Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Nina Nesbitt PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
80
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$16.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 69 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 80 reviews
on October 20, 2015
don't blink in this show for a second or you shall miss something crucial... wow this season, well thought out, all the episodes practically weave together in a large tapestry of good television, and the acting/writing are phenomenal! matt smith is a worthy follow up as the doctor, and the ponds are great companions, and are brilliant together. also go river song!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
I didn't like the fact that it had no tracking number. It (as you can imagine) made it difficult to track. I didn't know where it was coming from & kinda got a bit worried. But after e-mailing the seller he helped along the way. Although he didn't have the tracking number he assured me it would get to me soon. It came yesterday & I am very happy with it. I would definitely buy from this seller again. I just hope he uses tracking numbers in the future...I love the DVD. It's the 11th doctor's best season.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
This was a gift for my wife, a longtime Doctor Who fan who has earlier series on DVD. Both she and I noted that the picture quality of this set was poorer than the previous sets. It's almost as if the makers intentionally downgraded the DVD quality in order to encourage purchases of Blu-ray discs. Other than this picture quality issue, we're happy with the set, and of course the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
Series Six of Doctor Who seemed to be all filler because of the way the season started. The Doctor's destiny at Lake Silencio--which we knew within the first 15 minutes of the season--seemed to turn the whole of the season into just waiting to see how The Eleventh Iteration of the TimeLord got out of this ultimate fixed point in time. Which sort of rendered all other issues within the season...well, moot. Even the Big Reveal of the first half of the season--that River Song is Melody Pond, the daughter of Amy Pond and Rory Williams--seemed minor. That is, until one remembers that in this continuity, it is the Tenth Doctor who loses River--so the "out" becomes reasonable.
Such seems the nature of this set, and it almost makes one want to watch "The Wedding Of River Song"--the last episode of the season--FIRST. But one cannot. "Let's Kill Hitler" explains the evolvement of Melody Pond into River, and introduces us to the Tesselecta, the humanoid shape-shifting robots that contain miniaturized human crews. "Night Terrors" and "The Girl Who Waited" are both looks into the three-person dynamic of The Doctor, Amy and Rory; with "The Girl..." being a revealing look at the depth and length of Amy's feelings for Rory (Also, sort of portending the first part of Series Seven...). "The God Complex" ultimately reveals how much Eleven really cares for both Amy and Rory; pushing them away and back into "normal" life at the end of the episode. "Closing Time" is fun; bringing back James Corden as Craig Owens (From Series 5's "The Visitor") along with a visit from The Cybermen.
Which brings us to "The Wedding Of River Song", one of those wild, season-ending mismashes we've gotten used to in the Davies/Moffatt Era of Doctor Who; where time seems dyfunctional (In this case, occuring all at once) due to the Doctor NOT being killed at Lake Silencio. Again, this is an episode that ties up another longstanding question--in this case, it's the question of why River Song was in interplanetary prison (Murder) and who she murdered--as it turns out, The Doctor.
In the era of The Eleventh Doctor, we have gotten used to the crowded TARDIS. Matt Smith, Karen Gillan, and Arthur Darvill...they make this work. If we look at The Doctor and Amy through the eyes of the "traditional" relationship between The Doctor and his Companion...well, we can't. Eleven sees Amy and Rory as a unit, so in that way Moffatt writes Smith clearly not as romantic as Davies made Tennant (or Chris Eccelston) with Billie Piper. This is where the magical work of Alex Kingston comes into play. From the introduction of River in "Silence In The Library", Kingston has always been able to give an extra page to River's story in every appearance with the page being perfectly...sensible. Plus, her appeal--both on the eyes and in character to Smith--comes across magnificently.
Overall, the back half of Series Six seemed for the most part to be a set of one-offs in preparation for the Season Finale...and setting up the first part of Series Seven. The flow of the season seems disrupted in getting the Series in two parts...but it does not take away from the enjoyment of watching Matt, Karen, Arthur and Alex in this whole set.
Highly Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
Always great !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
Really, sometimes (or most of the time) when I watch any of the Doctor's stories, I'm not sure what is going on more than half of the time. But it's like a roller coaster ride. Don't think about it--just strap yourself in and go with it. Always fun, even if not always believable. The Brits seem to always have the upper hand in entertaining us. Can't beat any of these DVDs. I suggest you buy all of the ones available for a fun ride.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2012
Not only is this the greatest sci-fi show on television. But I think this is the best season. We finally learn more about my favorite character, River Song an her complicated history with the Doctor.

I personally am too impatient to wait for the entire season (the call each season a "series" in the UK unlike here in the US)to come out on DVD so I did buy The Sixth Series in both parts, but at this point it might be worth just buying the whole season at once.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
Matt Smith is amazing.brings a childlike wonder to the character,while still incorporating all the good things we like about all the doctors
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Excellent quality...excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
Part of the best season of the Matt Smith era of Doctor Who.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse