Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on September 23, 2014
one of the weaker 7th doctor stories. best known for 3 things. the return of glitz, a bounty hunter introduced in the trial of a time lord, good comic relief. second, the final appearance of mel, played by bonnie langford. a wonderful perky actress, sadly reduced to just another screaming companion. she deserved a better exit. and finally, the debut of dorothy mcshane, better known as ace. sophie aldred became one of the best companions of the classic series, and here we get to see her at her start, still pretty rough around the edges, but you can see the chemistry with the professor right from the start. but a bad script, awful costumes, and one of the single dumbest cliffhangers of all time just drag this story down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2017
This story is OK, it gets way more crap than it deserves. It's important for completest because it introduces Ace. It's out of print, so beware of price gouging. I found a reasonable deal on Amazon. But if you can't find a good DVD deal, look for it on VHS. I got a good deal on Mark of the Rani. I want the complete DVD collection, but just having the episode to watch is more important to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
An classic Who story that pushes out Mel and brings in Ace! She was one of my favourite companions because she's a personality that wasn't too clever or sexy or helpless. She,at first, has a chip on her shoulder but mellows with age. The frosty villain and with a friend like Glitts, the Doctor is lucky to survive this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2012
Dragonfire by itself is an average story in the Doctor Who range. It sees the return of Sabolm Glitz from Trial of a Timelord, and also introduces us to Ace a new companion for Doctor #7. While there are some actors who could have stayed home in this tale, there are some strong performances from Edward Peel, Patricia Quinn and Tony Selby. Bonnie Langford has her strongest story yet with the Seventh Doctor,and Sophie Aldred puts in a good performance for the moody Ace. The story does lack in some ways with continuity, and the worst cliffhanger in Doctor Who may be seen at the end of episode 1. However the final episode at least projects some feeling and horror when Kane does away with Belaz. The extras are intriguing, and give some insight into how the story came about. The screen test for McCoy was quite entertaining, and it was interesting to see him with Janet Fielding (aka Tegan). I give this DVD 3 out of 5 stars overall. Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
The presentation of this Doctor really made a step up in special effects. After the first episode, however, the series began to cater to the "punk" crowd and the writing became so weird it actually killed the series for a long time. For those of us die hard Dr.Who fans this does provide a "fix".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2015
I liked the McCoy doctor and if you do too you will like this adventure, first intro for Ace who turns out to be a great character and the outro for Mel which was kind of ehhh...either way a good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2017
Enjoyed the storyline. Great addition to my library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
Once again - Sylvester McCoy with good story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
This is great. One of my favorites. Doctor meets one my favorite companions, Sophie Aldred. She's awsome. She likes to blow stuff up with her homemade Nitro 9. Sylvester McCoy is a good Doctor. Serious and comic well balanced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
AAA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse