Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services animespring animespring animespring  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,154 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,532 reviews
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 24, 2015
There is an ancient Aramaic saying that's been handed down since the early First Century. "It's just not Christmas until someone gets dropped off the Nakatomi Tower."

Die Hard just delivers. It's what a good action movie should be. Real people fighting plausible (however improbable) bad guys and situations. This was from the days when John McClain ran around barefoot with a machine gun (Ho-Ho-Ho), not surfing on the back of jets or taking down the entire Russian army.

It's just a great action movie. And I had completely forgotten the Run DMC Christmas music on the soundtrack!! It just makes the holiday spirit complete.

The print of the movie delivered via the Amazon FireStick in HD is magnificent. It's clean. It's full HD. It's presented in a matted 2.35:1 aspect ration (meaning it's got the black bars at the top and bottom because it's a true wide screen presentation, so nothing is edited to fit the screen).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
My wife and I watch this every year on Christmas Eve. Because this is a Christmas movie. Anyone who has told you otherwise is lying to you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
Sometimes all it takes is a group of terrorists to bring a family together--in this case the Gennero/McClane faction. John McClane is a guy who prospers in the most tumultuous situations. He's always miserable & he's not happy unless he's miserable, get it? Stopping terrorists is like opening a Christmas present. He's Dirty Harry Callahan (another of my favs) with just as many cheesy one-liners, cigarettes & a "I've had enough of society" attitude. Although, there are a few scenes where some humanity seeps through. I think this might be my favorite Christmas movie too. Ho! Ho! Ho!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2017
Released in 1988 DIE HARD is the movie that created an Action Movie Blueprint that has been imitated countless times (compare similarities with Under Siege, for example): Not only is the hero surprisingly tough (beyond some belief) but the amount of entertaining, bad guy characters are so well conceived you can't help but like, some, of the bad guys ... occasionally.
The bad guys in this movie are led by '"terrorist" leader Hanz Gruber played to instant celebrity by Alan Rickman. Gruber's menacing right-hand-man soldier is played by Russia's own ballerina(!?) Alexander Gudonov (and those scraggy long blonde locks) while the rest of the cast features eventual tv show co-star (Clarence Gilyard -- Walker Texas Ranger) to the eventual scene stealing coke head played to a pitch perfect, just over-the-top comic perfection by Hart Bochner: "Hanz...! Boobie! I'm your white knight!"
Even Hanz Gruber, himself, can't quite believe what he is seeing and hearing: "I must have missed 60 Minutes."
Paul Gleason (in the process of cornering the market on smug, impudent, kiss-asses (i.e Trading Places; Breakfast Club) plays one of L.A's finest who thinks he's in charge of negotiations; and Robert Davi is 'stone cold' FBI agent Johnson: "No the other one."
Bonnie Bedelia is lovely cleavage and more; somehow cute as hell, as well as button-up smart (as Holly Gennaro-McClane) all in the blink of an eye (ours or hers).
DIE HARD('s) fights, explosions, and stunts all hold up as well as any modern Bond movie and/or even Jason Bourne (fight scenes excepted....hard to top).
I didn't even mention pivotal role of flat foot "Welcome to the party pal!" cop played by Reginald VelJohnson. In another movie his dialogue with Bruce Willis would have made them partners in their own buddy-cop movie.
DIE HARD strives on at least 3 different levels. Which reminds me, I just watched DIE HARD during the Holidays for the first time. "Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow."
I can't wait to see what they do for the New Year.
Yes, even the chauffeur in DIE HARD got some good lines.

Xtra feature has Director John McTiernan - on this groundbreaking action model - reminding us how innovative the camera angles and "movement" were while the lighting and, particularly, the "landscape" of the Nakatome (sorry if spelled wrong) building was Frank Lloyd "falling water" Wright inspired.
There is a scene specific commentary with special effects supervisor Richard Edlund.
You can also use subtitles on movie while listening to Director McTiernan's commentary.
No thrilling action movie has more class than this original for the Holidays (argue here if DIE HARD a Christmas movie or not) classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
When I was looking at the Xmas special rentals this was included. I had forgotten that it takes place at a Xmas party. Great movie no matter how old it is. Bruce Willis makes the violence palatable with his funny sense of outrageous humor. Never gets old.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2016
This is a family Christmas favorite and if Amazon would consider dropping its rental price for the season.that would result in them getting many rental requests for the movie if the price is reduced for the Season !!!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Come on, don't act like you don't know about this one. It's a classic.
Rent / buy it. You know it's good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
A christmas classic... yes.. I said Christmas
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2017
awesome movie, all the Die Hard movies. are excellent. would buy again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
An 80's action classic and also a Christmas movie if you will.! The best of the series for sure.!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse