Customer Reviews: Dirt: Season 2
Amazon Vehicles Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 $25 Back with $50 Purchase Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon fin fin fin  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis hhnsweeps Shop Cycling on Amazon

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 23, 2010
This is the shortened season of Dirt due to the writers strike. This show is great if you are a fan of sleazy people doing evil things, blackmailing each other, double crossing each other and then putting it in a magazine. The first year was great, these seven episodes will give you more for you fix, but it is sad this show did not continue. it is a true guilty pleasure
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2010
Dirt chronicles the existence of magazines and celebrities and how articles/stories come to light and what effects those articles have on paper. Throw in some really awesome characters and sex and you've got this awesome show.

It only lasted on 13 episode season and one 7 episode season (cut off due to writers strike), but it was very well done. Worth buying for twice the price to view a show that should've been into season 4 or 5 by now, but was cut short due to being thrown around in slots, delayed, etc.

33 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
The second season wraps up a lot of questions, and explores some interesting story lines, no spoilers here. The writers strike may have been a cause for this series to be cancelled, and this 2nd season is fairly bare bones. I am hearing impaired, and very disappointed it was released without any subtitles, as found on Season 1. It is NOT just for deaf people, and we SHOULD be considered. It is a very minor thing to add a small text track to a disc, and I feel like they JUST DON"T CARE when it is left off. It is also very valuable to those who speak English as a 2nd language, and also helps if you just can't catch all of the fast paced dialogue. I wish everyone who CARES about this issue would say so in reviews, and hes - write letters to production companies and get vocal about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2010
Dirt season 2 has nothing on season 1, acting is great (to be expected) but the dialogue is shonky, the storyline is repeated a bit from the first season but they don't pull it off as cool as they did it in season 1. Not overly impressed, but Courtney Cox helps to brighten it up somewhat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2012
I have had privilege of watch both seasons of dirt thanks to netflix. Season one was so good the season showed that courtney cox was more that just a pretty face on friends. Lucy Spilller was a character that had depth, she was troubled and flawed but I enjoyed her crude in your face ways. Don was a pap who heard voices talked to dead people, and carried the show. I am surprised Ian Hart wasn't nominated for best actor in a series by the emmys or a golden globe. While the first season had meat and potatoes wonderful back stories, a and b. Season two did not. I felt let down that the b story of Lucy father was not fleshed out more for season two. I didn't care for the new change in Don, when Don was off his meds he was much more fun. I think that overall if you start with characters that are well made and fleshed out that you shouldn't be afraid to keep them that way season to season.I think the writers chickened out because of the dark tone but considering fx was the same station that carried nip/tuck at the time they should not have been as afraid to take the show to dark places. And the biggest let down was how cartoony the opening is, i loved the other opening it was true to the lucy character. So i would love to see this show try again, to see what happened to lucy father to act like the last seven episodes were a dream and return to the real dirt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2012
When I started to watch Dirt was due a "similar" brazilian tv series called "A Vida Alheia" ( The Lives of Others) with the same plot. A magazine with a tough editor and all the dirty dishes of entertainment. But Dirt, surprised me in a very good way. Smart, intelligent, ironic. A real guilty pleasure. And in this season showing nuances of humanity in Lucy Spiller besides her complicated love story with Holt McLaren. The weird normality of Don Konkey. New romances as Willa and Farber ( a real good cast on Ryan Eggold).
Unfortunately, Dirt didn't survive the 2007 WGA strike and only seven episodes were produced. What means that Dirt has no end. This is the only reason that is not a 5 star rating.
I recommended Dirt, however be prepared to never know how could it be the end. Pity!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2010
My wife works for the U.S. Government and her job brought us to Italy more than three years ago; my lead-in to the fact that we were totally unaware of the television series Dirt, until a friend suggested that it was a series that we might like; like? we absolutely loved it! The first season takes one into a world of celebrity and paparazzi mixed with schizophrenia and wonderful snse of humor and frighteningly real drama in the world of celebrity. If you want to see Courtney Cox completely shed the friends image than by all means check out Dirt!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2010
The first season was great. Too bad this show didnt last . it as brilliant. and whoever says cox isnt good in this series is completely wrong. she made the show along with a dynamite cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
I luv the relationship between Lucy and Don. She is the total opposite of Monica in this and that is what is so great about this character. She was so great as Monica also. Great show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2013
hollywood could never get more scandalous the final season that died to a writers strike suffered in ratings and rotted here. but for fans of season 1 this is a buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse