Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno



Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(2 star). See all 588 reviews
on February 14, 2018
Not that Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2014
Be very careful before purchasing this title. There have been a number (maybe 3 or 4 at last count) of different editions of this film released in the last few years all with varying amounts of extras.I purchased this edition, being the first in BLU RAY medium believing that, as described, it contained the extras featured on recent DVD editions particularly Mike Newell the directors' fine audio commentary, only to find it is an economy edition with NO EXTRAS at all.If you want the extras associated with this title DO NOT purchase this BLU RAY edition,instead buy the DVD "special edition" issue still widely available.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 13, 2015
Quality is awful. Picture freezes & fractures. Would have returned it, but misplaced the receipt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 3, 2015
overrated, just because some famous actors. Everybody is raving about it but they are a bunch of brainwashed idiots. They only love it because of the actors, which can make any gangster movie interesting. This movie is so boring and anticlimactic. Al Pacino and Johnny Depp drag it out of the bin of uninspired, mediocre movies with their natural acting talents. To rate it a 4 or 5 is simply stupid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 31, 2016
Eh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2011
"Donnie Brasco" is a crime drama based upon a true story; an undercover agent infiltrates the mafia and becomes friends with a hit man. This 1997 movie stars Anne Heche, James Russo, Rocco Sisto, Brian Tarantina, Robert Miano, Zeljko Ivanek, Bruno Kirby, Michael Madsen, Johnny Depp, and Al Pacino. It is rated R for the language, and for the violence - but not because of nudity. I've seen more nudity on TV commercials.
Basically, the story is more about keeping secrets and betrayal - which have definitive consequences on the mafia side of the street. I bought the extended cut version so I could get more meat out of the viewing. All I got was tripe.
For all the star power this movie has, it fell short. If Hollywood makes another movie like this and it gets rave reviews as being all that and a bag of potato chips oh snap, then I won't trust any movie critic I don't know personally because somebody was bought off who said this was great. There is no feel for this being a drama about the mafia underworld, and the violence could be cut out by removing five minutes of the show. It's two hours and seven minutes long. It could stand five minutes taken out. Then dub in politically correct and acceptable language like they do when it goes on TV, and this movie could be rated PG. "Donnie Brasco" has all the excitement of a trip to the grocery store for a gallon of milk and a pack of cigarettes. Al Pacino and Johnny Depp are two of my favorite leading men actors, but this movie isn't one of their better efforts. I just can't say I recommend this film and still respect myself. I was going to just for the laughs of knowing how upset somebody would get who decided to trust my recommendation. But I'll be honest - forget about it.
55 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2015
I love Pacino, but this movie was just to predictable, and moved very slowly. I t was big hit in its time, but now years later the movie just did not do it for me.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2013
long and slow and boring. any why would he want to give the gangster money to retire, what does he care? The Departed is newer and better.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 14, 2008
I did not realize there is such a difference in DVD's. I ordered the worng one and had to send it back.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 1999
What Special Agent Joe Pistone did in the late 70's - early 80's was extraordinary...he infiltrated the New York mob almost up to the point where he was "made" - An actual mobster.
What this movie does, unfortunately, isn't very extraordinary at all. In fact, for anyone who's even read a chapter of the book "Donnie Brasco" (which the movie is "based" upon), this movie is so disappointing that using the "Stop" button on your VCR gets very tempting.
Was I expecting such an excellent translation from book-to-movie? Not really. Six years is hard to condense into two hours of film. Instead, perhaps they should've made this into a mini-series on TV. That would have done the book justice.
However, what the viewer is left with is a highlight reel of the novel, glimpses into a mob world where no one trusts no one, no one wants to spend their own money, and everyone is looking for a break...either to get out or ahead.
This movie is forgettable. The scenes between Heche and Depp are nearly intolerable. They slice right into a picture that should have been devoted to portraying the sad, sorry face of mob life that most normal people never get to see - Lowly henchmen all eying each other, never quite knowing who will be next, and who it's going to come from.
Go to the library and read the book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse