Industrial Deals HPC Trade in your textbooks Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno



on September 24, 2013
Story line & characters not believable - 2 main character acting seemed very amateur. Do not recommend if you're looking to be entertained.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 7, 2014
I chose this move based on a 4 star rating, but why would anyone like this movie? How did Elliot Gould get involved this this borning show. Neither woman should have had anything to do with that guy.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 17, 2014
cetainely not a memorable piece of work.... we did enjoy parts of it however, if this were at the movies... i would have walked out. fastforwarding works great in this case
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2013
You can't beat watching a movie from Redbox for $1.27 and complain too much. The movie was funny, the acting amateurish, but overall the story held up well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2013
We definatly enjoyed this movie but I was expecting/ hoping for a totally different ending... I think I will buy this once it comes out
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 1, 2013
Been waiting for this movie to come out for a while. Nadia Bjorlin is amazing and I'm not just saying it because she's a friend. She rocked this movie and the movie was pretty darn good. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2013
It was a great movie. My gf enjoyed watching it together. Loved the ending. I would definitely watch it again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 5, 2013
Fine acting and a interesting but boring story line makes this movie OK to watch, but not a movie you will want to watch more than one time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 16, 2015
This was a pretty good movie over all but with a few "shortcomings" here and there. While it is a comedy, most of the humor comes from crude language and comments -- very juvenile to me. The three lead actors, Jonathan Bennett, Jamie Lynn Sigler and Nadia Bjorlin, did their best with the material they had to work with. Jonathan Bennett is a stereotypical "immature male, "Mike," finding himself simultaneously in love with two women: one his newlywed wife "Dylan" (Sigler) and the other his long-lost high school sweetheart, "Alex" (Bjorlin).
Jamie Lynn Sigler does a fine job as the young Jewish girl who has just married the love of her life who himself converted to Judaism to prove his love to her and to her family. Four months into their marriage, enter "Alex" (Bjorlin), Mike's love from high school whom he considers his true soul mate.
Jonathan Bennett is charming as the doofus who finds himself in this impossible situation and he plays "Mike" with just the right amount of goofy immaturity and silly scheming. The stunning Nadia Bjorlin is the best of the three, in my opinion. Her role as "the other woman" is not at all cheesy and "Alex" is not a conniving witch bound to break up "Mike" and "Dylan," not at all. "Alex" is beautiful, rich and successful but she is also a genuine person with heartaches of her own. She truly loves "Mike" but doesn't try to force him to leave his new wife. To me, their scenes together on the golf course and in the pool are the best of the movie. "Alex" is played with sensitivity and believability by Nadia Bjorlin, who once again shows her considerable acting abilities. She is far more than a pretty face.
I think this movie might have worked better as a drama considering the serious subject matter. Most of the "comedy" is provided by "Mike" and his equally silly friends and business partners but there are smaller comedic roles filled by Elliot Gould and Richard Kind.
The comedic theme, and thus the title, involves the prenuptial agreement "Dylan" presents to "Mike" before their wedding which he signs without reading. After "Mike" rekindles his romance with "Alex,", he goes to considerable trouble to meet the terms of the "prenup" in order to divorce "Dylan" so they can be together."
I do think the whole premise should've been taken seriously because the movie really isn't that funny; however, a dramatic take of the material would've been much more compelling. I believe a thoughtful and sincere consideration of a newlywed man so in love with his new bride that he converted to her religion who is suddenly thrust back together with his first love would have made an excellent movie. The immature attempts at "humor" would've been unnecessary.
The bittersweet ending is a revelation of how "Mike" has matured during his wild run to fulfill the "divorce invitation clause." It is both sweet and touching, yet with a lingering sadness for one of the two women who loses her own opportunity for real love and thus exits brokenhearted but without bitterness.
Watch "Divorce Invitation" for the light farce it is but see if you agree with me that it might've been so much better as a drama.
I ranked it three stars because it's an "okay" movie, nothing spectacular but not terrible either. Language and some sexual content make it unsuitable for children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2017
Get married, sign a prenup, meet an old flame, want a divorce. It's not that easy. It shows true love. She only has him sign the prenup because she doesn't believe in divorce and made it iron-clad, or so she thought, to not be able to get divorced. Without spoiling it, just watch. I recommend the film! I added it to my collection as soon as I saw it on Netflix.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here