Industrial Deals HPC Trade in your textbooks Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno

  • Diner
  • Customer reviews



on February 4, 2017
Diner was unlike any movie of its day, driven by banter and ordinary events with not a lot of plot. The saving grace is the great dialog in spots, all star cast, and loving shots of Baltimore. It many ways it is the progenitor to Seinfeld. I've watched it at least 10 times and still enjoy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 6, 2015
Great movie looking back on a group of 1950's Baltimore buddies. The banter between them at the diner is priceless (their debate over the best "makeout singer" is a classic. It seemed to be a potential star maker for a young Mickey Rourke and Tim Daley, while Kevin Bacon got the obligatory "troubled friend", but I really liked Daniel Stern's character as the only married member of the group during the movie. He seemed to typify a lot of young men who struggle with the growing pains of trying to juggle his married life with maintaining his regular hangout regimen with his friends. Steve Guttenberg is hilarious as the super Colts fan. Ellen Barkin and Paul Riser are great in their supporting roles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 24, 2017
I got this movie to watch with my mom because she grew up on the East Coast around this time. It's a sweet movie with a little R ish material, not too much, but all in all a nice escape, and a movie that stands up to rewatching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2016
Dialogue is sharp and funny. Young Mickey Rourke is the coolest. This is the first of what I consider the great Rourke trifecta ("Diner", "Rumblefish", "Pope of Greenwich Village") in which he pretty much establishes himself as the young leading man to beat for first half of 80s. Whether he delivers on that promise of course is another story. Soundtrack is great 50s rock n roll. One of the better "I Vitelloni"- boys to men- coming of age etc films. Great cast of young up and comers and character actor types. Lots of cool shots panning around all-night diner where the friends invariably meet at the end of the night.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2013
This movie is great on so many levels. First you have the male "buddy" film aspect to it, the retro aspect to it (both in that it was made 30 years ago, and also that it is portraying a time that is 50 years ago), the fun comedy and shenannigans by the guys in the movie, and of course, the fact that this is a hidden gem highlighting the very early careers of many famous actors. As a younger guy myself, I can relate to the plot of this movie, even though it takes place in a much earlier time period than when I grew up, I can see alot of similarities to me and my guy buddies when we were in our early to mid-20's...it is a good portrayal of those random years in your 20's when you are between school years and family years and life can be a bit crazy. This is a great movie to pop in and crack a few beers with when you have a few of the guys over...and even better, it is yet another movie you can use to tie back to Kevin Bacon if you ever find yourself playing that game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 28, 2017
This movie stars the nicest guy in Hollywood and has a scene where the guys go to get coffee but have to stop and have coffee before going to get coffee.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2012
Classic coming of age movie with so many stars that got their start with this picture (Bacon, Rourke, Guttenberg, Daly, Stern, Barkin, Reiser). What a great chemistry they had. Must have been a blast to have been a part of the cast making this film! Never got very much press when it came out in 1982, but the film grew in stature over the years because of the many great Levinson directed pictures that came along later (The Natural, Rain Man, Good Morning Vietnam, to name a few). His Baltimore Trilogy (Diner, Tin Men, Liberty Heights, and also throw in Avalon) are an ode to "Charm City" and presented a more nostalgic and innocent version of the city in the 50s and 60s vs. the harsh reality of The Wire and Homicide that came later in the 90s and 2000s(though they were terrific HBO shows in their own right). Diner is a wonderful treat of a movie that you never get tired of watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2016
Thought I had seen this in the 80's but guess I didn't. Saw the play Diner, The Musical in Delaware. It is hopefully headed for Broadway. I am usually into musicals but I loved it. For me, the play was better than the movie, but I know my friends don't agree. Anyway, movie has some great scenes and whether you saw it previously or not, see it again! Well worth the few bucks. I have it to pass on to everyone who saw the play with me. If it gets to Broadway, see it! The cast is as close to the real thing as you could get!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2017
Great movie and intend to use it as a favor at a party celebrating friendship!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 21, 2017
Great story line and character development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Tin Men
$3.99

Need customer service? Click here