Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Divorce Remedy: The Proven 7-Step Program for Saving Your Marriage
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on March 30, 2015
Perfectly for the leaning in partner who wants to understand how their partner got to the place where they were seeking divorce/separation. Very readable and practical for the early stages of shock and disbelief. My clients love it. It would not be helpful for the one leaning out of the relationship.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2015
This book became my "go-to" book when I needed to found out about husband's sordid affair. The author’s hand came thru the stories pages and guided me thru my many heart-wrenching questions and it assisted me thru the darkness that I was facing. Unfortunately, my marriage didn’t survive as I hoped, but it gave me a clear understanding of the trauma that infidelity causes and how I can overcome this heartbreak
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
This book is easy to read, straightforward and devoid of complicated psychobabble. Though, clearly Ms. Davies has the clinical background to get deeply analytical, she writes this book as if she is sharing her experiences with close friends. She expresses empathy for the reader who is probably in significant pain and has difficulty making healthy decisions. Individuals having marital difficulties who might be facing divorce usually aren't sleeping well, so this affects their ability to make sound decisions. Ms. Davies recognizes the tendency for these individuals to act on impulse often to their own detriment, and offers clear, practical advice to help them increase their chance of repairing their damaged relationship.
It is not overly sentimental or religious, though it addresses both the very real pain of the reader as well as spiritual aspects of love, tolerance and forgiveness. I am a pastoral counselor and would recommend this book to my clients in addition to couples counseling and spiritual support.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2001
With the divorce rate skyrocketing through the roof, this book and ones similar in nature should be hot and in demand. The positive side of this book is the author's words of widsom. The book is filled with inspiration and and methods for strengthening a relationship, as well as classic case studies that prove the techniques here actually work, and no one is disputing that in a great number of cases they truly do work! However, from a more realistic perspective, not every marriage can be saved as evidenced by the divorce courts.
By times, the author tends to paint the picture that every marriage on the face of the Earth can be salvaged, and for this the book lost a star in the rating. As a counsellor with a lifetime of experience, I have seen many marriages, some which initally appeared damanged beyond repair, grow and become stronger and more fulfilling. On the other hand, I have also seen many cases where the best choice would be for the couple to go separate ways so that each will have the opportunity to find happiness in the future. There are times when no matter how much counselling takes place, it becomes evident the couple who are not willing to work together are not going to find happiness together. To go to a counsellor alone "with the sole purpose of saving a marriage", when the other partner has already moved on, is like closing the barn door after the horse is long gone! With that in mind, for all the positive, upbeat information the book contains, the anticipated results may not be achieved in every relationship.
The book will be a greater advantage to readers in cases where both parties are committed to saving the relationship and both partners are willing to work at improvement. Contrary to what the author tends to rationalize, not all marriages can be saved, nor in some cases should they be saved, particularly in abusive situations.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
The Title should be : " The D. R. : The Proven 7-Step Program for Saving Yourself ". This book has many insightful thoughts on what to not do, if trying to save your marriage. It is better read before the crisis of one or the other choosing to end a marriage.

Either way, one will come away with a sense of an understanding and a place to go and receive support. This not only helped me to survive my separation, but it helped me be the best I could be. I was able to go forward with love, honor, and dignity. I look forward to a joyful future!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2008
In a culture where getting a divorce is almost reflexive when any marital problem may occur, this book provides an alternative frame of mind. My hope is that many would read this book as a preventative measure; before their marriage is on the rocks. Although, there are many examples in this book where such marriages have been saved as well. Easy to read and practical application points.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book demonstrates that even if you have been resigned to living in a miserable marriage, there can be hope for rebuilding it. The Divorce Remedy, the Proven Seven Step Program for Saving Your Marriage prescribes a revitalization program than anyone can follow. Specific marriage-saving goals are identified and positive communication models are provided. This book is a must read for anyone still wishing to give their marriage one more chance.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2015
Great book wish I would have read it 5 years ago. Would have saved some grief.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
This book really hit home and it seemed like i was the work writing it. It was just to late to save my marriage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2016
good content
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse