Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
25
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on March 5, 2015
The clay is impure, so the sizable bisque portion at the bottom is very rough & grainy. As such there are bits of the rim where that texture can be felt through thinner parts of the glaze, although that texture is not noticeable when drinking from it.

My biggest complaint is the finished product is not wholly comparable to the design of the sample image. The glaze was really thick, so it ran when it was fired and the accent line is more of a blob.

Not the most gorgeous ceramic piece I have, but it is a nice chawan
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2015
This is a beautiful bowl. The bottom is rough and does not have a glaze. I think that adds more character. On the bottom there is a spiral pattern.

As another reviewer mentioned, their decorative swoosh looks more like a blob. Mine also looks kind of "blobish." That being said, this is definitely a handmade bowl and the differences in each bowl should be embraced. It's the imperfections of it that makes each one special.

There is enough room for whisking your matcha and will make for a wonderful tea tasting experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
This bowl has been perfect for making Matcha tea- I love it and have no complaints. It appears in person much like the picture, a very pretty shiny dark glaze with blue running through. It is heavy (as in it doesn't feel cheap) and it is the perfect size in my opinion for whisking the tea. I don't like matcha bowls that are too small. As I already own one, I would definitely purchase this again as a gift for Matcha tea loving friends or family.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2011
This bowl arrived quickly, but it was safely packed inside an attractive box. The glaze is a very reflective black with a single, subtle cloud-like accent mark for character. I was drying the bowl upside down today and noticed a seashell-like design at the bottom which may indicate who made the piece or it may just be a nice flourish. It's really amazing the quality that went into the piece for this price, my bowl is just as perfectly crafted as the one in the picture.

If you zoom in on the picture you can really see the quality of the glaze, it's especially evident in the blue-cream accent mark but also the perfectly smooth piece as a whole. A handmade piece like this never depreciates in price and would cost much more if purchased at a retail store, that's why it would make an excellent gift for anyone interested in tea, Japan, pottery, or just quality housewares.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2010
It's an all-around solid Matcha bowl. I really like that the bottom has a rough surface that helps reduce slipping when handling it.

What the description does not mention is the actual size of the bowl: It holds exactly 16oz of liquid, which makes for a lot of room for whisking your Matcha powder of choice.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2014
I absolutely love drinking matcha out of this bowl. It is perfect for whisking, and enhances the entire experience. Much thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
I agree it's a little pricey, but it's beautiful and I enjoy mine almost every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
Its a beautiful bowl, and enjoyable drinking my green tea from. Keeps the tea hot too, good buy love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
Truly fine Matcha Bowl fro enjoy matcha tea
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
Well made,and beautiful bowl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse