Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 58 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 70 reviews
on July 21, 2012
Let's face it, people who enjoy disaster movies have a special gift for suspending all reality. If you are one of those people, you should enjoy this movie. If you understand the term "unobtainium" and are ok with a movie centered around that premise, then you should enjoy this movie. If you are a fan of "Firefly" then you should enjoy this movie (because it has Jewel Staite in it of course). If you can handle "better than tv" but worse than "in the theater" disaster movies, then you should enjoy this movie. If you love epic scale destruction (believable or not), then you should enjoy this movie. If you like to pick apart a movie that has attempted to tackle a huge topic (destruction of the earth) with moderate success on a small budget, then you should enjoy nitpicking this movie.

Tips for enjoying this movie:

1) Go into it with an open mind and no expectations
2) Suspend all reality and understand that it's ok that rebar can tell us our future
3) Keep your eyes on Jewel Staite (because she's awsome)
4) Stop being so nitpicky.
88 comments| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2012
I bought this because of the recommendation of the first guy to review this SyFy film.
Your choices are:

a) $15 for the DVD.
b) $20 for the Blu-Ray.
c) Steal it from the video shelf.
d) Buy a boot-legged copy.

I picked "a)" because it looks just fine on a 55" TV through a Blu-Ray player's upscaler.

If "b)" was picked, I'm pretty certain that any clearer picture would have spoiled the
movie by making a lower budgetted film' CGI just look worse.

The last two choices are, clearly, illegal.

The other reviewer said that he had the hots for --- the second-billed --- Jewel Staite.
I'll make a point and not tell the other (I think he's "MadMacs") reviewer that my wife
and I think that JEWEL STAITE looks a lot like our niece who's away at Lawyer College.

The actors --- I live in Europe, and don't see many movies anymore --- were all VERY good
in their roles, despite the lack of any "big name" stars.

I enjoyed the film.

The writer/directr did a very good job with this bit of escapism.

The special effects were acceptable. The SFX suffered only beause of the SIZE of my TV.
I am sure the fore-ground inadequacies were due to budget restraints, but most of the stuff
in the background was excellent.... but THAT may be because I was amazed by how much this
actress "Jewel Staite" looked like one of my relatives.

I say if you like a good story (PG-13) you can watch in the family room with a minimal amount
of bad guys gettin' shot, THIS is your DVD/BRD!

Like the General says in the MAKING OF "Great movie... and NO Vampires"

Harmless, entertaining, fluff worthy of purchase/rental.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
I 'm giving this sci-fi movie ★★★★ because 1) it is a sci-fi film & b) even for the sci-fi channel this story is a tad far fetched. Yes I enjoyed it w/all of the cataclysmic special effects it also had a hint of scavinger hunting as well. That rod is what lost me. I guess this prophet was being likened to Moses & his staff. The pain it inflicted upon the holder while revealing visions was what made it a little hokey. Maybe I was looking @ it through a more Biblical viewpoint. I had to keep reminding myself that the key word here is fiction. Al in all it was as entertaining as any other doomsday sci-fi channel movie. It's a keeper which by my definition means I'll watch again every once in awhile when I'm in the mood for a prophetic, sci-fi, action film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2014
I know. I thought this was going to be a bad 'B' movie. And it is a 'B' but it's a really good 'B' movie. We both thoroughly enjoyed watching this. Jewel Strait. What's not to like?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
A really good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2012
This movie is actually superior in terms of entertainment to some much larger budget end-of-the-world epics on the subject of Doomsday in 2012. The plot deals (vaguely) with this coincidence being predicted by the Mayans, ancient Polynesians of Easter Island . . . and some Canadian Indians. Odd since the last coincidence far predates any of those civilizations. No one explains why the plane of the solar system "crossing the galactic equator" wreaks such havoc on earth. No one explains why a prescient reclusive writer came into the possession of the one magical hematite rod (complete with handy carrying case) that allows the "rightful" owner to glimpse the future in visions. No one explains why a rogue DoD General knows about and is after said rod and why he insists our heroes be "terminated with prejudice". No one explains why there are seven Easter Island statues buried in Canada in a formation mimicing the constellation Canis Major, and why that's the magical defensive alignment for a secret weapon that echos "The Fifth Element", or why some roque object (dark star? brown dwarf? jupiter-like planet) is launched on a path of collision with the Earth by crossing the galactic equator.
Special effects are mostly a bit hokie and largely "fractal" earthquakes that erily seem to "chase" our heroes in their vehicle while running the length (practically) of half of North America.
The always-likeable Jewel Staite largely reprises a variant on the theme of her wonderful character from "Firefly", and few actresses project "genuine empathy and well-intentioned pluck" better that she did as Kayle (sp?) in "Firefly". The balance of the cast puts in a performance that at best is "workmanlike", which may reflect direction or writing as much as their talents. Yet Jewel somehow comes of as a person you'd love to have on your team if it was the "end of the world".
If you love "geeky science fiction" that you can enjoy with a few beers and a few friends, this will not challenge your intellect, but is fine light entertainment. Parts of it do call for the MSFT3000 treatment. It would have been good Saturday Matinee entertainment when I was a kid. Do NOT under any circumstances try to "think" through this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2014
The Black Sea disappears and somehow the US National Defense is on the case. At the same time, a supposedly savvy New York publisher buys a book sight unseen/unread that doesn't exist and sends a nitwit proofreader (A.J. Buckley) to fetch it. As if that wasn't enough, the author who doesn't have a book, calls a professor (Jewel Staite) who looks all of twelve, to pop in for a tete-a-tete. Soon. Time's a-wastin' it's the end of the world!

Beyond goofy, there's also a pack of bad guys willing to kill for the book that doesn't exist and baring that, a magic rod that induces visions (or drug-free hallucinations if you're of a suspicious nature who thinks all this gobbledygook is a crock). Apparently, this addlepated author is the new Nostradamus and overuses the magic rod to cough up scary visions of a future no one will enjoy. Naturally, in movies of this type, all government agents are trigger happy madmen who want to shoot first, seize the magic rod, then run like crazy before the earth opens up and swallows them whole..........if a Volcano doesn't get them first, or an earthquake doesn't topple a building on them. Take a deep breath, there's also a dark star heading our way, gobbling up the universe. Do not despair, half of British Columbia disappears quickly and no one notices. One of the characters suggests this might all be preposterous. Fortunately, the same people who decorated Easter Island also did the same in the Pacific Northwest but then they buried it. Decorator's remorse?

The filmmakers called this a "supernatural sci-fi thriller." They could call it a cosmic can of worms for all that mattered; it's still a daffy premise. But oddly enough, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I am a sucker for crap, especially crap sanctioned by the Syfy Channel. Great minds were not at work here but great fun is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
This isn't a typical rogue SyFy film about The End. The acting is distinct, the plot clear and you don't always feel like the characters are constantly running through the Canadian forests. I would actually recommend that the entire family watch this one together one Saturday afternoon with a large bowl of popcorn. There is enough fact-based meat to perhaps engage young children to ask about the mysterious wonders already here on earth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
Mildly fun although dissappointing to see all the cliche mystics (Native American, Mayan, etc.) and government agents as the adversary. Jewel is nice to look and if its a real slow evening it would pass the time and you wouldn't have to worry about any lingering thoughts or visions from the movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2012
I first thought that this would be a low budget version of 2012, but it was not at all. The acting was good and special effects were good too. I agree with the other reviewer, not big budget movie effects but above a TV movie. This movie is worth seeing for Scifi and action fans. One thing that I thought was funny (minor detail) for those of you that watch the movie, notice how the phones and computers all look like they were from 2003, not 2012 :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here