Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on June 26, 2017
This book has helped me. Very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2018
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2017
Shipped quickly and it's a very interesting book....thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 25, 2011
This book does a very good job clarifying priorities when it comes to clearing the mess of a hoarder (i.e. instead of approaching the situation with a "TOSS EVERYTHING!" attitude, it advocates a "harm reduction" stance, which focuses on maximizing your loved one's safety & comfort over discarding his or her things). It tries to get the reader accustomed to the idea that the hoarder will probably never be as horrified about their living conditions as those around them.

Fortunately or unfortunately, the majority of the book seems to focus on elderly hoarders (that does put a particular slant on the text), which may be positive or negative, depending on the reader. It goes into great lengths discussing the challenges of dealing with a hoarder in the grips of Alzheimer's or dementia or those who have difficulties getting around without the use of walkers or finding their medications in the clutter.

Unfortunately, for people dealing with younger/youngish hoarders, the condescending psycho-babble in the hypothetical discussions is completely off-putting (eye-rolling at times) & would lose any credibility I personally have with my particular hoarder. Additionally, once a "harm reduction team" is gathered (good luck with that), trying to get the hoarder to sign a contract about how to keep one's OWN property is also condescending, intentionally so or not. This book is really a bit better suited for older hoarders (rather than middle-aged or younger ones).

However, these techniques may work for some. Plus, the more flexible "harm reduction" approach over the more staunch "STUFF reduction" method could potentially open more hoarders to purging.
44 comments| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2013
This book gives insight into the psyche of someone who hoards, helping you know how to deal with that person.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 30, 2014
Informative, practical, and readable work that is a reassuring and hopeful counterbalance to the depressogenic TV series, "Buried Alive."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 31, 2012
we know someone who was into this. Reading this helped us realize that what trash we found all over
was exactly how the book read. I felt like it described what we found. I wish it could tell the people
who help how to psychologically help the person (we are not Drs.) but how do you approach this person'
tell them they are a slob or hide the truth?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 31, 2015
Bought this for a friend and family. Not sure if they like it or not. But it came highly recommended by a therapist/physiatrist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 22, 2014
Complements the other books. I am reading before I give to my family. It gives a lot different view of hoarding than most peope have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse