Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Listen to any song, anywhere with Amazon Music Unlimited. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Trade in your item
Get up to a $0.25
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Donizetti: Lucia di Lammermoor

Audio CD

4.3 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, September 8, 1998
"Please retry"
$17.99 $2.91

Editorial Reviews

Product description

Donizetti: Lucia di Lammermoor

Lucia has not exactly been neglected on records, and Andrea Rost is not as dramatic a Lucia as Maria Callas nor as vocally opulent as Joan Sutherland. Still, she is vocally satisfactory and dramatically effective, and she is supported by a first-class cast, notably the elegant Bruce Ford as her doomed lover Edgardo and Anthony Michaels- Moore as her tormented, manipulative brother Enrico. The primary attractions of this edition, however, are the period-instrument orchestra and Sir Charles Mackerras, who not only conducts a compelling treatment but has also taken the trouble of consulting and following Donizetti's original manuscript, scraping away a century and a half of "performing tradition"--i.e., changes introduced by singers more interested in showing off their voices than in following the composer's wishes. This is closer to the original inspiration than any previous recording, and more structurally coherent if less vocally spectacular. The recorded sound is very impressive. --Joe McLellan

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. No. 1 - Preludio e coro d'introduzione (Ryland Davies)
  2. "Percorrete le spiagge vicine" (Ryland Davies, Coro)
  3. Scena II, "Tu sei turbato!" (Ryland Davies, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Alastair Miles)
  4. "Cruda, funesta smania" (Ryland Davies, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Alastair Miles)
  5. Scena III, "Il tuo dubbio...Come vinti da stanchezza" (Ryland Davies, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Alastair Miles, Coro di cacciatori)
  6. "La pietade in suo favore" (Anthony Michaels-Moore, Coro, Alastair Miles)
  7. Scena IV, Introduction and Recit. "Ancor non giunse!" (Andrea Rost, Louise Winter)
  8. "Regnava nel silenzio" (Andrea Rost, Louise Winter)
  9. "Quando rapito in estasi" (Andrea Rost, Louise Winter)
  10. "Egli s'avanza" (Andrea Rost, Bruce Ford, Louise Winter)
  11. "Sulla tomba che rinserra" (Andrea Rost, Bruce Ford)
  12. "Qui, di sposa eterna fede" (Andrea Rost, Bruce Ford)
  13. "Ah! Verranno a te sull'aure" (Andrea Rost, Bruce Ford)
  14. Scena I, "Lucia fra poco a te verrà" (Ryland Davies, Anthony Michaels-Moore)
  15. Scena II, "Appressati, Lucia...Il pallor, funesto" (Anthony Michaels-Moore, Andrea Rost)
  16. "Soffriva nel pianto" (Anthony Michaels-Moore, Andrea Rost)
  17. "Se tradirmi tu potrai" (Anthony Michaels-Moore, Andrea Rost)
  18. Scena III, "Ebben? Di tua speranza" (Andrea Rost, Alastair Miles)
  19. "Ah! cedi, cedi, o più sciagure" (Andrea Rost, Alastair Miles)
  20. "Al ben de' tuoi, qual vittima" (Andrea Rost, Alastair Miles)

Disc: 2

  1. Scena IV, "Per te d'immenso giubilo" No.8 - Finale II - Coro e Cavatina (Coro, Paul Charles Clarke)
  2. "Dov'è Lucia?" - "Qui giungere or la vedrem..." No. 9 - Finale II - Scena e Quartetto (Paul Charles Clarke, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Coro)
  3. Scena V, "Piange la madre estinta" (Anthony Michaels-Moore, Paul Charles Clarke, Andrea Rost, Alastair Miles, Louise Winter, Coro, Bruce Ford)
  4. "Chi mi frena in tal momento" - "Chi raffrena il mio furore" (Bruce Ford, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Andrea Rost, Alastair Miles, Paul C. Clarke, Louise Winter, Coro)
  5. "T'allontona, sciagurato" No. 10 - Seguito e Strett del Finale II (Paul Charles Clarke, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Bruce Ford, Coro, Alastair Miles, Andrea Rost)
  6. "Esci, fuggi, il furor" (Paul Charles Clarke, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Alastair Miles, Coro, Bruce Ford, Andrea Rost, Louise Winter)
  7. Scena I, "Orrida è questa notte" Parte Seconda (Atto Secondo)/No. 11 - Uragano, Scena e Duetto (Bruce Ford, Anthony Michaels-Moore)
  8. Scena II, "Asthon! Fra queste mura" (Bruce Ford, Anthony Michaels-Moore)
  9. "Ah! O sole, più ratto" (Bruce Ford, Anthony Michaels-Moore)
  10. Scena III, "D'immenso giubilo" No. 12 - Coro (Coro)
  11. Scena IV, "Ah! cessate quel contento" No. 13 - Gran Scena con Cori (Alastair Miles, Coro)
  12. Scena V, No. 14 (Scena ed Aria): "Oh giusto cielo!" - Sir Charles Mackerras
  13. "Ohimè! sorge il tremendo fantasma" (Andrea Rost)
  14. "Ardon gl'incensi..." (Andrea Rost, Ryland Davies, Alastair Miles, Coro)
  15. Scena VI, "S'avanza Enrico!" (Alastair Miles, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Coro, Andrea Rost)
  16. "Spargi d'amaro pianto" (Alastair Miles, Anthony Michaels-Moore, Coro, Andrea Rost)
  17. Scena (Recitativo) "Si tragga altrove" (Anthony Michaels-Moore, Alastair Miles, Ryland Davies)
  18. Scena VII, "Tombe degli avi miei" No. 15 - Aria Finale (Bruce Ford)
  19. "Fra poco a me ricovero" (Bruce Ford)
  20. Scena VIII, "Oh meschina!" (Coro, Bruce Ford, Alastair Miles)
  21. "Tu che a Dio spiegasti l'ali" (Coro, Bruce Ford, Alastair Miles)

Product details

  • Performer: Anthony Michaels-Moore
  • Orchestra: The Hanover Band
  • Conductor: Sir Charles Mackerras
  • Composer: Gaetano Donizetti
  • Audio CD (September 8, 1998)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Sony Classical
  • Run Time: 137 minutes
  • ASIN: B00000AG7G
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 12 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #368,254 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on March 22, 2004
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2003
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2003
Format: Audio CD
33 comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Look for similar items by category

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: donizetti operas, donizetti opera