Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 766 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 849 reviews
on May 4, 2016
What can we say that hasn't already beeeen said!? If you love the Die Hard movies and especially if you figure up watching them (mid 80s baby), they are formatted so beautifully and crisp in Blu Ray... The movies are all so very clear and amazing picture and better enhanced sound quality!!!! So, if it's a decent price, and you love these movies, get this set. Get this set if you have a friend who has never seen Die Hard. Either way bottom line, the quality of picture and sound are top notch. One of the best if not the best exciting action movie franchise ever!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
It's always a chance when a star tries to bring back a series after several years have passed. I enjoyed Die Hard as John McClane takes on an office building full of terrorists holding hostages, one of whom is his wife Holly. The second film rivaled the first and seriously made me wonder about traveling by plane. By the time the fourth movie came around, so many years had passed, I went to see it with some doubt. Boy was I wrong. Big John still has it and the fourth movie was as good as the rest, if not better. By then, wife Holly was no longer the endangered heroine and that title had passed to John's daughter. Good scripts, good effects, and Bruce Willis make the entire series one to watch again and again when you need a safe violence-fix.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First off these movies are fantastic so well worth the price right there. I mean the original is the best Christmas movie of all time! But let me get into what happened to me....
So I was super excited to get these movies on Blue Ray as they are my favorite series of all time. My wife had never seen them with me, mostly through stubbornness, so I was super excited to make her watch them as well. About half way through the first movie...nothing, the disk just stops. It was the worst timing and completely ruined my moment sharing it with her. But you may ask why I rated it a 5 instead of something lower because of this, and I will tell you. The replacement process with Amazon was super easy and super quick. I was able to get and return a new copy in just a couple of days and pick up where we left off. At the end of the day I own the movie and the disk works and Amazon made it as easy as possible.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2017
This unscrupulous seller provides CD's that will not run on an American CD player and then accuses the buyer of not reading the fine print.
If I buy a product from AMAZON I expect an American product not some hijacked copy from Austrailia.
MovieMars wanted more money to return the product than the original cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2016
Do not buy these if you are in the U.S. Or Canada. They WILL NOT PLAY
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
DIE HARD: 25th Anniversary Collection [2013] [Deluxe Limited Edition Collection DigiBook] [Blu-ray] Celebrate 25 years of Bruce Willis playing John McClane with this 5 Blu-ray Disc Collection featuring the first Four Die Hard films and an all-new bonus disc, "Decoding Die Hard." It's the ultimate tribute to the tough-as-nails cop with a wry sense of humour and a knack for explosive action. Wrong place! Wrong time! Right man! Yippee ki yay!

Cast: Bruce Willis, Bonnie Bedelia, Alan Rickman, Alexander Godunov, Reginald VelJohnson, Franco Nero, John Amos, John Costelloe, Mark Boone Junior, Robert Patrick, Jeremy Irons, Samuel L. Jackson, Graham Greene, Colleen Camp, Larry Bryggman, Justin Long, Timothy Olyphant, Cliff Curtis, Maggie Q and Mary Elizabeth Winstead

Directors: John McTiernan; Renny Harlin and Len Wiseman

Producers: Joel Silver; Lawrence Gordon; Charles Gordon; John McTiernan; Michael Tadross and Michael Fottrell

Screenplay: Jeb Stuart; Steven E. de Souza; Doug Richardson; Jonathan Hensleigh; David Marconi and Mark Bomback

Composers: Michael Kamen; Michael Kamen and Marco Beltrami

Cinematography: Jan de Bont; Peter Menzies Jr. and Simon Duggan

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.36:1, 2.35:1 and 2.40:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital and French: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Spanish, Cantonese and Korean

Running Time: 132 minutes; 124 minutes; 131 minutes and 129 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 5

Studio: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: Here you get Five awesome Blu-ray discs and they include in this Deluxe Limited Edition Collection DigiBook the following Blu-ray discs and they include: ‘Die Hard;’ ‘Die Hard 2: Die Harder;’ ‘Die Hard With A Vengeance;’ ‘Live Free or Die Hard’ [‘Die Hard 4.0’] and Decoding Die Hard.

Over the last twenty years, John McClane [Bruce Willis] has become such an iconic part of the action-film landscape that it's hard to remember a time when he wasn't etched in our pop culture consciousness. Starting with 'Die Hard,' and continuing through three sequels, the character has proven to be one of the most durable in a very fickle genre. Aside from James Bond and Indiana Jones, there may be no other action movie hero who has lasted as long or remained as beloved by audiences. John McClane redefined the boundaries of the action archetype; bringing warmth, humour, unpredictability, and an almost fanciful sense of masculine daring do to the genre.

'Die Hard' [1988] Was of course, the first film that started it all, and it broke all preconceptions for what an action hero could be. Bruce Willis' John McClane is a NYC cop who has (reluctantly) flown to Los Angeles to reconcile with his upwardly-mobile wife Holly Gennaro-McClane [Bonnie Bedelia], but he ends up trapped in a skyscraper with a bunch of mercenary thugs led by the snivelling Hans Gruber [Alan Rickman]. The simple premise, great action, airtight execution, and unlike the muscled action heroes of other films, John McClane is not a superman, but rather just an ordinary guy stuck in an extraordinary situation. His cocky facade masks a palpable vulnerability, but that only makes him even more courageous. By the time he gets around to kicking Hans Gruber's ass at the film's end, he's already rewritten every cliché in the action film playbook.

Just wrapping up his run in TV's 'Moonlighting,' Bruce Willis was at his hungriest in 'Die Hard,' and he almost single-handedly carries the entire movie on his well-oiled shoulders. John McClane's got more quips than James Bond and Freddy Krueger put together, but somehow Willis makes the character endearing rather than smarmy. Alan Rickman is also the best villain of the entire 'Die Hard' series, coming off as the kind of uber-nasty psycho who would stab you with a knife, lick off the blood, and then stab you again. And the seemingly incongruous pairing of Bruce Willis and Bonnie Bedelia manages to generate real sparks, making us actually believe that this guy would risk everything to save his wife, instead of just another tired plot device. Add to that John McTiernan's economical direction and a breathless set of stunt sequences that still hold up, and 'Die Hard' stands head-to-head with the absolute best action flicks of the 1980s.

‘Die Hard 2: Die Harder’ [1990] Hit screens only two years later in 1990 and was essentially a remake of the first film, only this time set at an airport with a whole group of psycho terrorist baddies who like to crash planes for fun and profit. After they take control of the airport and demand millions, John McClane must outwit their superior technology while again dealing with a bumbling police bureaucracy. Meanwhile, John McClane's wife (a returning Bonnie Bedelia), is stuck high above in one of the circling planes.

Aided by a bigger budget and the energetic direction of Renny Harlin ['Cliffhanger' and 'The Covenant'], 'Die Hard 2' pumps up the formula that worked so well in the first film, and it's almost as much fun, although the seams of the formula show through at times. There's an element of freshness missing (Bruce Willis' wink-wink quips have already grown slightly stale), and the villains are nowhere near as memorable as the scenery-chewing Alan Rickman. And why has the spunky Bonnie Bedelia been banished to a cheap seat in coach for the entire film? Still, there's enough of the old John McClane magic left in ‘Die Hard 2: Die Harder’ to make it worth a return visit.

Next we have 'Die Hard with a Vengeance' [1995]. This time, a crazed mad bomber named Simon Gruber [Jeremy Irons] has an axe to grind against John McClane, and is planting explosives all over New York City. With the help of a local shop owner Zeus Carver [Samuel L. Jackson], John McClane must complete a series of tasks laid out by Simon Gruber, or innocent civilians will die. Eventually, the madman's true motivations will be revealed, but they aren't as exciting as the build-up would leave you to believe.

'Die Hard with a Vengeance' sees the return of director John McTiernan to the franchise, and also opens up the milieu considerably, with John McClane hitting so many scenic stops in the Big Apple that he might as well be a tour guide. Unfortunately, what worked so well in the first 'Die Hard' was its sense of confinement and claustrophobia, and 'Vengeance' just isn't as fun or suspenseful. The script is also ham-fisted in its attempt to weave in social commentary (the Jackson character seems to face bigotry at every turn, all in wholly contrived ways). And with Bonnie Bedelia bowing out of this third outing, there is little personal drama for John McClane, so we barely feel invested in the eventual outcome of all the carnage. 'Die Hard with a Vengeance' is certainly my least favourite of the series.

Fast-forward over a decade and we have 'Live Free or Die Hard' [‘Die Hard 4.0’] [2007]. Surprisingly, things get back on track with this long-in-development fourth entry, which turned out to be one of the biggest hits of year. John McClane is still as ornery and resourceful as ever, albeit a bit more grizzled. This time, he's up against the crazed Thomas Gabriel [Timothy Olyphant], who's out to "redeem" America with an all-out attack on its technological infrastructure. With the FBI unable to catch the criminal mastermind, it's up to John McClane and a geeky hacker [Justin Long] to foil the villain's plot, as well as save John McClane's daughter Lucy [Mary Elizabeth Winstead].

Directed by Len Wiseman ['Underworld'], 'Live Free or Die Hard' works as a surprisingly resonant retelling of the "aging old relic story," where the fighter must jump back into the ring for one last fight to ensure his legacy. But it also doesn't forget what made the first film such a gas, giving us wall-to-wall old-school action that needs little assistance from overdone CGI or slapdash music video editing. 'Live Free or Die Hard' is both modern and retro, giving us all the stunts, explosions, humour and ridiculous violence we loved the first time around, but also throwing in enough new emotional wrinkles for the John McClane character that it doesn't all feel stale. It's the perfect sequel that plays just as well to newbies as it does long-time fans of the series.

As a franchise, the ‘Die Hard’ series stands tall. In the character of John McClane, Bruce Willis found his best-ever role, and with a combination of brawn, brains and snarky wit, created a whole new icon of the action movie. Add to that some of the most top-notch stunt sequences and effects the genre has ever seen, and you have a series of four films that truly do rival such legendary franchises as James Bond, The Terminator and Mad Max. I can't claim that the 'Die Hard' series hasn't had its ups and downs, but even in its weakest moments, the Die Hard series has never been less than a total blast.

Blu-ray Video Quality – 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment brings 'Die Hard: 25th Anniversary Collection' to Blu-ray in a handsome and sturdy five-disc box set. The package is shaped and opens much like a book with new artwork corresponding to each movie. Those same pages also serve as sleeves for each disc which slide out by placing some slight pressure to the top and bottom, widening the mouth a little. The inside is smooth and glossy to prevent the discs from scratching. All four films come on separate discs while the fifth disc contains a brand-new retrospective. The book comes with a side-sliding slipcover made of a hard cardboard material with a picture of Bruce Willis on the front and very lightly textured. At start up, each disc goes straight to an animated menu screen with colourful graphics and music playing in the background.

'Die Hard' as with all the films in this 25th Anniversary collection, the first film in the franchise arrives with the identical encode [2.35:1] as the previous 2007 release. And frankly, the source used for this high-definition transfer is in excellent condition, giving fans the best possible presentation imaginable of an awesome 1980s action classic. Fine lines and textures are sometimes highly detailed and very well-defined with several shockingly revealing close-ups, exposing pores, wrinkles and trivial blemishes on the faces of ever actor. Beads of sweat shimmer in the light while dirt and grime is made plainly visible covering John McClane's entire body. Contrast is terrifically well-balanced and crisp while black levels are true and penetrating. Colours are bold and energetic, and a very thin layer of grain provides the video with an appreciable cinematic quality.

‘Die Hard 2: Die Harder’ sadly, this sequel is the slightly weakest of the bunch with an average, only mildly impressive encoded transfer. The presentation has its moments, for sure, particularly at the beginning when there is plenty of daylight, but as we move into night-time, the quality diminishes quite a bit. Granted, this is due to the original photography and not faults in the encoded image, but nonetheless, it's not as pretty as the other films. Although showing a welcomed film-like quality, grain tends to fluctuate from scene to scene while black levels range from accurate and true to a tad murky and flat. Definition is strong for a good chunk of the time but overall unimpressive with several soft scenes. On the other hand, contrast is well-balanced and stable, and colours are mostly bold and animated with good skin tones and textures in facial complexions.

'Live Free or Die Hard' [‘Die Hard 4.0’] [2007] Being the most recent of the series, the fourth instalment offers the best and often stunning high-definition presentation of the bunch. With a squeaky-clean, crystal-clear encode image leading the way, the video shows sharp, well-defined lines in the foliage of trees, along the side of buildings and down to individual threads of costumes. Every shard, fragment and debris from car crashes and explosions is plainly visible as they fly everywhere, and Bruce Willis is really starting to show his age by this point, as every wrinkle and blemish is exposed. Contrast is spot-on with crisp, brilliant whites, allowing for excellent visibility into the far distance. Black levels are inky rich with superb gradational details within the deepest, darkest shadows, providing the 2.35:1 image with plenty of depth. Colours are vibrant and accurately rendered with primaries looking particularly energetic.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – As with the Video Quality, here is the Audio Quality of each Blu-ray disc is as follows:

'Die Hard' [1988] With our rugged, blue-collar hero also arrives with the same DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack as before, and it's a fantastic listen. Considering its age and the period of when it was made, the original design is not the sort to go toe-to-toe with your more modern action spectacular, but it sure puts up a hell of a fight for a 25-year-old film. Mostly contained in the fronts, the soundstage is wide and welcoming. Especially with the fun and pretty-clever music of Michael Kamen, imaging feels expansive, with excellent fidelity and full of warmth while very lightly bleeding into the surrounds. Dynamic range is clean and precise with outstanding distinct detailing in the instrumentation, and dialogue reproduction remains well-prioritised throughout. Best of all is a robust and impactful low-end with tons of highly-responsive and punchy bass. Each bullet and punch comes with serious weight and force while explosions and helicopter blades penetrate deep into the room with awesome wall-rattling effect.

‘Die Hard 2: Die Harder’ [1990] Compared to the others in the series, this DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack is not quite up to the task, which is not to say it is bad. It's just not as noteworthy and is comparatively the scrawniest of the bunch. Although very subtle and somewhat restrained, rear activity is still plentiful, with several great atmospherics inside the airport. Sudden bursts of action and gunfire continue supplying the surrounds with many discrete effects, but imaging is mostly a front-heavy presentation. Dialogue and character interactions are generally loud and clear in the centre, but once in a while, voices tend to get lost in the commotion, slightly overwhelmed by the explosions and barrage of bullets. Nevertheless, dynamic range remains clean and precise, with excellent distinction and separation in the upper frequencies. Low bass is not very commanding or potent, but it's effective and adds some gravity to action sequences.

'Die Hard with a Vengeance' [1995] Arrives with an enjoyable and highly amusing 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack which packs the action with a great deal of fun and excitement. Rear activity is very subtle but at a near constant with discrete effects of city noise and traffic, generating a pleasant and satisfying sound field. Panning and movement during action sequences are flawless with bullets and debris whizzing by in all directions or with the sounds of sirens echoing through the busy streets. In the fronts, dialogue is well-prioritized and intelligible from beginning to end, and channel separation is terrifically well-balanced with several convincing off-screen effects which create a wide and spacious soundstage. The mid-range is clean and precise with excellent clarity in the upper frequencies. Sadly, low bass is not as powerful and commanding as I would have liked, making a couple explosive moments feeling somewhat wanting, but overall, the lossless mix offers plenty of entertaining impact.

'Live Free or Die Hard' [‘Die Hard 4.0’] [2007] This 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack may be identical to the previous release but it remains and continues to be one of the best available on Blu-ray. All manner of noise, chaos and mayhem spreads into every corner of the room and with flawless panning, creating a highly satisfying 360 degrees sound field. The smallest debris and piece of rubble falls all around the listener with excellent discrete clarity while bullets and helicopters fly overhead. The action continues to excite with a broad and expansive soundstage that creates a massive wall of sound while delivering precise, well-prioritized dialogue in the centre. The mid-range is extensive with room-penetrating clarity that's dynamic and sharply detailed, allowing for the tiniest shard of metal or falling glass to be perfectly heard. The best attribute of this lossless mix is without question the authoritative low-end, which effectively reaches ultra-low frequencies with commanding force. Explosions and bullets not only rattle the wattles, but they're felt hard in the chest and vibrate the couch with each shot.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment recycles the same set of supplements as the previous Blu-ray release but not from the inferior NTSC DVD Five-Star Edition, making the majority of this release a simple repackaging.

'Die Hard' [1988]

Audio Commentaries: The first has separate recordings of director John McTiernan and production designer Jackson DeGovia edited together. It's a fairly informative and technical commentary track on the overall production and some of the challenges that had to be overcome. The second is another interesting and revealing track with special effects supervisor Richard Edlund. Although there are many gaps of silence throughout, there's much to learn from this conversation.

Cast and Crew Audio Commentary: Actually more of a subtitled track with various facts, details and anecdotes about the production.

Special Feature: Newscasts [7:00] Assortment of the media videos seen throughout the film.

Still Gallery [480i]

Original Die Hard Theatrical Trailers [1080p]

'Die Hard 2: Die Harder' [1990]

Audio Commentary: Commentary with director Renny Harlin: Here Renny Harlin talks extensively and enthusiastically about the production, sharing a wealth of memories of working with Bruce Willis and shooting on location.

Special Feature: The Making of Die Hard 2: Die Harder [23:00] TV-produced documentary with lots of interviews recapping the plot, characters and action sequences interspersed with behind-the-scene footage.

Special Feature: Interviews [12:00] Director Renny Harlin and actor William Sadler each have a few minutes to talk about the film.

Special Feature: Chaos on a Conveyor Belt [8:00] A closer look at the action sequence inside the airport.

Special Feature: Breaking the Ice [4:00] Another breakdown of an action sequences set outside on the airport runaway.

Special Feature: Deleted Scenes [480i] A small collection of mostly extended scenes removed for good reason.

Original Die Hard Theatrical Trailers [1080p]

'Die Hard with a Vengeance' [1995]

Audio Commentary: Another track recorded separately and edited together with John McTiernan, screenwriter Jonathan Hensleigh, and former Fox executive Tom Sherak. It's full of typical talking-points and the standard info about the production, but there are also several interesting titbits about the script and characters.

Special Documentary: A Night to Die For [23:00] Another documentary produced for CBS Television with more interviews and behind-the-scene footage.

Special Documentary: HBO First Look [22:00] Special promo piece with interviews, info on the production and lots of behind-the-scene footage.

Special Feature: Alternate Ending [6:00] With an optional commentary track by Jonathan Hensleigh, the original, less-heroic ending is worth watching.

Special Feature: Interview [6:00] A brief conversation with Bruce Willis.

Special Documentary [5:00] Yet more of the same stuff.

Special Feature: Villains with a Vengeance [4:00] Forgettable, throwaway segment on the Jeremy Irons characters.

Special Feature: Side-by-Side Comparisons [3:00] Shown in split-screen, six green-screen action sequences are compared.

Special Feature: Storyboard [2:00] Brief montage sequence of storyboards compared to the finished product.

Original Die Hard Theatrical Trailers [1080p]

'Live Free or Die Hard' [‘Die Hard 4.0’] [2007]

Audio Commentary: Bruce Willis and director Len Wiseman are joined by Editor Nicholas de Toth for an enjoyable conversation on the franchise and the aspirations of this fourth instalment. It's a great track with plenty of information about the behind-the-scene production.

Special Feature: Analogue Cop in a Digital World [97:00] A nicely detailed and exhaustive making-of documentary with wonderful cast and crew interviews discussing the plot, franchise and overall production. With tons of behind-the-scene footage and clips, the informative track looks at the characters, stunt work and the special visual effects.

Special Feature: Yippie Ki-Yay, Mother #@%$?&! [23:00] Kevin Smith hosts this entertaining sit-down chat with Bruce Willis.

Special Feature: Fox Movie Channel Presents: Fox Legacy [6:00] A short promo piece for the 'Die Hard' franchise.

Music Video [480i] Guyz Nite performs their song "Die Hard."

Special Feature: Behind-the-Scenes with Guyz Nite [6:00] A boring “yawn” look at the making of the music video.

Original Die Hard Theatrical Trailers [1080p]

Live Free or Die Hard: Black Hat Intercept! An interactive strategy game where users play the role of a hacker facing various computer obstacles.

Disc Five: ‘Decoding Die Hard’

Special Feature: Origins: Reinventing the Action Genre [20:00] Starting with a detailed discussion on the first movie, a series of interviews with the filmmakers of all four films talk extensively about John McClane, his fortuitous misadventures and from where each script has its humble beginnings.

Special Feature: John McClane: Modern Day Hero [16:00] As the title implies, a series of recent interviews with cast and crew focuses on the main character and Bruce Willis' memorable performance.

Special Feature: Villains: Bad to the Bone [21:00] Complementing the previous documentaries more interviews talk about the bad guys with the majority of the attention given to Alan Rickman's unforgettable role.

Special Feature: Sidekicks: Along for the Ride [19:00] Viewers revisit all four films for this great piece on John McClane's accidental action assistants with special attention to part one and the roles of Reginald VelJohnson, Hart Bochner, De'voreaux White and William Atherton.

Special Feature: Fight Sequences: Punishing Blows [7:00] Not much time is spent on the fight choreography, but it's interesting nonetheless because the conversation revolves around how the action serves the story.

Special Feature: Action: Explosive Effects [15:00] An awesome and very entertaining look at the miniature work, practical effects, digital visual effects and the stunt choreography in all four films.

Special Feature: The Legacy: The Right Hero for the Right Time [9:00] Finishing the documentary is a short conversation with cast, filmmakers and fans talking about what makes 'Die Hard' great and the permanent imprint it made in the action genre and film history in general.

Original Die Hard Theatrical Trailers [1080p] A collection of original theatrical previews for all four films, including the latest 'A Good Day to Die Hard.'

Finally, 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment re-releases the 'Die Hard' Collection to Blu-ray as a 25th Anniversary edition. All four films are collected in a handsome and sturdy Deluxe Limited Edition Collection DigiBook package that again includes an extra fifth Blu-ray disc with all-new retrospective tempting fans to rebuy. The package recycles the same audio and video presentations from previous high-definition releases, while the new documentary is exclusive to this set. On the surface, owners of those other releases will be happy to know nothing has changed, but for anyone who's being patiently waiting, this is a very nice set indeed, especially at its current price point for four films. On top of all that, I have been a massive fan of this brilliant franchise ever since it was released in the cinema and I am so glad I now have this awesome Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
While I've no doubt that we'll eventually see a Die Hard box set that includes the current 5th film in the series (which is just absolutely dreadful) alongside the inevitable sixth one, this box set containing the first 4 films is a winner considering the $20 price point that Amazon currently has it on (this writing is dated 12/9/13). The first in the series is a downright classic and has a super high replay value. Enough has been said about that film so it's redundant for me to go into how amazingly awesome it is. It's nearly a perfect action film. In my personal opinion I feel that the 2nd film is a cheap and subpar ripoff of the first film. It basically takes the premise of the first one and transports it to an airport. I know this film has its fans but I do not, and will never, consider myself one of them. The third one is the one I grew up watching the most out of the 3 (it was always on HBO and I actually saw this one before I had ever seen part 1). It's a completely different animal compared to the first two and works more like a thriller than a straight up action movie (though part 3 does have some pretty awesome action set pieces). Part 3 is an incredibly well-paced and exciting film. As for the fourth, the more I watch it the more I like it. This is the slickest looking out of all the 4 films. And while this is the movie that transformed John McClane into a superhero rather than keeping him a Regular Joe, it's still a fun flick to watch. The extras in this set are kinda skimpy considering there's nothing really new that's being offered here for fans. Most of the extras have seen the light of day before in previous DVD and Blu ray releases save for a few new featurettes. But for $20 you cannot go wrong considering that I'd pay that amount just for the first and 3rd films alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
First of all. these are great movies transferred onto Blu-ray with excellent sound. Watching these movies again now in HD with THX sound makes for great viewing.

Since I already like these movies (as probably most people here) I won't go into the content of the movies. Besides, there are plenty of true movie reviews available on actual movie review sites. I will rate the product (movies as well as format and quality) I received.

This "boxed" set is exactly that...a cardboard boxed set with a pull-out DVD holder. It is firm quality (strong) cardboard with smooth coated inserts for the DVDs. The movies are a pretty good transfer considering the age of the originals. The sound quality really enhances the enjoyment of these movies.

Overall, I am very happy having these movies on Blu-ray in my collection. I don't think you will be disappointed either especially if you already like Die Hard.

Although I love these movies, I rate the entire product only 4 stars because it's not perfect and does not have as much "extra" information as I had hoped. Also, oddly, these DVDs do not resume play where I left off if I turn my DVD player off and then back on again while the disc is in the tray.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
Terrible quality the first disc skipped over 2 minutes then started nreaking up into squares!! I tried to return it and have a new one sent but guess what I was told it is non returnable. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
hello,
even with the advent of channels like netflix, this version of the die hard series is fabulous to have in our cd collection. we have watched the series when it came out in the early days. but, watching them again just seemed like it was totally new, except for the clothes, scenery, and technology, it was like yesterday... great series and good for our collection. we know the bad guys get it, but the action was outstanding... great series...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse