Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animespring animespring animespring  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$11.30 - $500.00
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 228 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 266 reviews
on October 17, 2012
Doom 3: BFG Edition is a HD update of Doom 3, but also includes Resurrection of Evil, The Lost Mission, the original Doom and Doom 2. You get plenty of content for your money.

I'll briefly summarize the story: You play a marine sent to Mars for security and to find a missing scientist; unfortunately for you, a gateway to Hell is broken and the facility is overrunned by demons. It has cutscenes, and some chilling audio logs which are very well done and worth listening to.

First, the game still holds up. The graphics are even better than some modern games; obviously they can't compete with the best of this generation, but it can compete with some. The gameplay and framerate are mostly smooth, although the framerate drops briefly after an autosave or load screen. The gameplay is old-school and fun but it may not be for everyone. (I.e. No cover system, no regenerative health, no aiming down your sights) It wasn't a problem for me. Load screens are a little lengthy, by the way. The technical transition of Doom 3 was great, overall.

Doom 3 is a scary game. The intro when all hell breaks loose (literally) is amazing as you hear the chilling calls for help. Plenty of jump-out scares, as well. Even with the new mounted light, the game is still scary since the battery quickly depletes and doesn't completely light up the area. Since the monsters/demons spawn so quickly and randomly, you always have to look over your shoulder which adds to the tension. Conversely, since the monsters spawn so randomly and often, you're often involved in a lot of shooting which kills the atmosphere and tension at certain times.

Overall, I've really enjoyed Doom 3: BFG Edition; this is for the fans of story driven games with amazing atmosphere. If you haven't played Doom 3 yet, if you're a big fan of Doom, or if your just looking for something scary for the season, then I highly recommend this game. If you've been spoiled by modern shooters and just can't go back, then I'd recommend waiting for a price drop or sale.

Update 11/4/12:
I've completed the original Doom 3 campaign, the Resurrection of Evil campaign, and the Lost Mission. I did not find any significant technical issues, the campaigns are 100% playable. As for the multiplayer, the online community is not active (i.e. dead); I couldn't find any online games or players, so if you wanted to play online, this game is not for you.

Approximate Playtimes (based on saves before final boss fights) -
Doom 3: 9hrs
Resurrection of Evil: 3hrs 30 min
The Lost Mission: 2hrs
TOTAL: 14 hours and 30 minutes
44 comments| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
My actual rating is 3 and a half stars, but I rounded up to 4 stars because this set is such a great bargain. Doom and Doom II are way too dated and cheesy for me, although I thought they were somewhat cool back in the day. The "Resurrection of Evil" bonus is actually the best, followed by the main game second and the "Lost Missions" bonus third. ROE had the most inventive situations and was surprisingly different from the rest (where you also get the "Grabber" and the "Artifact" heart). The "Soul Cube" is a great instant-kill, auto-homing device, but obtained way too late in D3 (yet more fun to use in ROE and given much earlier). The LM levels were really more like the filler that was originally edited out, then added later. Although the way-too-slow BFG gets the most hype (and will kill you if you overcharge it), The Plasma Gun is the best overall weapon since it works well at all ranges, does a good amount of damage and is elegantly easy to use. The Super Shotgun is always a fun item (when you finally get it), but the standard shotgun pretty much requires you to stick the barrel in an enemy's chest to put them down quickly. I think this game series has, by far, the most wimpy pistol of any FPS and is really only useful for casually picking off low-level threats at a distance (but, unfortunately, not good against the weak spiders due to the firing rate being slightly too sluggish). The Grenades do not bounce around enough and you usually take quite a few bullets when building up arm energy to throw them. The Chainsaw is a bit difficult to use (and so in-your-face), but liked by the bloody gore fans and offers a change of pace when you only whip it out occasionally. I like the Machine Gun as it is pretty quiet, does not shake or ride up when firing and allows for pinpoint accurate shots. The Rocket Launcher is just a standard-issue copy of about every one you may have used in similar games. However, the CHAIN GUN is SOOO disappointing! For the furiously loud noise it makes, massive fire rate and (supposedly) high-powered ammo, it takes FOREVER to down even the medium-tough monsters (like the armored skeletons with their two-fisted homing rockets) - so forget about using it for the really hard-to-kill targets when they are close to you (even though a few other players claim it is highly effective - hmm). Doom 3 is well-known for being frantic gameplay, due to the ridiculous number of baddies that pop up to surprise you all over the place (which keeps things interesting), but overuse of teleportation by those pesky "Imps" (who throw the fireballs) gets overly repetitive after awhile. At least, you can clearly hear them coming and their destination is lit up by bright lightening effects so you can aim in their direction and often hit one as soon as it materializes (although they typically come in groups). Adding a mere sprinkling of lumbering Zombies, now and then, was a wise choice as well as placing them mainly in dark areas to make it a bit more challenging. There is actually a respectable variety of enemies, however the programmers did not mix them up nearly as much as they should have. Also, first-time players can easily get stuck in certain areas due to the fact that figuring out what to do next is not always a breeze and sometimes can lead you to dislike the silence of already cleared out hallways and leave you hoping to see another monster - anywhere. Overall, the modernized graphics are great (1000 times better than the first 2 Dooms) and the newer games of this set are quite fun to play, but way too many "Imps" (c'mon) and too many drawbacks (especially weaknesses) of too many weapons turns this into yet another grinder which lessens that special badass feeling you could have easily gotten with just some small programming adjustments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2016
Bought as a gift brother loved it. Awesome, fun, survival type game. Graphics great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
I don't l ike this game. I played the original game when we shot at pixels.
I am a DoomHead.
Doom set the standard.
However, the folks who run out of ideas use "Darkness" instead of "Skill" to make a new game. Then, they run and hide behind locked doors and ignore customer's comments. Well, I can tell you without fear or danger of being wrong. I left nothing behind so I have nothing to go back for. Doom 3 killed it for me. Poor pooor pooooor development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2015
I remember playing the very first dos doom on pc. lots of great childhood memories there. played this title on my wifes' pc while ago and absolutely loved it. they of course remastered it, but only the controls, not the gameplay, least nothing that I am disappointed on. its stayed true to the original and even has both doom1&2 plus the resurrection as well as bonus mission. pretty good deal. and i must say on my vizio tv with optimal res set on my 360 at 1360x768 it looks amazing! will definitely be playing this for quite some time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
This is a classic first person shooter, and luckily unlike the awful Fable remake this isn't a remade game, it's a solid port. Sadly however, it is similar to the Halo remake in that they left out the best part, the multiplayer. Doom 3 was always a single player game though so it didn't hurt much. It's exactly the same, except the weapon quick- switch is now useless and that hurts the game just a little, but there really isn't much bad here. The graphics are exactly the same so that's great because they still hold up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
My first real FPS was Wolfenstein followed quickly by the original Doom series. This port to the xbox was pretty much just as I remember from graphics, sound, gameplay, etc. My son didn't like the graphics because they are old style, but I remember when the reverse ray casting and sprites were cutting edge. This really took me back and I love just running around and shooting things without worrying about skill trees and such found in other games. Bullets, guns, monsters = fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
Taking an old game and bringing it in a new direction, this DOOM update is not a game for the run and gun fan. This is survival horror at its finest. Still maintaining a spectacular armory, this game will have you thinking fast and playing it safe. Play it alone and in the dark for full effect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
I DIDN'T KNOW THIS WAS SUCH AN OVERHAUL! I knew the graphics were cranked up a notch, what I didn't know was everything else has been as well. More NPCs, more ammo, more spooky sounds and noises as you walk around, the guns sound better, more demons to kill, even the level designs are different from time to time. All improved. Every change they've made makes since. Like the flash light mounted on your left shoulder this time much like marines from "Aliens." So no more switching back and forth between flash light and gun every time you need a little light. Every complaint someone could have about the original Doom 3 seems to have been taken care of by Bethesda. But what will really blow away Doom fans is the upgrades to almost every level. It almost feels like a different game. Every change I've encountered makes sense and helped a great game become an even greater game still. And man is the frame rate smooth. It's at least 60 fps! Bravo Bethesda! Bravo!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 23 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here