Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 961 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,252 reviews
on October 9, 2014
Dante's Divine Comedy is a so called epic poem. It is very lengthy. There are many artistic, literary, and personal allusions. Without a lot of background the poem is almost incomprehensible to me. I can understand generally what the poem is about. But there are a lot of names, etc that require explaining. I think Dante had a personal agenda, an axe to grind, that needed a lot of explanation.

The Carey's Translation and study guide was extremely helpful to me. It is heavily footnoted with lots of explanations. It shed a lot of light on this fine work. It made this a really good reading and learning experience. I really feel this changed the whole experience for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2017
It is good because it has all three, -- Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradiso, in one book; it has lots of margins to write your own comments; and the paper quality is good. (though not as high as Japanese paperbacks, which are quite thin, but tough). All middle and higher school students should buy this book. I recommend paper than electronic form for classic books like this, to feel the volume of the writing in your hands, and absorb the contents to make it your own book by writing your memos in margins, sticking flags, coloring it, and such. Consume it. Eat it to its bone, kids!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
While Dante's writing is full of allegory it is still very beautiful. Sometime is it difficult to understand but if you continue to read meaning tends to fall into place. The Divine Comedy is a great work. As a reader we are taken to hell, purgatory and paradise. While it is not for everyone, there is much to learn and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2017
This is a great translation. I have read Dante's Inferno twice before and I enjoyed it very much but nothing like this one. I feel like I missed so much when I read it the first two times. I'm now into Purgatory and am amazed about how much I have learned about Italy and Dante's world. l enjoy reading this immensely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2017
Easy reading compared to the direct translation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2011
I have several versions of The Divine Comedy and independent versions of the Inferno, including Sayers and Binyon. I have read editions from the 50's up through every decade up till now. I might keep on purchasing different versions, but I seriously doubt any will come to par with this one.

This book is heavy, thick with all the classical Gustav Dore's wood engravings, it's hard to tear your eyes away from the pages. Larger text makes it easier, on the whole, to read. There are extra writings: preface and section introductions. For an in-depth dive into the Divine Comedy, you can't get much better than this. This massive tome can be physically harder to read, but then again this isn't a 'read at bedtime' translation of Inferno. This truly is perfect for desktop reference.

Longfellow has been said to be a bit harder to read, so don't dive head first if you've never dealt with the Divine Comedy before or unless you want a literal literary challenge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
This particular edition/translation is relatively readable. Mark Musa, the translator, included exceptionally good notes to help the reader understand the story. That is a big plus for me. Trust me when I say that you will want to read the notes carefully at the end of each Canto. Otherwise, you will more than likely not follow the action or understand the significance of the narrative. You, more or less, will not need to use Spark Notes or Book Rag for a summary and analysis of this version of the Inferno. The notes are that good. I recommend this for anyone wishing to read Dante's Inferno.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2015
Dante's consciousness enveloped most of the religious and political history up to his time on earth and it is all in this volume. Additionally,it is the story of his enduring love of Beatrice, who helped him experience the grace of God, which enabled his intellect to be free to write this magnificent story of man's quest for the truth of existence.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
John Ciardi's translation into english is the best!!! Bar none. Do not cheat yourself by reading only "The Inferno", to understand the true genius of this work you must read the whole of the three parts and their echoes. The great irony to me is that most people only read The Inferno, thinking thats the most exciting (terrifying) part (book) of the three. When it is really in The Purgatorio that Dante can be his most frightening. Sweet Dreams.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
The excellence of Mark Musa's readable translation of the Inferno makes all the difference between struggling with this work and being eager to find out what happens to those consigned to the Inferno's lower levels. When I read this edition, I suddenly realized for the first time that the characters in the inferno were real people whom Dante had known prior to his exile from Florence. At the time there were major political tensions in the Florentine Republic, and Dante's work amounts to an eye-witness account of influential people so much in denial and so corrupt that they end up in hell, often without realizing why they are there. Without the excellent end notes and longer explanatory passages, it would be easy to underrate the multifaceted value of Dante's work. This edition should be of interest not only to those interested in literature but those interested in the history of the period as well.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse