Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.55
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Don Giovanni Original recording remastered

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, January 10, 2006
"Please retry"
$130.59 $29.96

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sinfonia/Overture - Chor Der Wiener Staatsoper
  2. Notte E Giorno Faticar - Otto Edelmann
  3. Non Sperar, Se Non M'uccidi - Otto Edelmann
  4. Lasciala, Indegno!...Leporello, Ove Sei? - Various Artists
  5. Ma Qual Mai S'offre, Oh Dei - Anton Dermota
  6. Fuggi, Crudele, Fuggi! - Anton Dermota
  7. Orsu, Spicciati Presto - Otto Edelmann
  8. Ah, Chi Mi Dice Mai - Otto Edelmann
  9. Chi E La? - Otto Edelmann
  10. Madaminia, Il Catalogo E Questo - Otto Edelmann
  11. Giovinette, Che Fate All'amore - Walter Berry
  12. Manco Male E Partita - Various Artists
  13. Ho Capito, Signor, Si! - Walter Berry
  14. Alfin Siam Liberati - Cesare Siepi
  15. La Ci Darem la Mano - Cesare Siepi
  16. Fermati, Scellerato!...Ah! Fuggi Il Traditor! - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
  17. Mi Par Ch'oggi Il Demonio Si Diverta...Non ti Fidar, O Misera...Povera Sventurata! - Various Artists
  18. Don Ottavio, Son Morta! - Anton Dermota
  19. Or Sai Chi L'onore - Elisabeth Grummer
  20. Come Mai Creder Deggio...Dalla Sua Pace - Anton Dermota
  21. Io Deggio Ad Ogni Patto - Otto Edelmann
  22. Finch'han Dal Vino - Cesare Siepi

Disc: 2

  1. Massetto, Senti Un Po'! - Walter Berry
  2. Batti, Batti, O Bell Masetto...Guarda Un Po' - Walter Berry
  3. Presto, Presto, Pria Ch'ei Venga - Various Artists
  4. Tra Quest'arbori Celata - Walter Berry
  5. Bisogna Aver Coraggio - Various Artists
  6. Protegga Il Giusto Cielo - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
  7. Riposate, Vezzose Raggzze - Various Artists
  8. Venite Pur Avanti - Various Artists
  9. Ecco Il Birbo Che T'ha Offesa! - Various Artists
  10. Trema, Trema, O Scellerato! - Various Artists
  11. Eh Via, Buffone, Non Mi Seccar...Leporello!...Signore? - Otto Edelmann
  12. Ah Taci, Ingisusto Core! - Otto Edelmann
  13. Amico, Che Ti Par? - Otto Edelmann
  14. Deh, Vieni Alla Finestra...V'e Gente Alla Finestra - Walter Berry
  15. Meta Di Voi Qua Vadano - Cesare Siepi
  16. Zitto, Iascia Ch'io Senta! - Walter Berry
  17. Verdrai, Carino, Se Sei Buonino - Erna Berger
  18. Di Molte Faci Il Lume...Sola, Sola In Buio Loco - Various Artists
  19. Mille torbidi Pensieri - Various Artists
  20. Dunque Quello Sei Tu...Ah, Pieta, Signori Miei!...Ferma, Perfido, Ferma! - Various Artists
  21. Il Mio Tesoro Intanto - Anton Dermota
  22. In Quali Eccessi, O Numi - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
  23. Mi Tradi Quell'alama Ingrata - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf

Disc: 3

  1. Ah, Ah, Ah, Questa E Buona - Otto Edelmann
  2. O Statua Gentilissima - Otto Edelmann
  3. Calmatevi, Idol Mio! - Anton Dermota
  4. Crudele? Ah No, Mio Bene! - Elisabeth Grummer
  5. Non Mi Dir, Bell'idol Mio - Elisabeth Grummer
  6. Gia La Mensa E Preparata - Otto Edelmann
  7. L'ultima Prova Dell'amor Mio - Elisabeth Schwarzkopf
  8. Che Grido E Questo Mai - Otto Edelmann
  9. Don Giovanni A Cenar Teco - Otto Edelmann
  10. Da Qual Tremore Insolito - Otto Edelmann
  11. Ah, Dov'e Il Perfido? - Various Artists
  12. Or Che tutti, O Mio Tesoro - Various Artists
  13. Questo E Il Fin - Various Artists

Product Details

  • Performer: Cesare Siepi, Elisabeth Schwarzkopf, Elisabeth Grummer, Otto Edelmann, Anton Dermota, et al.
  • Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
  • Conductor: Wilhelm Furtwangler
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Audio CD (January 10, 2006)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B000BNV8E8
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #290,494 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

"Don Giovanni" is a very great, but difficult opera. It requires a charasmatic bass-baritone (or bass) for the title role, another equally great bass-baritone with a comic flair (for Leporello), two great leading sopranos for two very difficult roles (Donnas Anna and Elvira), a flawless lyric tenor (Don Octavio), and a pair of appealing younger singers for Zerlina and Massetto. It also doesn't hurt to have a sonorous Commandatore (a real bass)who can terrify Don Giovanni and take him to down at the end of the opera. This is an opera better left alone than presented even decently. The 1950's was a great time for Mozart singers, and many of them are right here on this live recording from Vienna in 1954. Cesere Siepi made the role of Don Giovanni his own and performed it many times (as well as on a commercial London recording which still is available). Elisabeth Schwarzkopf owned the role of Donna Elvira, and, in fact, can be heard on the EMI commercial recording made five years after this performance took place. Elisabeth Grummer was primarily a singer of the lighter Wagnerian roles, but her Donna Anna has power and passion. All of the other artists - Otto Edelmann, Erna Berger, Anton Dermota, Walter Berry, etc, were well known for their Mozart performances all through the decade. They mesh beautifully together in this performance, all under the exciting leadership of the legendary Wilhelm Furtwangler, who really finds the dramatic elements in this piece --- at the price of perhaps less emphasis on the lighter moments. Still, this is a towering performance, in excellent monophonic sound (yes, there are some stage noises, but no distortion or peaking). EMI has made it available at an incredibly low and wonderful price, and I can't see how anyone who loves Mozart would want to be without it under any circumstances. This is a great companion to the EMI Giulini set, and quite probably the superior of all the others.

It's a winner!
2 Comments 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
I have to agree with the previous reviewer that as an operatic production, this recording is superb. The only downside is the sound quality, which probably could not be helped; one must simply take it on faith that EMI did their best to re-master the original tapes (though I feel that they may have overdone the bass parts in some places). The singers are superb, and you can hear the stage effects, which gives the recording a charming immediacy. Anyone who has only heard only modern recordings of the opera, which emphasize "period" instruments and tempos, should be warned that Furtwängler did not feel obliged to stick to any one particular set of tempi - he varies the speed quite a bit, even within particular numbers, but this reflects an overall aesthetic conception of the opera which he formed over many years (this recording was made in 1954, the year of his death) and which fits together perfectly in its own way.
Moreover, like the previous reviewer, I am glad that EMI is releasing this set for a reasonable price, and it is a good companion to the classic Giulini set (although I would recommend other versions of the opera as well - even some of the "period" interpretations).
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category