Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Doing Business In China: How to Profit in the World's Fastest Growing Market
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 1, 2007
This is a must-read for any Western business people venturing into China.

As a Chinese living in US for 10 years, I am amazed by Ted's understanding and appreciation of some of the subtleties of the Chinese culture, e.g. reluctance to say no, huge concern for one's face or mianzi. His treatment of the expat life in China is objective and comprehensive. He also paints an excellent picture of what aspects of China are morphing to be more western-like. His opinions and advices are specific, and backed by facts and his 18-year first-hand experience on the ground. For the thorniest issue, corruption, Ted gave a sound advice of never getting your foot wet in it.

Ted's writing is easy to read. The summaries at the end of each chapter are very useful references.

One thing Ted did not give enough coverage, in my opinion, is the implication of the strong nationalism sentiment reinforced by the Chinese Community Party through the schooling system as well as the media. A lot of Chinese people view the Western powers as greedy and unfriendly because of the humiliation and exploitation suffered by the Chinese in late 1800's and early 1900's. That sentiment is at the root of a lot of the sensitivities.

Another thing I did not quite like is that the catchy subtitle is somewhat misleading. A more accurate subtitle would be "What you have to know before and during doing business in China". But that is a petty flaw in a no-nonsense book.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 8, 2013
The book is a good primer for anyone looking to conduct business in China. The book itself is getting dated, and the Chinese are becoming more Westernized in their business interactions. However, it cannot be understated that any attempt by a Western business executive to show respect for the traditions, history and culture of China will go a long way to building guangxi. While many of the customs and the banqueting are going to vary in intensity as you move out of Shanghai, Shenzhen and Beijing to the other cities that are less Westernized, the fundamental cultural elements of respect, face, influence and dealing with local influencers are foundationally universal.

A worthwhile read before heading to China on business.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2008
Ted Plafker, author of Doing Business in China: How to Profit in the World's Fastest Growing Market, should know what he's talking about as he personally invested 18 years of his life living in Beijing as a business journalist for The Economist. And he does! Plafker's wonderful book is an excellent guidebook that is filled with insightful anecdotes and very useful summaries at the end of each chapter.

Three sections that readers will find especially helpful are: 1. Pinpointing the Top Emerging Markets; 2. Laws, Rules & Regulations; and, 3. Understanding Cultural Differences.

As a consultant on doing business in Asia, I stress the importance of understanding a country's law and culture before making investment decisions. The author rightfully cautions his readers that it is not especially profitable to label China as a communist country and proceed from there as the Chinese market economy is more socialist than it is communist. (On my visits to China, I `ve found it more capitalist than many Americans might imagine.)

He advises that for a company to thrive in China it must re-tool its product to fit the needs of the Chinese consumers. I have found this to be especially true for India also.

Ted was in Los Angeles in the Spring 2008 and I had the privilege of meeting him in person.

By Gunjan Bagla
Author of Doing Business in 21st Century India
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2008
I am a business strategy consultant with a reasonable amount of China experience. I have to say that this book provides the best balance of concise presentation, expert insight, and enjoyable narrative of any China business book I've read.

Too many books on the subject of doing business in China are written by quasi-experts who comment on broad trends that are either obvious or false conventional wisdom. Mr. Plafker's book shows a level of China business acumen that can only be garnered from years of experience. The anecdotes are at once entertaining and insightful. I have successfully used a number of the stories when consulting for clients. I had a recent client engaged a one-man consultancy offering "expertise" in China market entry. The client was shocked when I was able to guess (based on Mr Plafker's anecdotes) that the expert had (1) boasted about the number of visits he had made to China and (2) gone on at length on the need to hand over business cards with two hands. The consultant turned out to have little true expertise, and I established my credibility.

This book is a must-read. For those that are new to business in China, it is a more nuanced and insightful primer than any other you will find. For old China hands, the book is a useful tool to help you synthesize the body wisdom that you have accumulated.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
Fairly basic information on business in China, including legal business structures, cultural tips, how to use guanxi, etc. A good book for someone who has never worked and/or traveled to China. China CEO and One Billion Customers are also good with more in depth real-world examples of the challenges of doing business in China.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2008
This is a great book for those doing business in China. Not only does this book cover social norms and behaviors, but gives background information on why these social norms exist. This leads to a broader understanding of the Chinese and makes for an interesting read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
A good read for anyone looking to get a brief informal overview of challenges facing international relations with China. Don't just read the book to get the picture, go visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2010
Ted Plafker's "Doing Business in China" is an excellent guide for anyone who needs information regarding Chinese business behavior and the factors influencing it.

The book is well written and informative - not too analytical but facts are provided through "easy to approach" narration which makes the book a fun read.
The reader can get the feeling that the author knows what he is writing about and he manages to convey his experiences and knowledge in an interesting way. The reader is given a good perspective of all the concepts dealt with. This guide offers answers to the question: why? For example, why is it so difficult for a Chinese person to say: "No"?

I recommend this book to business orientated people dealing with China or Chinese culture. It really provides any reader with inside information and good advice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
good book for general info but it is not for educational academic purpose.This is opinion not research paper and today is very outdated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
From the content, book condition to delivery time, item price, I feel that all as good as or even better than i expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse