Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Disinformation: Former Spy Chief Reveals Secret Strategies for Undermining Freedom, Attacking Religion, and Promoting Terrorism
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 26, 2013
This is a must read. From the first words of the book, I was hooked.

The use of Disinformation, the deliberate manipulative tactic to create, out of whole cloth, a great lie with the deliberate intention of destroying reputations of men, peoples, races, faith groups, and institutions, is well, staggering. We may not want to accept it-we may believe it can't really happen. If you doubt, read the book and post a review.

Let me give you an example from the book. Do you remember during the Clinton administration, there was an alarming report announced. Black churches were being burned at an historic rate. The KKK-like overtones to this story were humiliating and alarming to Americans. People all over the world heard of our shame-the evil of violent racism--plaguing American and the South. Legislation was passed at the Federal level! Bill Clinton came out reminiscing of the church burnings he remembered from his childhood. During that time, I remember me unease with the way the story was being accepted, seemingly without scrutiny by the press--almost gleefully. Well, sometime later, hardly reported (unlike the charges), an independent study proved every single charge had been false! In Disinformation, we learn that Soviet agents were responsible for this slander and libel against the American people. But the damage was done--and that is why Disinformation is implemented--it works! And let's just say it, it happened in AMERICA! It is much easier to believe this going on during the Cold War in in some unfortunate country like Romania, but not America! And this was during the 1990s!

There are so many more illustrations, equally or more egregious. The disinformation campaigns against Jews and the Christian church are, nothing less than heartrending. One thing I can say about the designers and implementers of disinformation--they're really, really good at what they do.

Pacepa's work is an eyeopener, and I believe a seminal work, documenting for history the malevolence and effectiveness of unrestrained power in centralized governments. This is truly Animal Farm, 1984 and Brave New World lived large in the real world of flesh and blood humanity--wreaking unquantifiable harm on real people who live and breathe under the power of government unchecked. The power of Soviet disinformation is the power to destroy lives, hearts and minds.

If you want to see into the birth of modern terrorism-you'll find it hear. Would we be living in this same world today if it were not for the diabolical campaign of sending 4000 agents into the Middle East with the Great libel against the Jews in the form of the legendary writings called, "The Protocols of the Elders of Zion" a book about the secret Jewish plan to take over the world--this is still sold today in Muslim countries next to Mein Kampf. Yes, disinformation has changed the course of history. Look at what high schools and colleges teach today as history--this should be required by all students studying Modern History.

BTW, disinformation is not to be confused with misinformation as the book explains.
1919 comments| 205 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
Not being a child who grew up in an age when you hid under your desk during air raid drills, the back-and-forth battles between the West and East during the Cold War has always fascinated me. The Berlin Wall had already fallen before I entered grade school, and the old Soviet Union had already broken apart.

Even watching a seminal piece of Cold War propaganda like Rocky IV didn't make sense, in a world where the hostilities between America and Russia were no more.

But to read Lt. Gen. Pacepa's book helps you understand the calculating measures the Soviet's took, through their perfecting the science of disinformation, to ensure their attacks on the West could outlive their empire.

We are still living in a world where the repercussions of Soviet disinformation tactics are felt, through the enflamed hatred of America in the Middle East to the ludicrous notion Pope Pius XII was a willing stooge of Hitler during World War II.

Reading this book offers a glimpse into a whole new world of Cold War history that most people never confront in their education.

Worse, for the future of America, the book ends with an admission many of the tactics devised by the Soviets are now utilized by our leaders.
22 comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
I always knew that the Catholic Church had assisted many thousands of Jews in WWII to escape from the NAZI's. Sadly there is very little information on the internet about the heroic efforts of thousands of Priests and Nuns that risked their lives to save our Jewish brothers.

Disinformation is extremely well written, thoroughly footnoted, uses reliable sources, and will re-awaken the memories of people like me that lived through the later part of the cold war.

It's a world tragedy that the lives of so many victims of the Nazis and Soviet gulags have been smeared by Dezinformatsia.

Some questions after reading this book:
Why did Margaret Thatcher say that Gorbachev's Glastost was one of the most misunderstood chapters of world history?

Where are the millions of members of the KGBs Dezinformatsia network today? What role do they play on the stage of international politics today?

What's next for Russia with a shrinking population and a newly expanding world of Natural Gas/Oil Exploration? How will the Russians respond to a more open Energy market? More Dezinformatsia?

What sort of stories are China's Dezinformatsia network spreading today?

People who are interested in this book should ignore the negative comments. Negative comments on Disinformation is simply more Dezinformatsia.
11 comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
Heroic General Pacepa, at 85 years old, has given us a gem.

I won't bore you with my opinions - I'd rather spend the time highlighting my favorite paragraph--

"
Disinformation has caused worldwide damage to the reputation of the United States, and now it is putting down roots in this country itself. To fight this invisible weapon, we must first recognize it for what it is and decode its hidden mission, since it is usually clothed in innocuous civilian dress - as were the terrorists who killed three thousand Americans on September 11, 2001. That is the purpose of this book.
"

If anything, it made me retrospectively judge the Clinton foreign policy (and Congress doesn't get a pass here, either) after the fall of the Soviet Union as, at best, utterly incompetent. May G-d save us from Hillary (and bring us term limits on Congress soon).

Also consider that the US did not have an intelligence service for 15 or 20 years AFTER the Bolshevik revolution (October 1917). During that time, they were infiltrating, getting into everything they could get their grubby, red, bear claws on.. !

General Pacepa's love and admiration for the US and the freedom that its citizens must continuously fight and sometimes die for (I'm talking about the citizens here, not the imbeciles who get elected to Congress), is truly inspiring and heartwarming. The bounties on his head give a sense of how valuable freedom is to those, like the General, who risk their lives (and those of their families!!) for it. Indeed, his family was nearly executed after he defected.

Another goodie I read recently was Disinformation : 22 Media Myths That Undermine the War on Terror
1616 comments| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
Even though I had spent 7 years working for DIE (Romanian Intelligence Service) I did not know much about the extent of the Soviet Bloc's disinformation campaigns against the West. My auto-biographical book ("Good-bye, Dracula!: The Story of a Transylvanian Defector", published in 2012) had a more modest, yet important, objective: to help the reader better understand the reasons why communism should never again be considered a viable political option.

While reading Pacepa's book, I became, at times, physically sick. The evil nature of communism was exposed better than ever before.

During the past few years I have become very concerned about the current situation in America. Recently I wrote a "poem" that reflects my feelings. For whatever it's worth, here it is:

Lamentation of a communist defector

When I fled to America,
She was a patriotic nation.
What happened to that nation?

When I fled to America,
She was an anti-Marxist nation.
What happened to that nation?

When I fled to America,
She was a Christian nation.
What happened to that nation?

When I fled to America,
Minorities with ungodly agendas
Were opposed or laughed at.
What happened to America?
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2015
This is part history, part memoirs and part expose. The book is largely told in the first person as a memoir Lt. General Ion Mihai Pacepa.

Pacepa was the head of the Romanian Foreign Intelligence Service - the DIE - who defected to the United States as the most important leader of Soviet bloc intelligence to ever defect. In his role as head of Romanian intelligence, he had direct interactions with Yuri Andropov, Romanian President Ceausescu, and the inner working of Soviet espionage, particularly the strategy of "disinformation."

Pacepa describes "disinformation" as the strategy of "framing" a subject by revising their history around a "kernel" of truth and then releasing the information through sources not obviously linked to the Soviet Union. The Soviets were masters at disinformation; they used it extensively as an internal device to augment the image of their leaders - through what Pacepa calls "glasnost" - and then subsequently used it on their enemies, such as framing anti-Nazi bishops and leaders as Nazi collaborators. Of course, the best fictional depiction of disinformation is "1984" where "We have always been at war with Eastasia." The Communists, however, were the model for Orwell.

Pacepa's book advances a plausible account of how often disinformation, either Communist or homegrown, has played a role in what Americans and Europeans are led to believe. The story encompasses more than the disinformation campaign waged against the memory of Pius XII, but it really was Pacepa's revelation that The Deputy was most probably a Soviet disinformation campaign that forms the core of this book. That bit of information also brought along co-author Ron Rychlak, who is famous for his counter-campaign against the Pius XII smear campaign.

The value of Pacepa's account is not so much from what he personally knows. Pacepa does not claim that he knows that the author of The Deputy (Black cat book), Rolf Hochhuth, was a Communist stooge or that The Deputy campaign was a Communist disinformation campaign but given his experience with such campaigns, and his knowledge of facts surrounding the attack on Pius, Pacepa makes a strong argument in favor of Soviet involvement. He also knows that the DIE was tasked with obtaining Vatican records with Pius XII's signatures as part of a disinformation campaign against Pius. Obtaining such documents was a basic element in a disinformation campaign; such documents were used a basis for forging documents and to provide the kernel of truth surrounding the disinformation lie. Pacepa also knew that there was a smear job going on against Pius XII at the time of The Deputy:

"The KGB knew what it had to do. It just needed a few Vatican documents to give the operation an aura of authenticity-- a "kernel of truth." Romania had a fairly large Roman Catholic community , so her people and foreign intelligence service, the DIE, were asked to help.

General Sakharovsky, who until shortly before that had been the chief KGB adviser to the Romanian DIE and had just been appointed to head the Soviets' entire foreign intelligence service (the PGU, or first chief directorate of the KGB), 3 knew I was in an excellent position to contact the Vatican regarding approval to search its archives. The year before, as deputy chief of the Romanian Trade Mission in West Germany, I had negotiated a "spy swap" with the Holy See, involving four prominent Catholics who had been sentenced to long terms in prison on spurious charges of espionage at the end of a 1951 trial against the Vatican nunciature in Bucharest. 4 The four had been exchanged for two DIE officers (Col. Constantin Horobet and Maj. Nicolae Ciuciulin) caught spying in West Germany. 5

"Seat 12" was the code name for the Romanian side of the KGB's operation against Pius XII. The name was an allusion to the pope as occupant//

Thus, Pacepa points out that the "Hitler's Pope" meme was actually floated for the first time in 1945 by the Soviets, who were preparing for the next war against Catholicism. (Although Pacepa doesn't mention this, during their rapprochement with the Nazis, the Soviets had actually claimed that the Pope was the lackey of Roosevelt and an opponent of the Nazis.) This claim didn't take, but the claims floated by the Soviets in 1945 appeared in Hochhuth's The Deputy. One might think that this is perhaps a coincidence or it has a common genesis in the pope's behavior during the war, and that is a possibility, but the connection of Hochhuth with long-time agents of Communist influence is well-established. There is also the fact that The Deputy took the world by storm, even though it is a flatulent, bloated bit of anti-Catholic doggerel by a Protestant former Hitler Youth that makes a hero out of an SS officer who worked at the death camps. Why was this mediocre playwright picked out of a well-deserved obscurity? How did all the right people in all the right places all over the world suddenly decide that The Deputy was worth their attention? This is not to say that they were all intentional Communist agents, but we now know that many were, and that they were in a position to influence others.

Then there are weird pro-Soviet elements in The Deputy that left me puzzled when I read the play. While I picked up on the planted proposition that the Germans were really responsible for the Katyn Massacre, what really caught my attention was the absolutely crazy claim that Pius was culpable for not recognizing the injustice of the German attack on the Soviet Union. In a pencil swipe, Hochhuth eliminated the actual history of the Soviet partition of Poland. Sometimes there is no "just side" in a war; when two robbers fighting over stolen property, neither has justice on their side. But Hochhuth simply plants the notion that the Soviets were the victims - when their actions, their pact with Germany, gave Germany the green light to invade Poland and start World War II.

I don't think that Hochhuth was necessarily a Communist agent, but there may have been a Communist disinformation editor in the mix.

Likewise, the Pacepa's description of the historical "Sidelights" section of The Deputy is dead-on:

"The historical aspects of The Deputy contain further circumstantial evidence that the show was produced by the KGB's framing experts. The printed play's appendix, entitled "Sidelights on History," has been described as follows:

Forty-five pages of demonstration and proof! But the quantity is deceptive. The materials are all mixed up higgledy-piggledy; seldom are we told precisely where the arguments and quotations come from ... "Solid collections of sources are mentioned only in isolated instances; but evidence and witnesses of dubious value are mentioned frequently. ... The work is based on second and third-hand evidence, on popular books which do not even claim to provide a final clarification ... ""

Dead-on! I read my way through the Sidelines and couldn't make heads or tale of his sources or his claims. I thought that was my problem, but now that I've read Pacepa, I realize that this is a kind of "tell" - of the kind described by Justus George Lawler in Were the Popes Against the Jews?: Tracking the Myths, Confronting the Ideologues - when the grammar and reasoning starts to get dodgy, hold on to wallet because someone is running a scam. Now that I think of it, the same features appear in Carlo Falconi's appendixes in Silence of Pius XII - which may be another Communist disinformation piece.

Interestingly, we also see Carlo Falconi citing The Deputy - an ostensible work of fiction - as if it was historical. Other anti-Pius writers do this also, but whether citing The Deputy as the reason for a personal conversion became a trope or they were trying to take advantage of the "credibility" of The Deputy or it was part of an incestuous conspiracy, who knows? (Although there is a weirdly incestuous relationship among the anti-Pius writers who review each other's books, act as sources for each other and write the commendations on the fly-leaf of each other's books.)

I think that Pacepa's inside information and expert analysis makes the case that The Deputy was part of a Soviet disinformation campaign. I think his analysis that The Deputy was subsequently picked up by Cornwell in the 1990s for his own agenda is correct.

Moving to a contemporary issue, Pacepa's observations about the use of disinformation and its destructiveness for society also seems accurate. Disinformation is like a drug. Leaders want more and more of it and come to rely on it. Obviously, in a highly advanced, technological civilization, truth is a first-order good. More than that, as Joseph Pieper points out, prudence - which is simply the ability to apprehend reality - is the foundation of all other virtues. By affirming lies and suppressing truth, even about apparently small things, disinformation cuts against the ability to apprehend truth and to have a just society. For example, this week, The Rolling Stones magazine acknowledged that a sensational rape case against the fraternity of a university was a total lie. The reporter was not fired, the liar was called a "victim" and the story was defended on the grounds that although it may have been a lie, it still served a useful purpose of putting the issue of rape into the public discussion. We have become a disinformation culture.

Pacepa points out that we have been a disinformation culture for a long time and he is worried about the survival of America because of his own experience with Soviet Romania. For example, he points out how the American - we assume - peace movement has coopted the language of our former enemies:

"Today, it is considered bad manners to point to any Soviet source of American anti-Americanism. But throughout their history, Americans had never before been anti-American. They voluntarily came to the United States. They were always a proud and independent people who loved their country and who won every military conflict up until its wars against communist expansion-- the Korean and the Vietnam Wars."

One might also point out how the peace movement simply disappeared with the election of Barrack Obama. It is almost as if they weren't concerned with peace so much as who was waging the war.

Likewise we see that there is a lot of effort being put in making sure that Americans don't link the War on Terror with Islamic extremism, lest people be incited to hate Muslims. Yet this concern for the defamation of groups is absent when it comes to a media that makes sure to publicize any and every scandal involving a Catholic priest. I have just completed Confronting the Nazi War on Christianity: The Kulturkampf Newsletters, 1936-1939 The Definitive English-Language Edition of the ... History of Religious and Political Pluralism) which documents how the Nazis deliberately publicized morality trials against Catholic priests as an attack on the Catholic Church. Are we to assume that the liberal media is less perceptive about the effects of their editorial decisions that Goebbels, particularly when they are so concerned about the effect on Muslims?

Pacepa also has an interesting section on Oswald. I think that most people think that he was a CIA stooge. Certainly, very few people realize that Oswald was a dedicated Communist who spent time in the Soviet Union. Pacepa makes an interesting circumstantial case that Oswald provided the secrets that permitted the Soviets to shoot down Francis Gary Powers' U2 spy plane. He also explains the strange behavior of Oswald's trip to Mexico, which involved, according to Pacepa, "trade-craft." Is Pacepa's speculation that Oswald acted on his own in retaliation for Kennedy's humiliation of Kruschev during the Cuban Missile Crisis true? Who knows? Certainly it is far more credible given the facts than the conspiracy theory floated by far-left loons like Oliver Stone, who has profited nicely on his claim that the Kennedy assassination was a CIA coup. But thanks to disinformation, we can talk about whether the CIA killed Kennedy, and not whether a card-carrying Communist who had spent time in the Soviet Union might have been a Communist agent.

When someone reads a book like this, the reader should properly wonder if they are not being made the victim of another disinformation scam. We have know way of verifying the details of Pacepa's career in the DIE, but I have been reading a lot of primary source material on the Nazis and Catholics recently, and Pacepa's story fits the data. He is right about the Soviet origin of the Pius slander - I was surprised when I stumbled over those New York Times articles and read those claims from 1945. His description of Soviet tactics dovetails nicely with Guenter Lewy's The Cause That Failed: Communism in American Political Life, which describes the Soviet infiltration into culture and its use of fronts and fellow travelers and agents of influence. Likewise his description of the framing of Catholic bishops like Mindszenty and Stepinac for allegedly collaborating with the Nazis, which was a lie, is verified by contemporary accounts from the New York Times, e.g., I have a New York Times article that contains Cardinal Stepinac's condemnation of Nazi racial policies. Finally, I have dived deeply into the New York Times archives and the criticisms of the Nazis by Cardinal Pacelli/Pius XII and by the German bishops is simply too numerous to give any rational credence to the slur about "silence."

Yet we live in a world where people assume the Catholic church supported the Nazis during World War II.

That is either a weird random occurrence or it is the product of enemy action.

Once is coincidence, twice is bad luck, three times is enemy action.

Based on Pacepa's book we are well-past three times, and it may be time to be a trifle more skeptical about what we think we know.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2013
This book is a must read for all Americans. If you want to know the real origin of American "liberalism" or "progressive-ism" or even liberation theology this former top KGB agent has answers. The forward was written by a former CIA Director. This is the real thing.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
History of how Pope Pius XII and other religious leaders became smeared as pro-Hitler anti-Semites. The USSR wanted to spread lies about the Church to remove it as a force against its own religion of Marxism. The authors explain how the same techniques have been used to spread hatred against the USA in Muslim countries.
My only criticism is the jumping timeline was sometimes difficult to follow. But the facts revealed are frighteningly impressive & make some of today's political headlines more understandable.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2013
General Pacepa's insight into the diabolical twisting of information for public consumption is one of the best books on the subject I have ever read. The book is extensively notated (48 pages of references and a very large bibliography that supports all the facts revealed in the main text.)

Part 1 - Glorifying the Guilty, Framing the Innocent
This section reveals the origin and concepts regarding the art of disinformation.

Part 2 - Anatomy of a Disinformation Campaign: The Creation of "Hitler's Pope."
This section catalogs the complex plan that successfully destroyed the reputation of Pope Pius XII

Part 3 - Framing the US Government as a Pack of Assasins
This section focuses on the effort to degrade the USA's reputation and uncovers operation "Dragon."

Part 4 - Unraveling Today's Web of Deceit
This section discusses multiple aspects on modern disinformation campaigns which includes the Kremlin's Nuclear Terrorism, the Antiwar Movement, and Marxist Personality Cults.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
I'm a Romanian-born American citizen myself. I can relate to this book very well. I'm a child of the 1980's - the roughest years of Ceausescu's tyrannical regime. I graduated high-school in 1991, just two years after the Revolution. I am thankful to Mr. Pacepa for sharing his knowledge of history. Excellent reading. I hope the American readers unfamiliar with what I went through back in the late 70's and throughout the 80's will be able to grasp at highest level of understanding every little detail of individual life under oppressive regime (whether psychological or physical). I just got the book yesterday through Amazon. I have already read the first 70 pages. There are a few hundred more. It is rather easy for me to go through them since, like I said, I do relate to this book.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse