Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Disorientation: How to Go to College Without Losing Your Mind
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon October 18, 2010
Disorientation is specifically designed to help educate young Catholics on the threshold of leaving home for college and the "Wild West" (so to speak) of modern ideologies with which they will be bombarded upon entering the classrooms. The idea is that if they know what something is (progressivism, multiculturalism, hedonism, and so forth) then they can identify it up front and not fall prey to replacing solid Catholic teachings with skewed ideas. Fourteen essays by top Catholic writers explain and put into context these ideologies which so many people think are "just naturally the way things are." It is edited by John Zmirak so there is a reliable light touch with tongue firmly in cheek that permeates the book. (For the record, I think this is a good thing, especially if you are aiming at the college-bound.)

Let's face it. Chances are that your child has been exposed to these ideologies long before heading off for college. Most of those ideas are communicated through television, movies, and pals who they see every day. Talking about these things intelligently at home is the best way to make sure that everyone understands just why what the Church teaches is true and where those other ideas have skewed truth. If your kids are going to college, sure go ahead and get them a copy. But you don't have to wait that long. This book does a terrific job of helping us understand things from a proper point of view. Get a copy for yourself now. And one for the kids ... no time like the present when it comes to understanding how our culture thinks versus how the Church does.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
I could have used this book a couple of decades ago, even though I'm not Catholic. The articles in it cover a lot of ground and provide an introduction to the various "heresies" being preached to our youth on college campuses. Furthermore, it is well-written, intelligent, and reasonable; by this I mean that the reader won't find young-earth creationist views or nasty irrational and fanatical fringe ideas always pointed to by the enemies of the church, often unfairly. That's what makes it, in my view, a very strong handbook against anti-Christian modern ideas. One cannot go to college without getting tainted by some of those insane ideologies pushed down his/her throat by tenth-rate professors with axes to grind, instructors who are encouraged to preach radical leftist philosophies when they should be delivering to the student and his/her parents the expensive education they signed in for. What a student gets instead is emotional and confused utopian ideas about life, moral indifference, and flashy hippie slogans that have no substance. The wishy-washy liberal "Christian" will dislike this book because it bluntly goes against relativist views and does not beat around the bush when defending Christian truth. One thing for sure, it certainly does not provide a lukewarm or watered-down version of the traditional Christian teachings. Now, I think some parts of this book may be a little difficult for a high-school student with no background in classical literature, but that is unavoidable since the authors try to provide a context for their topics. I could also say it's too Catholic for me, but I couldn't disagree with it on much, and its authors don't hide the fact that it is a Catholic statement to begin with, so I respect that. I would recommend it along with The Abolition of Man by C. S. Lewis and Heresies/Orthodoxy by G. K. Chesterton, two great books that aim at similar topics. The "further readings" sections at the end of the articles also contain great references for those who wish to go beyond its limited scope.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2011
One hundred years after G.K. Chesterton penned his famous Heretics, editor John Zmirak has produced a modern version of Chesterton's classic work. Zmirak's book, titled Disorientation: How to go to College Without Losing Your Mind (Ascension Press, 188 pages, paperback), bring together fourteen contributors, each picking apart a common ideology found on college campuses. The book was written to give intellectual ammunition to young Catholics as they head off for higher education.

Throughout the book, top writers break down the history, analyze the appeal, and debunk the empty promises of wildly popular philosophies including:

* Sentimentalism (Elizabeth Scalia)
* Relativism (Eric Metaxas)
* Hedonism (John Zmirak)
* Progressivism (Peter Kreeft)
* Multiculturalism (Robert Spencer)
* Anti-Catholicism (Jimmy Akin)
* Utilitarianism (Fr. Dwight Longenecker)
* Consumerism (Eric Brende)
* Feminism (Donna Steichen)
* Cynicism (George William Rutler)
* Scientism (John Keck)
* Americanism (Mark Shea)
* Marxism (Jeffrey Tucker)
* Modernism (John Zuhlsdorf)

If you are unfamiliar with any of these ideologies--or "ism's", if you will--Disorienation provides an enjoyable introduction. The writing is deliciously snarky--you can almost see the writer's smirks as they pick through their topics. Though it is a serious-minded book, the topics are approached with whim and wit.

Considering its target audience, however, the book is written at a fairly high level. Disorienation is geared toward recent high-school graduates and young college students, but if somebody handed this book to me when I was that age I would have found it neither compelling or understandable. Even many adults will struggle through some of the chapters--especially Rutler's on "Cynicism." For instance, here is a snippet from Rutler's piece (p. 102):

"The postmodernist diction cynically deconstructs logic and actually ridicules it--perhaps unwittingly because it has so abosorbed the temper of illogic. And so the cynic threatens all social constructions built on values higher than the self..."

Because of its high-level content, Disorienation may appeal more to older, college upperclassman or, better yet, the parents of young college students. If parents want to prepare their sons and daughters for these philosophies, they could first read through Disorienation themselves before sharing the content with their children through casual discussion.

Finally, John Zmirak's closing epilogue, "Will Your College Years Be a Waste of Time?", is alone worth the price of the book. There he provides eight tips on how to piece together a solid liberal education regardless of what school you attend or how wacko your professors are. Any college student who takes John's advice will leave college very well-formed.

Overall, I enjoyed Disorienation's tongue-in-cheek humor, sharp thinking, and the dismantling of false ideologies. Despite its difficulty, I would recommend Disorienation to all capable readers looking for a fun, intelligent primer on today's most prevalent "ism's".
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2011
Disorientation is an outstanding read. It is quick and to the point. It is also written at a higher level than most books which could potentially be difficult for some college level students. However, it is a great source and resource for today's students who are bombarded not only with junk on TV and the internet, but also within our school system. I would recommend you sending this book off with your freshman. Also, read it too so that you can discuss the contents with your student. It may surprise you that disorientation also exists within the work place. MAD
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2010
What an insightful read!! I even love all the cartoon renditions of all "isms" throughout the book!! Very creative! I have a friend of mine who is about enter College and out of all the books I would want him to read before he enters, this book would be at the top of the list!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 13, 2011
I loved it. It was a dose of philosophy for the distracted and is the kind of book I won't have any problem lending, rereading, and talking about. It summarizes exactly what was "wrong" with my college education, and I plan to gift this to every graduate in the future. Even though it's Catholic, I'd recommend it for anyone-the truths it points to are universal. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2011
I just started college this past fall, and this book has been crucial to me. It has kept me on my toes, so now I can spot the baloney from a mile away. It has also taught me how to refute the "isms" listed in this book. A must-read for all young people going off to college and already in college.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2011
Disorientation is a basic look at 13 of the most important ideologies that will assault our children when they walk onto a college campus ( not to be forgotten is the 13 years of softening up the public schools have done). To not arm our children with a clear perspective of these ideologies is to lose them to the rushing currents of modernity. Certainly if one is unaware of these ideologies one will be swallowed up by their apparent persuasiveness. Allow these fine authors to unmask these treacheries for what they are.
There are complaints of difficulty in accessing some of these essays. A university graduate is unlikely to grasp what this book is all about, in fact, a university graduate is likely to find this excellent compilation of essays highly biased, bigoted, racist, misogynist and a slew of other defamatory remarks that characterize the slingers of such filth much better than this book itself. I imagine one not accustomed to viewing the world with strenuous attempts to see reality rightly will have quite a bit of difficulty grasping what all the fuss is about.
I would recommend coming to these essays with the respect due its authors and a diminishing of the self. Take Chesterton's advice and "don't believe in yourself, believe in the Truth." Assume these essays are full of explanatory power to disabuse you of some of the worst thinking habits in the history of human kind and you will profit greatly from this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
Very helpful, interesting essays. Would recommend to anybody, student or not, who is curious about different predominant philosophies and world views. Each writer a little different style, but all are accessible enough, though some are more "thick" than others. I disagree with some reviews that the writing is too heavy for a college freshman.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2012
You owe yourself to know the Truth! This book is an amazing, easy to use tool to teach yourself and your high school and college students about the 13 main philosophical errors of the 20th and 21st Century. Tough and obvious philosophical systems such as Sentimentalism, Hedonism, Relativism, Materialism, Utilitarianism, Feminism, Marxism, and More are clearly addressed, defined, and explained in their respective chapters in layman's terms. A different Catholic Theologian who is the expert in that particular field of thought addresses the origins, tenants, and implications of each dissenting philosophy against the TRUTH of authentic-free thinking. The chapters are SHORT, CONCISE, and INFORMATIVE.

Inform yourself with what true free minds of the 21st Century think of our present philosophical state of affairs. Warning: You will come to know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse