Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18SW_gno

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
20
A Different Jesus?: The Christ of the Latter-day Saints
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 22, 2010
I am a born-again Mormon, and I love this book. Millet does an excellent job of describing how members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints see Jesus Christ, what it means to us to have faith in him, and how we perceive that we are saved by his grace. He beautifully describes MY faith in Jesus Christ as the Son of God, God the Son, and my Savior and Redeemer.

This book is written with the intent to inform rather than to persuade. There is no proselyting in this book. It is simply a thorough description of who Christ is to the Latter-day Saints, what we believe about him and why.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who sincerely wants to understand how Mormons view Christ. They will come away well-informed, and with a deeper understanding of whether or how the Jesus we believe in is fundamentally "different" than the Jesus they believe in. Those who value increased understanding as indispensable to loving one's neighbor will enjoy this rich resource.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 20, 2015
Chose it to help me answer my non member daughters objections to my choosing LDS. Love his easy to read style. Hope she gets it. Still hoping she will find the happiness I have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 24, 2013
Compares and contrasts LDS doctrine with that of "mainstream" Christian denominations. Considers who is really mainstream with the New Testament and who is mainstream with Greek philosophy.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2009
This is another fantastic work in a long line of Robert Millet's writings. In his traditional manner, the book is a solid, thorough, and accurate examination of the subject. It is also written in a user-friendly and insightful way. Definitely "five stars" from me.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 25, 2015
An excellent read. The beliefs of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter - day Saints concerning Jesus Christ as God's Son and our Savior are clearly explained with easy to understand depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 5, 2006
If a person's spiritual quest leads them to examine Mormonism, they will need to resolve a key issue very quickly. That issue is: do divinely inspired texts on which to base Christian beliefs exist outside the Bible. If the answer is yes, then a further exploration of Mormonism is possible. If the answer is no, then Mormonism is a dead end for one's spiritual growth.

That same issue has to be faced when reading A Different Jesus. While Millet uses many citations from several Christian writers (C.S. Lewis, John F. MacArthur, and Luke Timothy Johnson, among others) and the Bible to bolster his points, the crucial source for most of his arguments are quotes from both Mormonism's sacred texts and subsequent writings by Mormon Prophets and theologians. If an individual trying to learn about Mormonism doesn't accept the authority of these sources, then Millet's arguments will make no sense. To be fair, Millet and Mouw state throughout the book that their goal is to provide a basis for understanding, not conversion. Still, without accepting the central premise that Mormonism's sacred texts are divinely inspired, one will end up understanding how Millet gets to his beliefs without comprehending how he could think such beliefs are true.

A Different Jesus probably would make excellent reading for anyone practicing the Mormon faith, because it does highlight the differences between Mormonism and mainstream Christianity. Additionally, anyone who is trying to find their spiritual direction will likely find value in parts of the book (particularly, the chapter titled "Recurring Questions"). But, for those who have defined their spirituality within the context of mainstream Christianity, A Different Jesus will not do much to either change their mind about Mormonism's beliefs or improve their comprehension about those beliefs.
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Dr. Robert L. Millet (born 1947) is a professor of ancient scripture and emeritus Dean of Religious Education at BYU in Utah, who also appears frequently as a commentator on BYUTV and as Manager of Outreach and Interfaith Relations for Church Public Affairs. He is the author of a great many books, such as Getting at the Truth: Responding to Difficult Questions About LDS Beliefs,Latter-Day Christianity: 10 Basic Issues,Bridging the Divide: The Continuing Conversation between a Mormon and an Evangelical,Holding Fast: Dealing with Doubt in the Latter Days, etc.

He wrote in the "Why This Book Was Written" section of this 2005 book, "This book is not about blending views or jettisoning central verities or blurring important differences between faith groups. It is not, in other words, an effort at ecumenism. It is about understanding, about bridge-building... We cannot join hands on moral issues about which we agree wholeheartedly if we permit suspicion and misperception to govern our attitudes and our actions."

Here are some additional quotations from the book:

"Men and women in the earliest ages knew of a first estate, a premortal existence. Therefore, is it any wonder that several religious traditions are wedded to the idea of past lives?" (Pg. 25)
"Latter-day Saints do believe that baptism by proper authority is necessary for entrance into the highest heaven... At the same time, LDS doctrine affirms that each man or woman will receive all of the ... heavenly rewards they desire to receive, either in this life or the next." (Pg. 48-49)
"Joseph Smith evidently had many warm and friendly contacts with ministers of other religions. Quite a few of them joined the Church..." (Pg. 57)
"From the beginning (Joseph Smith) emphasized that the members of the Godhead are one in purpose... but separate beings, they are three gods." (Pg. 70)
"But ADDITION to the (biblical) canon is hardly the same as REJECTION of the canon." (Pg. 77)
"To be sure, Joseph Smith taught that man is an eternal being. He declared that the intelligence of man 'is not a created being; it existed from eternity, and will exist to eternity. Anything created cannot be eternal.'" (Pg. 83)
"Latter-day Saints believe in a type of universal salvation, not in the sense that everyone will one day dwell with God and be like God, but rather that all (who do not defect to perdition) will enjoy a measure of God's goodness and grace through inheriting a heaven of some type." (Pg. 108)
"By these standards of measure (from Walter Martin), the Latter-day Saints would certainly qualify as a cult. The problem for Rev. Martin is, of course, that the New Testament Christian Church would qualify also!" (Pg. 142)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 8, 2015
As a non-Latter Day Saint who respects LDS culture and traditions, a question that continues to trouble me is this: Much of what I've read (from LDS sources and non alike) indicates that the church accepts a certain degree of error in the Old and New Testaments due to the "accuracy" of the translation. At the same time, they seem to fully accept the translation of "Reformed Egyptian" that is the Book of Mormon by Joseph Smith as the inerrant revelation of God. If scripture that is upwards of five thousand years old and has been poured over by scholars worldwide for centuries is not to be trusted for accuracy, why then should we trust that a scripture that is less than two hundred years old and translated by one man is? Could one of my Mormon friends help me understand this? Thanks
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2008
This book, unfortunately highly controversial in some Protestant circles, is the product of the friendship of Robert Millet, who teaches ancient scripture at Brigham Young University, and Richard Mouw, president of Fuller Theological Seminary in Pasadena, California.

Its publication clearly marks a significant advance in the relationship of evangelicals and Latter-day Saints. In the past all that was available in Protestant bookstores was the badly informed, highly polemical literature written by the partisan anti-Mormon element of the countercult industry.

Without realizing it, those who have turned to this literature for an understanding of the Church of Jesus Christ have done something analogous to consulting Nazi propaganda for an understanding of the faith of Jews or to old Communist propaganda for an understanding of American life and culture.

Latter-day Saints can also benefit from giving careful attention to Millet's presentation of their faith to Protestants. If there is a weakness in Millet's book, it stems from his inattention to the historical elements in the faith of the Saints and thus his inattention to the sophisticated literature on the historical authenticity of the Book of Mormon.

Sorting out theological issues for evangelicals, as useful as that is, still leaves the crucial truth questions bracketed. However, by publishing Millet's book, Eerdmans, a leading evangelical press, has now made available in Protestant bookstores a sound, nonpolemical presentation of the fundamentals of the faith of the Saints.
33 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 11, 2008
I also recommend _Claiming Christ: A Mormon-Evangelical Debate_ by Robert L. Millet and Gerald R. McDermott.

Pastor McDermott, who is a Lutheran pastor and college professor has concluded after careful study that, "Evangelicals and Mormons agree on lots of things about Jesus. Many evangelicals are surprised to learn, for example, that Mormons believe not only that Jesus is the Son of God but also that he is God the Son. I find that many evangelicals have somewhere picked up the idea that Mormons deny the deity of Jesus Christ. They are often amazed to learn that, unlike Jehovah's Witnesses and other groups they typically classify as "cults," which do indeed deny the deity of Christ, Mormons declare emphatically that Jesus was and is incarnate God. ... I have to say that evangelical agreement with [Mormons] on Jesus is significant and, when compared to a history of evangelical denunciations of Mormonism, remarkable." (pg. 63,64)
55 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here