Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 171 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 266 reviews
on October 24, 2015
I was a long-time subscriber of Discover, but recently let me subscription run out. The magazine is changed for the worst since the editor changed from Corey S. Powell. Seems like ads have taken over the magazine. The quality of the writing has decreased, as well as the scope of the content. I would previously finish reading cover to cover and have many ideas I wanted to explore further based on the content. Reminds me more of Popular Science now and not worth the subscription fee. I've switched over to Smithsonian, and though not all the articles are science-based, it does give me a lot to explore in a format similar to what Discover used to be.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2015
Discover is a great magazine for an overview of science. The editors occasionally let some good facts slip through, but for the most part the well-written articles do not live up to the titles on the cover. However, the stories do leave enough bread crumbs that one can search out some real meat on the topic on the internet. The magazine has real value if you know how to use it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2016
Nice, bite-sized articles in contemporary science.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
a nice presentation of current science, with enough information to be quite interesting, but without someone needing a degree in the subject to comprehend the articles
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2011
I currently subscribe to three science magazines - the other two being Scientific American and Science Illustrated. Each magazine presents the news of science in its own special way.

In the current issue I am reading (all magazines change their format over time), the first section is called "Data" and it covers the latest science news on a variety of topics. This is followed by section consisting of a series of articles each no more that several pages long. A favorite of mine is called "Vital Signs" which usually covers some intriguing, difficult to solve, true life medical mystery. This month's issue was about a 16-month old boy with a lemon-sized mass in his chest. A theme of this current issue is called "The Cure" involving a series of articles on possible cures on the horizon for AIDS, various vaccines for illnesses such as cancer, diabetes and allergies, and a very interesting article on Bio Hackers also known as do-it-yourself biology (DIYbio). These articles provided more in depth coverage of the material.

If you are very interesting in science, you probably will subscribe to several magazines. I would include Discover in that collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
I have the hardest times distinguishing an article from an ad. All the content is AMAZING, once I figure out I'm not reading an advertisement for something. I know it sounds silly, but flip through the magazine and see for yourself. I wish the editors would do something about that. I love everything this magazine reports on, but gee wiz, quit making little articles look like advertisements!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2017
Discover magazine is really good with articles that are interesting. I'd recommend it highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Very nice learning tool for my homeschool teens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2017
Great magazine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2017
great magazine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$19.00
$12.00
$34.99

Need customer service? Click here