Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 104 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 133 reviews
on May 30, 2014
This docudrama was aired in late November of 2013, as part of the 50th Anniversary of one of the most celebrated shows in television history. I was lucky enough to see it when it aired, and now that my physical copy as arrived, I'm even more elated with what this has to offer.

The Blu-Ray edition is a 3 disc set, which has An Adventure In Space & Time as, of course, in Blu-Ray format, but it also includes this in DVD format, I supposed for those who may not yet have a Blu-Ray player, but intend to buy one soon, so they'll already have the best quality disc for that. There is an additional disc which is An Unearthly Child on DVD. If you already have An Unearthly Child on DVD, this is somewhat useless, since I compared it to my other, earlier released version, and found that they are exactly the same. It would have been nice to offer this 3 disc set as a 1 or 2 disc set, and lower the price.

Since I am already on the topic of, An Unearthly Child, I will tell you that there are audio commentary tracks ONLY for episodes 1 and 4. WHY? There are also 4 parody sketches from the writer of AAIS&T, which are well worth watching.

In regards to the main attraction, I have to agree that is so beautifully done, it's almost unreal. Although I have to say, my opinion on this can only be appreciated by a true Whovian. I never go into the synopsis, since so many others do that it is redundant. But I will tell you about the extras.

William Hartnell: The Original - Just over 5 minutes. This shows a very rare interview with the 1st Doctor three months after he left the role. Since there are so few of these, this is priceless. In my humble opinion. His granddaughter and other actors contribute to this.

The Making of an Adventure - Almost 11:30. Self explanatory, and again, well worth watching.

Reconstructions - A 4 parter. The first one shows, how much this docudrama really tried to recreate what happed in the early days. If you have never seen the unaired pilot of An Unearthly Child, you may not get what they are doing here. But said same pilot is on the 3rd disc. The second one is a self glorification of the creator, Mark Gatiss regenerating into the 3rd doctor. The third one is the recreated farewell speech of this 1st Doctor to Susan. And the fourth one is a recreation of the closing scene of The Feast of Steven, which was one episode of The Dalek Materplan. This was the first time that Doctor Who aired on Christmas day, and back then, it was thought that no one cared to watch it, so it was essentially a throw away episode. HOW TIMES HAVE CHANGED. The Doctor breaks the 4th wall by wishing a Merry Christmas at the end of the episode.

The Title Sequence - 1.24 - I believe this to be a promo for this special, or just a comparison of the original credits to what was done for this special as it shows the original title sequence morphing into the opening credit sequence was for this special. Eh....

Deleted Scenes - Just a tad over 1:30 of... well, do I have to spell it out?

My only complaint is that there is no commentary track for this, which is why I titled this "Well Worth The Wait - I hope." It took almost 6 months to make this available to the States, but at no point did anyone think to add a commentary track? Considering how much went into making this, it is absolutely absurd that a commentary track was not recorded. I swear that if this gets re-released in less than a year with this missing feature added, I'm going to be super duper psycho Dalek ticked off. That is the only reason why I gave this 4 out or 5 stars. I bring this up only due to the fact that the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special, "The Day of the Doctor," was announced to be RE-RELEASED later this year with additional bonus features. The re-release date and pre-order date have not yet announced, but this announcement was just days after I received my, what will soon be, a less than complete version, if you're an extras hog like me.

MY BOTTOM LINE: Any true Whovian would be remiss at not adding this to their collection. And if you don't shed a tear near the end, then clearly, you are a Cyberman.
44 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2017
A wonderful telling of how the TV show "Doctor Who" came to be. David Bradley gives a fine portrayal of William Hartnell at the crossroads of his acting career. Suddenly he is offered what would become a role immortalized for all time. Sometimes funny as making a show that from the beginning was a risk to the poignant finale when, like all things, there come an end. And one must shed a tear as Hartnell must pass the torch. Great acting by all. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
"Doctor Who" may have begun in a cramped, leaky BBC studio, but it soon came to reflect a universe of all possibility...
Its originals were a motley crew from far and wide; yet this unlikely and troublesome group of people turned out, like so many other misfits, to be among the genuine creative talents, heroes and paradigm shifters in our world...
As Verity says, "You have to ruffle some feathers to fly".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
I’m a fairly recent fan of the Doctor Who series. I always knew the show existed, and as a huge science fiction fan, I should’ve been more familiar with it, but quite conversely the show lost me from the get-go with the whole idea of someone with an British accent traveling around in a spinning police call box. I was more X-Wing fighter than TARDIS in my youth. Now older, I can appreciate the imaginative magic that went into conceptualizing all of the iconic elements of what is now one of my favorite shows. Suffice it to say that when I stumbled across An Adventure in Space and Time while surfing the channel guide, I decided to take a chance and hit the record button.

If I were forced to sum up this movie with one word that word would be: Fantastic! I don’t usually go for docu-dramas but this movie was flat out amazing. Actor David Bradley (Game of Thrones, The Strain) delivered an award winning performance. But it doesn’t stop there. All of the performances were top-notch. This film is produced beautifully, and the direction is fantastic, especially with the opening scenes setting up the dramatic flourishes toward the end of the film. Brian Cox (Rushmore) isn’t in front of the camera a lot, but he is electrifying when the spot-light is on him. The actress portraying Doctor Who’s original producer Verity Graham was also absolutely terrific (I had to IMDB the actress who played her was surprised she wasn’t more of a veteran). But if I had to pick a stand-out, it has to go to David Bradley. In portraying the original Doctor Who, he of course has to carry the movie and he succeeds in stellar fashion. I can’t gush enough about his performance.

In summation, An Adventure in Space and Time is an absolute gem. The backstory involving the creative decisions like the conceptualizing the Daleks were very entertaining but equally interesting were the scenes involving the production problems early on and their struggles with BBC management. The real heart of the film is in how David Bradley so expertly depicts William Hartnell’s real personal struggles and subsequently, his declining health. This really is a wonderful film and I highly recommend it not just for DW fans, but any fan of good film. This is a must see for any DW fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
Today, more than fifty years after it started, Doctor Who is a worldwide phenomenon. When it started though in 1963, no one was certain that the show would make it to the end of the year let alone run for decades. Indeed, the show faced troubles before it ever got to the screen. An Adventure In Space And Time presented viewers with a dramatization of those early years of the series ahead of the show's fiftieth anniversary in 2013. Even two years later, it remains a watchable and informative account of those early years of the show.

The script by Mark Gatiss, who has written episodes of the revived Doctor Who as well as numerous novels and audio dramas based on the series, does a superb job of condensing the events of over three years into a ninety minute production. For anyone who knows at least some of the early behind the scenes history of the series. While the running time means that the film can't give everyone their due but many of the people get their moment with references to theme tune arranger Delia Derbyshire and the series original associate producer Mervyn Pinfield. Gatiss wisely chooses to focus on a handful of people involved with the series including its original producer Verity Lambert and First Doctor actor William Hartnell. By choosing to focus the film's attention, it allows for a tight narrative that also gets to feature events such as the show's aborted first pilot, its near cancellation as well as presenting off told anecdotes about the early production of the series. While it does make sweeping generalizations at time, it remains true to events by and large to great success.

Along with Gatiss' script, a large part of the success of this production comes from the casting. David Bradley as Hartnell was a masterstroke of casting and while Bradley doesn't have his voice and might be just a tad bit taller than the real Hartnell, he captures the spirit of the man well such as in moments such as his first lunch meeting with Lambert and director Waris Hussein. Speaking of Lambert and Hussein, both are well cast with Jessica Raine (who was soon to guest star on Doctor Who itself in the episode Hide) in particular shining as Lambet who finds herself fighting tooth and claw to get her first series as a producer off the ground. Lambert finds an ally in Hussein, played by Sacha Dhawan who bares a strong resemblance to the real life director. A surprising addition to the cast is the noted actor Brian Cox who appears as Sydney Newman, the Canadian born head of BBC Drama who essentially created Doctor Who as part of a major shakeup that followed his coming to the BBC. Cox's Newman bares some resemblance to the real man though Cox doesn't seem to act much like the Newman who can glimpsed in a couple of the DVD documentaries but he certainly has a presence which benefits the production.

There's also a solid supporting cast as well. There's Lesley Manville as Hartnell's wife Heather who urges him to take the part and watches his rise to recognition before his health begins to suffer in a major supporting role which helps as well. Rounding off the original cast of the series are Jamie Glover as William Russell, Jemma Powell as Jacqueline Hill and Claudia Grant as Carole Ann Ford with a number of non-speaking actors and actresses playing the various companions from the remainder of the era. Doctor Who fans will spot a number of actors from the show's history in smaller roles such as the real life William Russell as a BBC security guard, companions actresses Anneke Wills and Jean Marsh as party guests, comedian and Doctor Who fan Toby Hadoke as a BBC bartender and modern day Dalek voice actor Nicholas Briggs playing his 1960s predecessor Peter Hawkins. While some of the casting is less than successful (such as Reece Shearsmith as Patrick Troughton who pales in comparison with Bradley's Hartnell), on the whole the cast is strong and does an admirable job of bringing their real life counterparts to life.

The other admirable aspect of the film is its production values, especially its sets and costumes. For Doctor Who fans, part of the thrill of watching the film is its recreation of the long lost but familiar sets of the show's early years including the original TARDIS console room set which is recreated in splendid detail. There's also recreations of sets, props and costumes from a number of stories from the show's early years including the first Dalek story, the lost historical adventure Marco Polo, The Web Planet with its Menoptra and the Cybermen from their debut story The Tenth Planet. Outside of the elements and sets from the series, the film does a good job recreating its 1960 settings from the Hartnell home to the offices at BBC TV Centre. The latter of which is helped in its verisimilitude by actually filming at and inside the real TV Centre, being the last in a long line of productions filmed and recorded there. The latter fact, while sad, also seems fitting given how much of a tribute it plays to the designers and people who worked there on Who and other programs.

Indeed, An Adventure In Space And Time is very much a tribute. It's a tribute to the people like Verity Lambert, William Hartnell and Sydney Newman who are among many of the people who helped to launch what would become a worldwide phenomenon. It does so with much love and attention for detail that's clear throughout. It's also an impressive piece of docudrama that serves as an example of how to bring a sometimes complex story of real events and bring them to life on screen. What more can you ask of it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2017
Whoa! that was awesome! heartbreaking, honest and beautiful. I like how it didn't sugarcoat any of the truths that occurred during the production side of the show. script, casting and story was beautiful and inspiring. and thanks for giving us the very first episode of the show. buying this was a very good deal!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
I honestly didn’t know what I was buying or what to expect! I hadn’t even read the preview, but the cover and title looked good and I took a chance and bought it. WOW, Blew my Mind! It’s a recreation of the time and people who came up with and started the entire DOCTOR WHO phenomenon! It was done incredibly well and was extremely interesting as informative. Set back in the proper era.
Probably not something for the average ordinary fan! What I mean is I grew up with Doctor who from practically the beginning and because I have a more extensive viewing history knowledge of it, I could really appreciate the importance of this release.
The included first Episode visually was limited in it realism as today have evolved into, but the Storyline and writing didn’t disappoint me. It contain interesting bits about the Doctor’s quirky personality traits and how they came to be incorporated into and throughout all of the doctors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
An absolutely " Must See" for any die hard Dr Who fan. The beginnings with the BBC's first female producer Verity Lambert and her Boss Sydney Newman. As they pull together what would become a British TV Institution and now a world wide sensation. Waris Hussein recruited as the first director, who later went on to direct " Passage To India". William Hartnell convinced to take the role and his rise to popular Icon as The Doctor and his fall due to his ill health. I am sure no one at the time would have ever dreamed over a half a century on what they were struggling to piece together out of bits and bobs would become what it is today. Also included is the first Serial and the pilot episode that had to be reshot. So fun to watch now over a half century later in Hi Def with all the flubs and stumbles that were acceptable at the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This film was very thought out and had great acting by people to actually looked like their early 1960's counterparts (with the exception of the Second Doctor.) A lot of it was based on the book William Hartnell's granddaughter Jessica Carney published back in 1992 called Who's There. David Bradley is brilliant as Willian Hartnell.

The extras are excellent too. They include the first Doctor Who episode and a nod to the genius​ herself Delia Derbyshire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
Written by Dr. Who/Sherlock writer Mark Gattis as his personal love letter to his favourite series Doctor Who. An Adventure in Space and Time is touchingly written Drama documentary of the creation and early history of Doctor Who.
The performances by all involved are top notch and special mention should be given to David Bradley who sensitively plays the tetchy and difficult, William Hartnell.
Jessica Raines is also excellent as Britain's first female drama producer, Verity Lambert. Who has to deal with creating a new television series in a very male dominated BBC of the early 1960's.

The Blu ray disc in of the highest quality and has some good extra's including interviews with actors from the 1960's Doctor Who and even the inclusion of the very first Doctor Who story.
It's just a shame there are no commentary tracks either by the actors or the Writer and Director.

But it is a great production and is a credit to any Blu ray collection. I would recommend this to any one no matter if they like Doctor Who or not. It is just 90 minutes of quality drama recreating the Golden age of British Television.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse