Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Shop Popular Services americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now Ellen

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 990 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,400 reviews
on September 21, 2016
Wickedly funny performances from Michael Caine, Steve Martin and Glenn Headley make this 80's comedy timeless. Caine's continental con-man gives Martin's grifter a master class in sophistication, culture, European manners and running a big con. You will not regret watching 'Ruprecht' hammering his pots and pans while yelling "Oklahoma, Oklahoma, Oklahoma"- one of this film's many highlights. Glenn Headley is the love interest with a heart of gold- don't miss it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2016
Michael Caine and Steve Martin combine in this appealing comedy about confidence men prowling for wealthy matrons on the French Riviera. One is suave, sophisticated, debonair, and successful while the other is, uh, not so much. But that doesn't mean he doesn't believe in his ability to become top dog. Now, introduce actress Glenn Headley as the seemingly naive American sweepstakes winner and the boys think they have their pigeon ripe for plucking... or do they? You'll just have to watch and see. Frank Oz, of Muppets fame, directed this gem with a light touch that is just right. So grab some popcorn, your favorite beverage, and then kick back. You're gonna love this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2016
I hadn't seen this movie before. However, after watched it, I can honestly report it is one of those few that is simply entertaining. There were no car chases, no foul language, no violence (well, maybe one little scene--but the "violence" was playful and quite humorous). On the other hand, the basic plot was fun and with many humorous twists. And certainly, the best twist of all was the final one---watch it and see for yourself.

Unfortunately, they don't make many movies like this!

As for the acting, Michael Caine was excellent (as always), but not being a Steve Martin fan, I thought his performance was spotty. However, there were some not-so-funny spots in his performance but those tended to either be carried by Michael Caine or the plot.
Bottom line---an enjoyable, entertaining movie, and one of the few I've thoroughly enjoyed watching recently.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2015
Dirty Rotten Scoundrels is a great movie. I hadn't seen it since it first came out, but decided to show it to my teenagers and they loved it! They've since watched it again several times with friends, and it always gets a positive reception.

The Blu-ray quality is excellent. Audio and video is as good as could be expected for a film from the late 80's, and the french locations look fantastic.

Interestingly, this movie is a remake of the film 1964 film "Bedtime Story", which starred David Niven in the Michael Caine role and Marlon Brando (?!) in the Steve Martin role. If you're a fan of DRS, I highly recommend checking out "Bedtime Story" if you can find it; some of the scenes are exactly the same, but several major plot points are very different.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2016
I watched this movie when it came out in the theaters years ago. I watched it again, vaguely recalling that I had liked it. Very well done. I did like it again! Clever plot, humorous--not laugh out loud funny but clever. Two con artists have a bet going that the first one who gets a pretty female mark to give them $50,000 (a lot of money back in the day when this was movie was made) wins and the other has to leave the area. It doesn't turn out quite how you think it will-and that is the fun! It almost makes you wish you were a dirty rotten scoundrel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2016
Very funny movie, with a very unexpected ending! The performance of Steve Martin and Sir Michael Caine are superb and really funny. I didn't knew it was an "old" movie until after I saw it and read the credits. The history is fresh, the performances are fresh, from all, the comedy is very funny. You will have a very good time watching this movie :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
A hilarious romp with Steve Martin, Michael Caine, and Glenne Headly who keep us laughing and smiling throughout with their antics. The overall message is great as well; by learning from the best in their craft and defining what one wants we can accomplish pretty much anything!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
Like many others I enjoyed this movie for many years on DVD, which however provides rather dull image despite fine performance of the actors and the beautiful scenery. Recently this Blu-ray version was released, and I bought one, hoping it's better. Wow, it's much, much better. Now I can easily recognize, on a big TV screen, of course, the brand name of the champagne bottles in the hilarious villa scene. I highly recommend this Blu-ray, whether you have similar complaint on the DVD version or not.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2016
A comedy rooted in the dramatics of the actors, not the absurdity of the plot or writing. Martin is a blast to watch, given dialogue whose affect could have been lost with someone that didn't have his comedic timing and creativity. Caine is subtle but hilarious, and the plot unfolds via a series of circumstances that actually come off as believable (or as much as they can be given the world they exist in). Very fun, very funny, and a great throwback to a time when comedy was about aesthetics and not insulting similes, pot, and violence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
This is a very re-watchable movie. I think that I have seen it more than 10 time and performances of Michael Caine and Steve Martin keeps me coming back to see it again. Glenne Headly makes the movie greater. Highly recommended for a Sunday afternoon viewing. It will make you laugh and smile and then laugh again and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here