Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $85.00
  • Save: $29.48 (35%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of ... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid used copy with visible wear.
Trade in your item
Get a $6.11
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert Hardcover – October 21, 2008

4.7 out of 5 stars 98 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$55.52
$43.37 $19.91

Best Books of the Year So Far
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for the Best Books of the Year So Far in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
$55.52 FREE Shipping. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert
  • +
  • Dilbert - The Complete Series
Total price: $61.04
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Book Description
Scott Adams "is a VERY tough act to follow." --Suzanne Tobin, Washington Post

In the tradition of The Complete Far Side and The Complete Calvin and Hobbes, Dilbert 2.0 celebrates the 20th anniversary of Scott Adams's Dilbert, the touchstone of office humor.

This special slipcased collection--weighing in at more than ten pounds with 600 pages and featuring almost 4,000 strips--takes readers behind the scenes and into the early days of Scott Adams's life pre-Dilbert and on to the success that followed when Dilbert became an internationally syndicated sensation.

Divided into five different epochs, Dilbert 2.0 gives readers a glance at some of Adams's earliest strips, like those created for Playboy, and a peek at an abundance of special content ranging from numerous rejection letters to Adams's first cartooning check, and more.

Adams personally selected the material for this collection and offers original comments and humorous asides throughout. Also included is a disc that contains every Dilbert comic strip to April 2008.

Amazon.com Exclusive: "How to Read a Book in One Minute"

Dilbert 2.0


About the Author

Scott Adams was born in Windham, NY, and moved to the San Francisco Bay Area in 1979. Scott has won multiple National Cartoonists Society Awards, and the Dilbert strip has received a Harvey Award and won the Max and Moritz Prize as best international comic strip.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 576 pages
  • Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing; Slp Har/Dv edition (October 21, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0740777351
  • ISBN-13: 978-0740777356
  • Product Dimensions: 13.7 x 2.3 x 10.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (98 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #354,456 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Related Media

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
While I've loved Dilbert for years, I'm generally disappointed in this collection. While it was modeled after the excellent Far Side and Calvin & Hobbes complete collections, Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert is not a complete dead-tree edition by any means. Note the description: "Adams personally selected..."
Entire weeks of strips are excluded from the pages, and storylines are often missing strips, making them harder to follow and leaving out punchlines. The missing strips detract greatly from the collection.
I simply don't see why Dilbert 2.0 wasn't done as a two-volume collection with every strip for $150.
5 Comments 139 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Dilbert 2.0 is a wonderful selection of Dilbert comics with annotations by the author, Scott Adams. I enjoyed both his selections and his comments. The introduction to the book is well written and interesting - I particularly liked the "pre-history" Dilbert cartoons.

Best of all, the back of the book has a CD with a collection of all the Dilbert cartoons! I had no idea that I couldn't live without a Dilbert CD, but now that I've tried it, I can't!

I should mention that the book, in a classy slip case, weighs about 9 pounds and is, therefore, a poor candidate for reading in bed - unless your bed happens to have a desk attachment suitable for holding large, heavy books. Although I was, for my own political reasons, sorry to see that the book was printed in China, I must say that the production values are very high and that the packaging is very attractive.

All in all, a book you'll be happy to have on your coffee table with a CD that you'll be happy to keep by your PC.
3 Comments 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Scott Adams has put together an almost ultimate collection of Dilbert for the twentieth anniversary of his workplace cartoon. The set contains a large hardcover book and a DVD. The book contains a history of Scott Adams' cartooning career from his earliest doodlings to early Dilbert cartoons to current panels. It includes feedback he received from publishers along with some personal notes he received early in his cartooning career. His history is interesting and touching. The stips are laid out logically from beginning to present. Along with the strips, the book contains commentaries detailing why Adams found the subject funny or what inspired him to draw/say what he did. (Adams did a similar take in the book "Seven Years Of Highly Defective People." It is a good companion to this, so don't toss it thinking you have the information in Dilbert 2.0.)

Why I say "an almost ultimate collection" is because the *book* does not contain all the published strips. There are entire weeks missing and several of the series are missing strips either making the story incomplete or cutting off part that makes that series funny. Though you'd have to read from beginning to end to notice this, it does detract from a collection that could--and should--have contained all the strips.

What will allow me to toss most of my old paperbacks is the included DVD containing all the strips to present day ("present day" being May 2008). They're sorted by date and in yearly folders. (A simple searchable database by business subject would have been helpful for quickly finding relevant items, but beggars can't be choosers.)

This is a good collection for all who like Dilbert and a great gift for any fan. It is well worth the (discounted) price I paid.
Comment 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
It's the best in class. The material inside is very well complemented by quality print. The icing on this baby is the update-able disc. This brings Dilbert right in the class of comic greats like Calvin and Hobbes and The Far Side. It's a must have. Go ahead, buy it, you will not regret this masterpiece.
Comment 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Given the treatment you would expect of the collected volumes of Shakespeare, this is a large slip-cased collection of Scott Adams' genius.

While you do need to check the dimensions and weight, this should be a must have for any Dilbert fan. The cartoons and the background provided by Scott Adams are interesting enough, but to also get a disc with every cartoon published to date is incredible value, I would honestly have paid this just for the disc!

This really is the ultimate collection and gives both Scott Adams and Dilbert the recognition they deserve.
3 Comments 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I love Dilbert. It is my favorite single panel comic series. I don't remember how I got subscribed to their daily feed but I have been receiving it every day in my inbox since over a year now. Most people start their day with coffee - all I need is Dilbert. I guess I like it so much because I can identify with Dilbert to some extent. I believe all cubicle workers must feel the same way.

I received my copy of Dilbert 2.0 yesterday. I'd rate the product print and bind quality as top notch. This is a huge book, almost 2 inches thick (~600 pages) and very heavy. The book itself comes in a card board case. The image you see here on the product description page is that of the card board case. I'll try to put some pictures of the real product soon. I was very impressed with the overall quality of this book (especially considering the fact that Amazon regularly sells this for more than 50% off its MSRP). The pages are soft to touch and semi glossy. This book is divided into various segments of approximately 4-5 years each, namely The Early Years, The Dot Com Bubble, The Modern Era and such. The Introduction section was a pleasant surprise. Instead of the usual boring acknowledgments and inspirations and whatnots, Scott Adams decided to provide a flashback of how Dilbert came into existence. It's best if I don't reveal much here and simply say that I found it to be very readable, likable and funny. I haven't yet started reading the actual Dilbert comics yet but it doesn't really matter. All I wanted was to have my very own collection of the best of Dilbert. The included CD also has colorful images of the regular characters on top and is pretty to look at. I don't really plan on inserting it in my computer ever. I'm a fan of Dilbert/Scott Adams and I'm very happy with this purchase. Now I'm looking to score a good deal on Dilbert 6-Piece Action Figures Set.
2 Comments 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Dilbert 2.0: 20 Years of Dilbert