Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 330 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 522 reviews
on May 2, 2014
Let me just get to the point and say that: If for some reason you have not watched this movie, please wait no longer. This is one of the greatest movies ever made. If you do not like black and white film, or movies from the 40ties than you may not like it as much. This is one of Billy Wilder's best. He has many, but this is really the one. I know that I could get some static on this opinion, but trust me when I tell you that the only other movie that could give it a run would be Sunset Blvd. I am taking into consideration all the work that I know that Wilder did. This may be some personal preference, but I do not think you will be disappointed. It is just great.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
First off: I absolutely love this movie. I can watch it anytime; have done so on many, many occasions over the years and I never tire of it. There's so much to revel in - Billy Wilder's zestful direction, the brilliantly witty script by Wilder and Raymond Chandler, a trio of top stars in Fred MacMurray, Barbara Stanwyck, and Edward G. Robinson, shadowy photography by John Seitz, and a terrific Miklos Rosza music score.

Based on James Cain's novel, DOUBLE INDEMNITY (Paramount, 1944) unfolds in true film noir style as an insurance agent (MacMurray) relates via voice-over how he became entangled in a murder plot by a scheming wife (Stanwyck) to rid herself of her husband and collect the insurance. Right away, their "perfect crime" starts to fall apart when the foxy claims manager (Robinson) begins to investigate.

The film gels with clockwork precision, and the suspense is genuinely nailbiting. What contributes to its effectiveness is the casting against type of good guy MacMurray as a killer. Stanwyck also delivers what is considered to be the definitive femme fatale portrayal, right down to the phony blonde wig. Beyond a doubt, this is just about as deliciously dark that film noir can possibly get.

This Blu-ray edition of DOUBLE INDEMNITY from Universal is gorgeous - the HD transfer was taken off the original 35mm film elements. Clarity of the black and white image is exceptional, and the mono audio track is crystal clear. The bonus features include an intro by TCM host Robert Osborne, a documentary on the making of the movie, commentaries by historians Richard Schickel, Lem Dobbs and Nick Redman, the theatrical trailer, and the 1973 made for TV feature based on the original film. You also get five photo card reproductions.

The bottom line: Get this. It's what film classics are all about. My highest recommendation.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2017
Double Indemnity (1944) is the perfect film noir, filled with deception, crime, forbidden love, and suspense. In the classic black and white aesthetic, it goes further and turns up the darkness. This film has the perfect cast, with characters who are very believable in their respective roles. This blu ray is a respectable print for an old film, and doesn't have the sound fluctuations that seem to be common with blu rays. This is a quality blu ray experience with lots of special features to entertain for hours, including the Double Indemnity TV movie from 1973. Another neat thing is the inclusion of 1 U.S. Theatrical Poster Reproduction, 3 U.S. Lobby Card Reproductions, and 1 Alternate Ending Still. Overall, this blu ray is essential for those who love film noir, or classic movies in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2016
This comment is about the film quality only. I have the Blu-ray version and it is crystal clear and appears the way the director intended (I would guess). There have been several comments about the poor quality so I wanted to set the record straight on this newer version. The film content: this is on the National Film Registry and on AFI's top 100 list. Nominated for 5 Academy Awards. So, one could say this is one of Hollywood's best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
We rented the Amazon Video version of Double Indemnity because we missed the last 30 minutes of a broadcast version. That's how much you are kept in suspense over the ending!! Its a great story, Fred MacMurray plays a conflicted man very well. In the rented version you can click on "XRay" for all kinds of production trivia and goofs. It was great fun to go back after the ending and looking up the location addresses on Street View to see what the locations look like 70 (!) years later. The house and apartment building are still there.

Obviously the movie is a classic that must be seen by anyone claiming to have watched the classics. I'm not one of these people, but this might make me go back and watch a few Billy Wilder movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
If you admire Billy Wilder, you cannot miss this out of your favourites list. A masterful script deftly directed by one of the few really strong imaginative directors. A dark, throbbing drama of greed and passion that makes you sweat with sympathy right up to the inevitable ending when you have to tell yourself "It's only a movie!" The stars nail their characters so perfectly that you can't imagine those lines being spoken any other way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2016
One of the classics! This movie is great on so many different levels. It is a hallmark of the noire genre. Fred MacMurray breaks from his traditional nice guy role and is excellent as a man that has been seduced into committing murder by a woman he is love with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2014
I can't believe I waited this long to see this legendary movie. As good as advertised. Barbara Stanwyck, Edward G. Robinson, and Fred MacMurray in the villain role he played so well. He was just as off putting in the Caine Mutiny. Odd he wasn't more highly regarded as an actor because in spite of his wholesome Disney image in later years he was very capable as a heavy or just the manipulative, spineless coward in the Caine Mutiny.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2014
Directed by Billy Wilder and impeccably interpreted by Fred MacMurray, Barbra Stanwyck, and Edward G. Robinson, this is one of the finest films of 1940s Hollywood, worthy to be compared to the best of Hitchcock. Did I mention that the grand master Raymond Chandler is one of the screenwriters. If you have any taste for the obsessive, dark side of human passion "Double Indemnity" is tailor made for you. My only complaint is with the restoration of the print itself- grainy in spots, surely there are better sources available. Wilder is a master of light and shadow and deserves the very best restoration. There are many fine Wilder films available (his director's filmography includes "Some Like It Hot", The Apartment", "Sunset Boulevard", a.m.o.) and this ranks at the top of his artistic achievement. "Double Indemnity" belongs in every film buff's library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
This movie is about a guy who gets caught up. It shows how things can get WAY out of control when things are done for the wrong reasons. And how in relationships, when one party is out for themselves ONLY. I have this movie in my collection and have watched it many times. If I am watching it on DVD and it happens to come on t.v., I'll stop the DVD and watch it on t.v. If you saw and enjoyed the movie "Body Heat", Kathleen Turner and William Hurt. You will ABSOLUTELY like this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse