Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning SneakyPete SneakyPete SneakyPete  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 22 reviews
on March 27, 2017
Came as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2000
Although the introductory sections are a bit dated, this book contains some of the best translations available of Galileo's works in English. It includes a broad range of his theories (both those we recognize as "correct" and those in which he was "in error"). Both types indicate his creativity. The reproductions of his sketches of the moons of Jupiter (in "The Starry Messenger") are accurate enough to match to modern computer programs which show the positions of the moons for any date in history. The appendix with a chronological summary of Galileo's life is very useful in placing the readings in context.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2007
My interest in Galileo was recently piqued by a seminar on data presentation by Edward Tufte (strongly recommended, also his books.) I was looking for an overview of Galileo's work and some context. This book provides both, very well.

The book provides long quotations from "Siderius Nuncius" (Starry Messenger), Letters on Sunspots, The Assayer, and Letters to the Mother of the Grand Duke of Tuscany (whose name escapes me right now.) Preceding each of these exerpts, is an introduction which includes historical information, information about Galileo's personal life, and much quotation from other scientists and people with whom Galileo is arguing. These are written in excellent, clear prose. The stage is set without the stage manager intruding. The exerpts from Galileo have been edited to maintain the focus on why Galileo is important to history and science, without losing his flavor or his pugnacious style.

The point made by Galileo himself and the book are that Galileo pointed out that from then on, evidence would be the standard by which we would judge our knowledge of the world, not authority, word-play, logical proofs or arguments, etc. This is the dawn of the enlightenment.

For an introduction, I found this book perfect. It won't satisfy the scholar looking to read every word of Galileo's. But, as I noted above, this book does show us why we still know Galileo's name, unlike the vast majority of his peers. [edited for spelling]
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
Galileo Galilei is truly one of the greats of mankind. He helped usher in not only new scientific discoveries that were unknown to man, but he helped establish the scientific mode of thinking. This English translation is a great read and I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
This "rare" book proved most useful for my purposes, writing an article on the impact that Galileo had on John MIlton's "Paradise Lost". I found its translation quite appropriate that needed no further adaptations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
Drake's translation is very easy to read while still capturing the subtleties of Galileo's work. This volume is highly convenient because it has Galileo's best works in it, so if you want to read Galileo, start by reading this volume cover to cover. His letter to the Grand Duchess is particularly insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
Shipped on time. Book in fair condition, as expected. A review of Galileo is almost unnecessary- his discoveries are magnificent, his theories are well thought out, and he communicates so clearly and conversationally you feel like a genius yourself when reading the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
Galileo is classic. Reading it was like jumping into a world of old science. Sure, Galieo was wrong about a few things, but he was bold enough to take advantage of the printing press and stick to his guts. I would recommend this book for anyone interesting in science history or astronomy.

The reason I only gave this book three stars is because it arrived so late. I needed it for class, and I actually had to buy another copy because this one didn't come in time. I mean, what am I supposed to do with two copies?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2013
This was a textbook for a class, so I wouldn't say it was an exciting read, but was okay for a textbook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
nice đź‘Ť
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse