Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Dot Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on March 31, 2017
One of my favorite modern films! Focuses a lot on modern dating issues and preconceptions men have of women. Really enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2014
Overall, this was not the movie I would see in theaters, so I didn't. However I would not recommend paying for it on Amazon instant video either, wait till it is free to view if you are a Prime member. I am a Joseph Gordon-Levitt fan, and he does a decent job with the script, directing, and acting. However I felt the Jersey persona he adapted in his role was too cliched. It was like he just watched 2 seasons of the Jersey Shore to get into character, the same can be said for Scarlett Johansen. Overall the message and motifs were enjoyable and it was neat to watch Jon wake up and change for the better. Tony Danza played an entertaining supporting role as well. A lot of the outcomes to the plot and subplots were predictable, but still enjoyable. Each character had a sense of humanity which is nice, despite their overplayed Jerz personas. Not a lot of replay value, but decent. "C+/B-".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2015
It's a good movie with a really good message. You have to pay attention or else you will miss it. I like how it compared the fantasy porn gives vs. the fantasy romance movies give. In the end they're both fantasies. But the reality is that you and the one love have to make it work. So the movie did a good job at delivering that message and letting it be known that what you see in porn is just fantasy and what you see in romance movies is just fantasy... for the most part. I mean there are some couples out there happily married that could probably put porn to shame or put a romance movie to shame.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2016
Hilarious if you're down with that type of sense of raunchy sense of humor. JGL did a great job of turning this into a nice love story portraying it's not what's on the outside, but what's on the inside of a person that's important which was a nice change for his character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2017
This is a great movie with a good storyline and some great acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2014
My goodness, this is an amazing, funny, shocking, tender and ultimately beautiful film about what life is like right now with all the information we as a society have at our finger tips. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is a very talented man--not only as actor/writer/director, but also as a sensitive human being. The screenplay is brilliant and real, funny and moving; and the acting is so right-on. I love both Moore and Johansson--they were perfect. Don't miss this and don't let the language and sex scenes stop you from watching this movie to the very end. Absolutely stunning work.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 22, 2014
I've look forward to seeing this movie for a very long time. I've been a fan of JGL since Third Rock from the Sun, and his HitRecord on TV is a very good show. I enjoyed and understood the story line but for me, it was a bit limited for a film. I was impressed by the very limited use of location's and really never noticed how the entire movie took in such few "places". Well, at least until I sat down and thought about this review. Tony Danza spent the entire movie sitting in a chair at the dining room table.. and I guess stood up a few times.
Overall I'd say.. Joseph, I'd watch it again and even buy it... but only to show support what you will do in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I almost didn't finish this movie, it got to be a bit much and boring. I ended up getting up and walking away from it for about an hour then sat back down and finished it, and I'm glad I did. I really liked the ending.

Not really a date movie, but a good message I suppose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 4, 2014
Here is a young man addicted to porn and actually prefers it to real life experiences. After all, fantasy has no limitations. He meets a woman who changes his priorities but the story takes a surprise twist near the end that you could not anticipate. The ending makes the whole movie worthwhile. The front of the movie subtly shows how shallow and disturbing porn addictions can be and especially how it had degraded his view of women to mere sexual objects. His discovery of learning that he could love a woman for reasons beyond sex surprises him and for the first time in the entire move, he becomes likeable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I only gave it 2 stars because the ingredients for a really good movie were there; great cast & storyline but, the movie still felt a little flat. Im not a prude but I would have gladly had the director edit out the porn montages for a bit more background of the main characters. Had there not been so many porn clips I would have recommended this movie about unrealistic expectations to other people but it'd be awkward for me to have them think "Huh, this is what she watches...hmmmm?". The point could have been made without the distracting gratuitous skin shots. Seemed like it was just about to pull together & then it was over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here