BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno


on April 27, 2013
One can't help but compare this series to the David Lean Hollywood epic...but it is an unfair comparison. They are two completely different products. Without taking anything away from this 11 part series, it makes Lean's effort all the more admirable considering he had to to condense a big Russian novel into 3 1/2 hours of mass marketable entertainment.

But back to this Russian production: If you have always wanted to read Pasternak's book, but had a hard time getting into it, or want a crash history course in the Russian Revolution and its aftermath, or just want to watch a top notch serialized classic novel beautifully filmed and acted (comparable in overall quality to BBC classics like I,Claudius and Upstairs/Downstairs),then get this DVD. It will transport you to 1905-1929 Russia.

BTW: We had no problem with the formatting or subtitles.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2011
I sat there and watched this product of modern Russian TV/cinema-photography 'gob-smacked' at the divergence from the much lauded David Lean 1960's production. The two are 'poles apart' and the differences are so great that a casual viewer might not recognise them as the same story. The more recent offering featuring an improbable Keira Knightley is closer to the original than Lean's attempt but nothing compared this version.
To get some idea of what I mean perhaps you might contrast Joe Cocker's version of 'With A Little Help From My Friends' with the original version recorded by the Beatles.
If you are interested in Pasternak's original story, in Russian history, the 1917 Revolution and its aftermath, or just want to see a fantastic mini-series with some breathtaking Russian backdrops, then this is a must see.
Acting, by the well known Central Partnership cast, is superb and the sets are incredibly detailed, at least as good as anything the BBC produced in its glory days.
Buy it ------------------ and have the pleasure of writing your own review.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
I don't speak Russian, yet I still understand the story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
Its a great movie and more accurate to the author's book. Very different than the Omar Shariff"s movie production. I appreciate the service and speedy delivery. It was intact without damage and of good quality. Thank you for your service and low price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2009
This is the by far the best version of Zhivago. Notably, it effectively communicates the deep Christian spirituality present in the book and character of Zhivago which gives the story such meaning and gravitas, and which is ABSENT from the previous two productions. The casting is perfect; the length of the series allows one to truly appreciate the complexity of characters who are connected through this web of life and destiny. I thoroughly enjoyed this series and the Russian language adds a whole new realistic dimension to it.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
I am not going to review the movie itself, just the DVD and it's quality.

The DVD video is in 4:3 frame, widescreen 16:9 letterboxed.
The video seems quite compressed. It's a double sided single layered DVD instead of dual-layer double-sided.
Still perfectly watchable though.
The case says 4:3. My Blu-ray player reads it as 16:9; it automatically crops the video for some reason.
On my PC it shows as a 4:3, so I manually crop it to 16:9 in VLC.
Subtitles are near perfect, with the rare text vanishing too quick to read since they talk too fast.
review image
33 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2016
I liked this production! I thought the story line was very well defined and the characters had more depth. Highly recommend this miniseries!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2015
Love it!... Wish I could find " gone with the wind"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2016
Great series which is more in tune with the novel. Can't recommend highly enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
This is the Russian version of this classic and is worthwhile to own in your collection in addition to the American version which treats certain episodes somewhat differently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

BRATYA KARAMAZOVY / THE BROTHERS KARAMAZOV 12 EPISODES 2 DVD NTSC...
$14.00

Need customer service? Click here