Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning gotcatchup gotcatchup gotcatchup  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 142 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 185 reviews
"Patience." "Persistence." We should ALL remember that good advice that Bill Porter's mother gave him often. Bill's struggle was with Cerebral Palsy which made him "walk like a drunken sailor" (his words) and slurred his speech. He wanted to be a salesman like his father, and against all odds, and with patience and persistence, he became one at Watkins. This is a true story of a man who became interwoven into his customer's lives and hearts...and as soon as you watch this movie, he'll touch your heart as well. At one point, he could no longer physically make deliveries to customers and hired Shelly (played cheerfully and with none of the pity that Bill could not stand by Kyra Sedgewick). Helen Mirren is amazing as Bill's mom.
SEE THIS MOVIE! This is one of William H. Macy's best performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2010
Most movies about sales people portray them in the cliched
"snake-oil peddler" mode. Because that's entertaining, hopefully.
Here's a fact-based story about a sales person who has great
challenges just living his life, much less pounding a demanding
sales route. The scriptwriters, Macy and Schachter (of the old
St. Nicholas Theater Co. of Chicago), do not let the Bill Porter
character become a martyr in a maudlin homily. He can be crabby,
and difficult to people who want to help him. He has fierce pride,
but also common wisdom and humor. He really likes people, and after
some hesitation, people really grow to like and value him, too.

Kudos to Macy and Schachter for bringing this remarkable story to film.
Macy, whose idea this was, proves once again that he is a superb actor.
He is greatly helped by three of the best actresses working: Kyra Sedgwick,
Kathy Baker, and the glorious Helen Mirren as Bill's tough but loving mom.
You would have to be stone-hearted not to be moved by this fine film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2014
one can only view with awe the incredible talet needed to portray this amazing man. a deeply moving,as well as touching,account of the life of a remarkable human being. heart felt, and extremely well acted by all.is now and always will be a favorite of mine, and i never miss a chance to recemend this film to every one!when i watched this movie,i was moved to shame that i have ever complained about my own life, seeing what truly brave people can endure, and acomplise.a true winner...........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2015
What makes this movie a delight to watch is that it is a true story and has a wonderful cast and William Macy, does a wonderful job playing the role of Bill Porter, a wonderful man who has a disability but such a strong determination to achieve being a successful business man by going door to door to sell his product.What he accompolished with his determination is a wonderful thing to see. A very pleasant movie to watch..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
My job entails teaching clients skills to assist them in finding employment. Most of them have barriers, including homelessness, felony records, long term unemployment, etc. I bought the movie because it was about a man who overcame great difficulty to succeed. I showed it to my class. They all enjoyed it and found it inspirational. Great movie with nice touches of humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2012
Is there nothing that William H. Macy can't do?! After buying the DVD movie of "The Wool Cap", in which he plays a mute worthy of an Oscar performance, I surged forward and got this movie of his right away. "Door to Door" is the true story of Bill Porter, an astounding man with cerebral palsy who aspires to be a door-to-door salesman for the Watkins company in Portland, Oregon. And he's still doing it! His optimism and determination will blow you away. You will forget that you are watching an amazing actor and believe you are watching the struggles of a real guy with C.P. Just a great feel-good movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed the DVD. It brought tears to my eyes throughout many scenes. If you are a fan of movies about people who are encountered with life obstacles and successfully get through them, than this item is one you will enjoy. I must warn viewers to keep tissues handy though. There are several scenes in this film that will amaze you to the point of tears. One lesson that can be learned by viewing this item is that it is important to judge others by their internal appearances instead of their external ones. I hope other viewers enjoy watching this film like I did. It is well worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
This is one of my favorite films. It will take you through all of the emotions and you will be drawn in to this story of struggles and success. You will not be disappointed! William H. Macy delivers a very convincing performance and will warm your heart in this beautiful story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
William H. Macy's performance is unmatched. Had this released in theaters, we may have seen at least an Oscar nomination, if not the win. So few people know this film exists. Please share it with everyone!

As far as Amazon's side of things go, I ordered this product at 10PM one night and received it at 5 PM the next day. I consider that magic. Good work, everybody at Amazon and UPS!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2003
William H. Macy as Watkins salesman Bill Porter gives the performance of a lifetime in this drama that took me through a range of emotions in seconds. Kyra Sedgewick does an admirable job as Shelly, Porter's assistant and dear friend. Kathy Baker's role as his best customer, Gladys, was also quite moving. Helen Mirren plays Bill Porter's mother and deserves the highest praise for portraying a strong woman who gives never-ending encouragement to her son, proving that "patience and persistence" will overcome all things, including his cerebral palsey. All in all, this is one of the DON'T MISS movies of your life. This is a true story where each character was played with brilliance. Once you see it, you have to see it again and again. I paid a HIGH price for the VHS on eBay and have watched it six times thus far - I never tire of that warm fuzzy this movie provides. See it, Buy it, Share it, and visit ... to see the REAL Bill Porter and his story, which is also his Watkins website!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse