Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Prophets of Rage PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 52 reviews
VINE VOICEon January 24, 2012
(update 5/23/2012 - It appears the version of the game you dl from Amazon is now drm free. If it's not... the instructions below will help)

There's some confusion about the DRM status of this game and what version Amazon delivers. Amazon has no DRM of it's own on the game. Larian HAD SecuRom on it but removed it in December 2011. Even the developer, Larian, doesn't know when or if Amazon will update the game. This review (the game is great - 5 stars!) is intended to tell you how to get the latest, non-drm version of the game no matter what Amazon gives you.

1. Download the game from Amazon. Install it. Run it. If it asks for a key code, hit cancel - you have one of older DRM SecuRom versions. If it doesn't, you're good to go!

2. Go to the developer's site (larian)
Hit the SUPPORT button
Choose "Divinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga"
Look for the "PC version - Patch 2" part.
Download that patch.

3. Get the DRM free patch. Amazon won't let me give you the direct link to that Larian web page but if you google "DKS DRM FREE" it'll probably be the first link.
Download it.

4. Install the patch you got in step 2.
Start the game. The game's launcher will go out and get the updates so that you'll have the latest version. After it finishes downloading, hit the install button. That'll install the files you just downloaded.
Don't run the game

5. Unzip the file you got in step 3. It has the non-drm non-SecuRom version of the game's main program. Go to the directory where you installed the game. It has a BIN subdirectory. That's where the old main program is - name is DIVINITY2.EXE. Copy the new file over the old one.

Done! Now you have the latest version of the game and no DRM.
44 comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2012
I've played a few games that had great plots, were well-written, made me think and were even relevant to life. Divinity II is none of those. But about halfway through the game, you get the ability to turn into a dragon whenever you want. How is that not amazing?

The game is well-constructed enough that it never gets boring, and the story is just involved enough to keep you interested throughout. It's straight-forward, challenging but fun, and you get to turn into a dragon anytime you want. There are enough side quests and places to explore that you'll spend many hours on this game, and overall it's a pretty game.

There are some flaws with the mechanics: within a very narrow level range, you're able to have a challenging fight, but more than a couple levels below you and everything is far too weak, more than a couple levels above you and everything is practically impossible. This is especially a problem at low levels. The skills are also very poorly balanced--some skills just aren't worth the experience you're putting into them. That said, the idea of being able to wipe the slate clean and re-assign all your skill points is really smart. So as you figure out what works best, you can spend some gold and choose a completely different set of skills.

Have you not bought this game yet? Then let me reiterate: YOU GET TO TURN INTO A FREAKING DRAGON. It's fun just running and jumping off cliffs and turning into a dragon in mid-air, or running toward the corner of a floating platform and hitting a button so that you transform and keep moving without missing a beat. Dive-bombing your enemies with fireballs. Taking down towers with your fire breath. It simply doesn't get old. Among the sub-set of games where it's possible to transform, I don't think I've ever played a game that made transformation so fun. This feature alone is worth the price of admission.

The story isn't going to start conversations, the world isn't particularly unique, and there are some gameplay issues. But this is truly escapist fantasy at its best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2011
This is a DRM only review, hoping to help others answer questions I had before buying this title on Amazon Download.

Short version: This is effectively a GOG-like copy of the game. There is no activation required (after installing the latest patch and the official DRM removing binary), you can install it as many times as you want, on as many computers as you own. You can backup the installation files and install from them later and not have to go through Amazon.

Long version: After purchasing the game you get a custom made (<1Mb size) downloader. Running the downloader starts the product download. Notice that the downloader does not require administrative rights (so it doesn't register the game somehow in the system registry), it seems to be a pure downloader. After the game has downloaded you can find an activation key in the html file in the downloaded game files but you won't need it as you'll see. (Backup the installation files and) install the game. Download, install the autoupdater [1] and run it. It will download a setup file and a data file in the game directory, you can actually backup these too so next time you can apply the update without having to install first the autoupdater (and thus without depending on the developer's servers being up). Run the setup file, apply the update. Then get the DRM-removing executable ([2]) and replace your game executable with this one. That's it!

If you backup the game installation files (downloaded from Amazon), the patch files downloaded by the autoupdater and the DRM free .zip you have a full working DRM free local copy to install this game anytime you want in the future, without depending on Amazon or the developer's servers being up.

Since Amazon strips out links:
[1] Search for "dragon knight saga update"
[2] Search for "dragon knight saga drm patch community"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2014
Divinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga is an epic role-playing game, that combines the complete adventures of the legendary dragon Knight.

This incredible RPG includes the entirely remastered and improved version of Ego Draconis, the original adventure of the Divinity II saga. The content of this edition as well as its graphic engine have both been much improved and overhauled, in order to provide a more beautiful and richer game experience!

Divinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga also includes the brand new adventure Flames of Vengeance, which adds dozens of hours of gameplay to the original story, and packs loads of new quests, creatures and items, as well as a spectacular finale to this great saga!

A total of over 100 hours of gameplay and more than 180 original quests await you in this epic role-playing game. Embrace the Dragon Knight's destiny and annihilate the threat that looms over Rivellon!

Includes 2 complete adventures: Divinity II - Ego Draconis Remastered & Divinity II - Flames of Vengeance
Over 100 hours of gameplay.
More than 180 original quests
Hundreds of equipment pieces including armour, swords, war hammers, bows, etc.
Fight your enemies on the ground, or crush them from the sky using your Dragon form!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2011
Wow, you talk about getting your moneys worth out of a game? This game is extremely long, i've been playing it probably off and on for over a month and a half. And, I am no where close to beating the game. I've just made it past the first chapter I think. And, the expansion I haven't even touched yet. I think they said there is over 100 hrs. of play time with this, and I believe it!
Transformations, cool monsters, good puzzles, and a intriguing story line all make for a good overall game. I would recommend this for anyone who like rpgs. Also, the game is fun, but you will have moments you get stuck or need help. In that case take a break and come back to it later.
For the cost, I would recommend DKS.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2011
After reading other reviews this sounded like a fun game since I played the previous version of Divine Divinity, so thought I would download and give it a go. Took about 1.5 hours to download for me and installation and updating went smooth. Started playing the game and the text window fonts were so small I strained to read them. Tried different display resolutions which did not help and it fact made the problem worse at lower resolutions, text was blurred. Playing on a 22" LG monitor at 1440x900 now. Searched for anyway to change font size and there is no way to change them and developer has made no effort to provide a patch to increase font size despite the fact many people have complained of this issue to tech support. If you have poor eyesight stay away from this one for the PC unless the developer fixes this issue.

Edit: After playing this game for around 16 hours, I am amazed, it is one of the best games I have played for some time. In spite of the small text font (I use a magnifying glass when its too hard to read, such as dark blue text on a black background), this game is truely worth playing. Very enjoyable !! I raise my rating to 4 stars !
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2011
I had been eyeing this game for awhile. Seemed like an interesting premise.You're a Dragon Slayer sworn to kill dragons.
In your quests you in turn become what you are sworn to hate, a dragon. The game looks good, plays well and is pretty much bug free.
The story line while a bit different is pretty much standard Western High Fantasy fare. Not that that's a bad thing mind you.

If you like WOW, Dragon Age or any of the Elder Scroll series you'll like this game, feels very similar to those but the great part
is no paying to play once purchased.

I don't know whats more fun using my bow on mobs or whacking them with my big warhammer. Fighting in Dragon form is
also quite satisfying.There are puzzles to figure out that you have to solve to advance to the next area which are both fun and frustrating at times.
Think puzzle solving like the Half Life series and you get the idea.Be sure to save often or you'll be repeating some areas over.

I still have 2 more clases to try out.

I got this as a "placeholder " game to tide me over until Star Wars The Old Republic comes out. DII DKS fits the bill and has kept me entertained for quite a few hours.
DII DKS is a solid, fun game thats well worth your money and time. I give it a 7 or 8 out of 10.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2011
I use a Gateway 6840. Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium (64-bit), Intel I7, Radon 1G. graphics, 8G ram. Not the fastest rig out there, but in-game everything is set to UBER, and It Is Running 100% smooth at 50 fps. The graphics are beautiful, and the game play in the main quests goes on forever, but if you restart a new game the available items often change. You can have 2 combat buddies,in the form of various spawnable moster-types, and they throw nice spells etc... especially when you have leveled up @ 40 or more. Cheathappens.com has great editors for games like this... I'me a disabled veteran, and so my pain helps the sim feel more real. But, yes I do use that editer to give my self a brake, because percosets can relly bust up your reaction time...

Let's face it, in a real living world like this,chronic pain fracured bones, and 3'rd degree burns become a everyday part of life. I have not played Divinity 1, but will look for it !

I wholheartedly recommend this game, have not even tried any mods yet, but looking forward
to all than jazz too...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2012
I gave it 5 stars already after playing 5 hours.
my system:
AMD phenom II x4 965
ASUS M5A88-V EVO mobo
sapphire 6870
windows 7 64 bit

I downloaded this with no problems and played without any patches. not sure what a previous reviewer was talking about but i hope i don't8 run into any of those kinds of problems. i hate fixing things that way, so frustrating. anyways.

Also not sure why people are complaining about graphics sound etc, maybe its their system because I think it looks great, the music is very good. voice over is great too. Maybe haters, IDK but i like it. I usually play shooter games, ie. crysis bf3, etc, so to say i like this is something.
I have been having disconnection issues with another online rpg Vindicus, so to get my fix i think i did good. If not better because this game is very flexible with weapons, stat improvements, skills trees, your not stuck with the class regretting it later on in battle.

I can see why its retailed at 40.00 great overall so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2012
This is a "sleeper" game. It's dark (think Fable meets Oblivion meets Dragon Age with a splash of the Witcher), the plot is good, the graphics are immersive, and my framerates were consistently good (but then I have a high end gaming PC). Many of the gameplay issues with the original version have been fixed in DKS. The environment is not a true sandbox, but there's lots to do.

This is a fun game, and the plotline will keep you immersed for many hours. The abilility to turn into a dragon is interesting, to say the least (although it's not an original idea, anyone remember Drakan, Order of the Flame? that was another great dragon-themed game from way back when!)

My Amazon download was the newest version to date, and did not come bundled with DRM, which is good.

I would highly recommend this game for fans of the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here