the way that Blofeld stroked his cat in various Bond films. A true Bond nut could probably find dozens of connections, and still miss a few of them. How great is that for the 20th film, 40-year anniversary?

As far as the plot itself, making North Korean military leaders the bad guys was a great idea, something that still works today. This is also easily the most technology laden Bond film, as the reboot with Daniel Craig sought to reduce the technology role. And yet Bond is also very physical in this film, much like Connery and Dalton. This is Pierce Brosnan's best acting work as Bond; I thought he was weak in Goldeneye, but grew into the role, getting better each time.

There are some lesser points of course. The ending was not particularly strong IMO, though there was another nice homage to "Goldfinger" involving the airplane. There's a ridiculous moment where Bond "para-surfs" on a wave of water; someone here suggested that was itself an homage to some of the more ridiculous moments in the Moore films, maybe so. Like it or not, it lasts less than 15 seconds; I try not to let it detract from the rest of the film. There are almost always "cartoonish" moments in these films, but that scene may be the most cartoonish one of all. At least it's memorable; memorably bad! Some people have objected to the ice hotel as unrealistic - I don't know where they've been, because there are actual ice hotels (built new every year in winter), mainly in Scandinavian countries (and this one is in Iceland, so it fits). Some people also object to the gene-therapy used to change appearances. Sure that's far fetched, but it could also be an homage to Bond's own appearance change in "You Only Live Twice".

All in all, this is not to be missed, for those who have seen all the Bond films that went before it. It does not work as well though if you haven't seen the earlier ones, so don't make this the first Bond film you see. Best to view the other ones first, then this becomes the real treat that it was meant to be.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
Pierce Brosnan will always have a special place in my heart as James Bond. four films was not enough. He had really made the role his own, and gave me a whole new reason to love Bond films. In Die Another Day, he goes out with a bang. Love how they raise the stakes. Caught behind enemy lines, tortured, only to return home a burned asset. He has to leave everyone behind to go after the bad guys. With nothing but a 57 Chevy, revolver and a pair of binoculars. Love it!

And Brosnan's last ride is with the hottest Bond girl of all time for my money, Halle Berry. So many Bond girls of the past were beautiful but helpless, or beautiful but feckless, and of course there were the femme fatales, but ... Halle's Jinx was Bond's equal. (Yes, he did get her out of a jam, but just that one time.) She enters the scene - and leaves it - with a splash. When she beats Bond to the helicopter full of bad guys, and then escapes police with a sexy dive from an impossible height, Bond is terrified -- and impressed.

Die Another Day is a great ride, and I love the John Barry score as always. (Anyone else notice the soundtrack over that last scene in the little hut sounds a lot like Out of Africa?) Enjoy!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2003
The first half of "Die Another Day" is relatively innovative and hard-hitting for a modern Bond film; the second half devolves into the standard shiny set piece, with videogame-style car chases and explosions. In short, even if James Bond in general is a European male's mid-life crisis fantasy, this film was made mostly for kids. Pierce Brosnan returns, of course, as 007, still missing that spark that made Sean Connery's Bond a man's man, confident without being arrogant, cool without being cold. He's joined by Halle Berry, whose aptly-named Jinx will either get your motor running or annoy the daylights out of you. (Note to directors: You might keep her dialogue to a minimum and not show her running.) This time, Bond is fighting the North Koreans--even if some of the names sound Chinese, kinda like naming a German "McMullen" or an Englishman "Schmidt"--who've developed a superlaser that can . . . well, does it really matter anymore? The point is, the Asian baddies (including a charismatic Rick Yune) threaten the West and even get to torture Bond in a montage of opening credit scenes set to Madonna's listless techno music. Director Lee Tamahori keeps things big and expensive, but not much in the script explores anything with depth or interest, leaving the cool toys--like a beautiful and well-equipped Aston Martin Vanquish--and stunt sequences yet again more interesting attractions than either the characters or the story. If you're looking for a Bond who does more than go through the motions and fire off predictable one-liners while helping with various product placements, check out the older films. On the other hand, if you don't mind a paper-thin story or lack of any real suspense, "Die Another Day" may just be for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
Pierce Brosnan does a great job as James Bond aka 007. It is action packed and riverting as the others have been.
You need to see and watch it for yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
Die another Day is a good Bond movie with good special effects with mutiple good kill scenes. To me one of the best scenes in the movie is the sword fight scene between Bond and the main villian and a great one liner at the end of the fight scene "it needed remodeling anyways." I enjoy lot of James Bond movies over the years but seems to lose something in this one thats why I gave it a four star rating like The World is not Enough. But for die hard core fans of Bond movies you will love the fight scenes, some very nice kill scenes of Bond killing off the two main villians and for others out there very nice special effects with the laser beam on the melting ice and so forth. I also enjoy the one liner by Berry saying "Looks like I broke her heart." So a very good movie action movie for the price of five dollars and a good way to caught up on the Bond movies for when they come out with Bond 24 and 25 in next couple years with Craig star as James Bond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2017
Brosnan is my 2nd favorite Bond. I was surprised this was his last movie. Worth a view for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2016
The action was just about non-stop!
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Great job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2003
So what does Brosnan do in response to "experts" who say he doesn't have what it takes to play James Bond? He makes like an athlete and improves his game. I can't believe people who compare these movies to the Austin Powers series, when it's clear that the Powers flicks are an intentional parody of 007. In this movie, we have a fanatical North Korean Colonel who builds a weapon that isn't a laser, per se--it amplifies solar energy to use as a heat ray. And he uses it to clear the minefield in the DMZ in a way Stalin never considered--Ole Joe said you clear a minefield by marching men through it. There's just one problem, though. The Colonel is son to a high-level General who thinks he's been killed in an earlier commando attack by Bond, but the mainstream Korean military isn't into whatever comes next. For example, what if South Korea asks the U.S. to fire nuclear missiles? There's the usual array of high tech gadgets, like turning Bond's Aston Martin into a stealth car. Also the Colonel's flying jumbo jet command post, but Bond's cold-start of a chopper that he and Jinx escape from the jumbo in freefall defies credibility. John Cleese as Q's successor is just as fussy and has just as low a threshold for Bond's child-at-play treatment of his inventions as the original Q had. Judi Dench as the modern M is still nowhere near as supportive of her agent as the original M was, which means as supportive as she should be. If I had a job as dangerous as Bond's but had a boss as unappreciative as this M, I'd be spending time at placement services between missions. Halle Berry's role as American agent Jinx is a keeper in terms of more Bond films, but as far as a Jinx series, no way. Berry has too many credentials as an actress to settle for what would end up as a B film series that would wind up on USA Network. My main critique is with the menu setup for the extra features. It's a bit too thematic, to the expense of viewers being able to tell what we're going to be getting when we click onto a selection. I'm not saying it has to be as basic white-on-blue-just-the-facts as the built-in menus on our VCRs, but there's such a thing as too clever. The good news is that we didn't buy this item for that stuff, we bought it for the movie itself, right?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2003
It's the worst thing that could possibly happen to a virtually immortal character like 007. James Bond has been captured and tortured by the North Koreans for fourteen months! He is eventually traded by the government for the release of a terrible terrorist, whose face was disfigured by Bond's previous encounter with him. Enraged by this transaction, M strips Bond of his license to kill (again), so Bond decides to go solo and kill the freed terrorist. But Bond soon discovers a greater plot that could tip the balance of power in Korea...
Like any old Bond film, there's plenty of action, exotic locations, and pretty girls about. But what makes this film so great is its contemporary style and advanced special effects. From an invisible car to smashing glaciers, there's no Bond film that has such sophisticated effects as these.
The movie's storyline not wholly unique, as it incorporates aspects from previous films such as "License to Kill" and "Diamonds are Forever". But the characters are quite unique, and include a girl who's a lot like Bond himself, a disfigured terrorist with a face studded with diamonds, and a wealthy knighted entrepeneuer who's not all he seems (this guy comments that he never gets furious, but then as he duels with Bond, becomes enraged!).
The film is generally entertaining. I wouldn't say that it's the best Bond, despite its advanced effects and interesting characters, but it's worth seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.00
$5.00

Need customer service? Click here