Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Ritter Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
26
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$18.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on December 26, 2013
Having been a "Whovian" for more than a few decades, it's SO refreshing to (finally) see actual soundtracks from the series.
And THIS one has to rank right up there with some of the most thrilling and poignant orchestral collections from the "new" series of Doctor Who specials.
Murray Gold does an exemplary job of conveying the content of these shows, with the stellar selection VALE DECEM being a remarkable example of what a proper soundtrack should consist of.
I would highly recommend this to ANY Doctor Who fan, or even to those who just appreciate music on the order of a Jerry Goldsmith, John Williams, or James Horner.
And you don't even need to be a graduate of one of the three Galliferyian Colleges to enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2016
You know a show is great when you can listen to the music pieces on their own. I've not been inclined to purchase the background music for any other TV shows that I've watched, but I've been acquiring these. The recordings are good quality and are great to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2016
Just as described. Brand new, and like the others, comes with a booklet full of descriptions by Murray Gold. My favorite song is Ruined Childhood, which gives more emotional insight to the real Master than most of his themes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2011
What can I say? If you like Murray Gold's music in Doctor Who so far, you should like this as well. And as you know if you've seen the specials, there are some stellar pieces, including several variations on "Vale", the mournful theme that plays as the Doctor finally approaches his death. While it's nice that the albums are now two discs, it does also seem a bit overkill for what ammounts to only five episodes, meaning that a number of the tracks will be less than memorable. Still, well worth the purchase if you have enjoyed the music thus far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2016
Doctor Who is adventure, mystery, magic, and great musical scores and under Murray Gold's watch the music has been amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
I love the musical score to all the Dr Who series. It makes me feel like I'm experiencing the stories all over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2015
If you're a fan of the reboot of Doctor Who, you can probably hum most of the themes Murray Gold has created for the series. His music is definitely worth listening to, even if you aren't a Whovian.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
One day you meet the Doctor. And of course, it’s the best day ever. It’s just the best day of your life. Because...because, he’s brilliant, and he’s funny, and mad, and best of all...really needs you.
Relive the final adventures of the 10th Doctor and while eating your fish fingers and custard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
The 2008-2009 Specials have some of the best music in the whole history of the show, IMO. Love listening to it in the car while driving, while reliving the scenes from the episodes in my mind. Every Time I listen to Vale Decem a little part of me dies. Ten is my Doctor. Murray Gold at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2013
This music takes me back to the same emotions I felt watching Doctor Who. The music by Murray Gold is honestly awe inspiring. Listening to "Vale Decem" which played before Ten regenerated, made me realize just how much impact the music has, and how the show would be lost without Murray Golds talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse