Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 172 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 183 reviews
on June 1, 2016
Visually, I love these shoes. They are completely badass, and all of my friends love them. The only downside is, the first time I wore them (for a measly hour and a half of errand running), I got a blister over the entire back of my heel so bad I was unable to walk without limping for the rest of the day and the entire next day. Three days later and I am still stuck wearing flip flops as shoes are just too uncomfortable. Holy moly. My feet are no stranger to blisters-- I almost exclusively wear Doc Martens and other shoes that require breaking in... but this was RIDICULOUS. I even used this blister preventing stick thing that works for some pairs of sneakers, but it was no match for these.

I am not giving up, because I have fallen in love and beauty is pain. And I know that Doc Martens are worth the torture once they get broken in. But I have invested in some heel pads and other items that will hopefully make my next experience with these shoes a little smoother. But if you choose get these (and I hope you do because they are beautiful), PLEASE take extreme precautions to ensure some semblance of comfort.
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2016
These shoes are great!! If you have wide feet, I'd recommend buying your normal size. I have fairly wide feet and I bought a size down and they fit perfectly snug, but id prefer them to be a little looser! It all depends on the width of your feet and how you'd prefer them to fit:)
review image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
I am a perfect 8.5 borderline 9. What I mean by this is I have the least amount of toe room you could have in a size 8.5 before having to go up a size. So I find that when I choose to wear a size 9...say if my size is not available, I can barely tell the difference. My feet are also slightly wide too...mostly because I have a flat foot with no arch. So its not really noticeable to anyone but me. But I generally take a 8.5 medium shoe in US sizing. In this particular shoe, considering they only had full sizes, I went with the size 8 and it fit me the way an 8.5 would. In other words, just enough toe room to be a legit 8.5. It was not too wide around my foot either...it was just right. They do have a thick sole and so they are a taller sandal (chunky). I went with the patent leather black pair and they're cute but I feel strange in them because I tend to go with a less bulky shoe with dresses and shorts and that's what I bought them for. I may have to play with them for a couple days. But I haven't worn them yet but imagine they will hurt slightly because they are patent leather which is stiff. But back to the sizing, my thoughts are, if you are a full size, take your normal size but if you are on a 1/2 size like I am, go down one full size. If I were a size 9 in a typical shoe and went with a size 8, no doubt in my mind that my toes would be hanging off the edges. Hope this adds some clarity for someone out there.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2017
Love the way this Dr. Marten sandal looks on my foot. I appreciate the arch support. However, it feels hard. I'm thinking that I will get a silicone arch insert before I wear them out. I wear a 9.5 and I have a long second toe. So, I did a Google search on Dr. Marten UK sizing to US sizing. Luckily, I found a thread where a woman with my same shoe size and toe issue wrote that Dr. Martens sizing runs slightly larger than US. So ordering a size down is suggested. I ordered the 9 and it fits perfectly. I've worn Dr. Marten sandals some years ago; they were heavy. I've not worn this sandal out yet. So, I don't know if it is heavy. Still, I love the style. It's so chic. And is very well made. It will last forever. This sandal can be worn as a dress sandal. Love it.

Update: I love this sandal so much. I love the way it looks on my feet. However, I wore them in home, while getting dressed to go out. My feet slid about in the footbed and made sucking sounds when I walked. I couldn't understand why my feet were slipping around, until I remembered back to my old Dr. Martens sandals which had a suede footbed. This sandal has a gorgeous black shiny footbed that is not practical for the immobile sole of the shoe. Regretfully, I am going to have to return them. Please make this sandal with a suede footbed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
The shoes are soooo cute! I've worn them a few times and I can tell it's going to take a hot minute to break in. The only thing I hate is they don't have half sizes. So if you have wide feet and wear a half size, go up. If not, go down in size. But the great thing with Docs are they last forever so the price is worth it.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2016
These sandals are amazing! I bought them because I wanted a sturdy sandal for walking around the city and taking the subway because there's nothing grosser than the city in the summer. I love that my feet are still pretty covered and the Dr. Martens sole keeps you from sliding around on a wet floor. Keep in mind that they do run big, so order a size down and they'll be perfect. They may also rub the back of your heels something awful the first time you wear them, I found that putting vaseline on my heels right before I put them on helped a ton. After my first time wearing them (where I think they took off half the skin on my heels) I wore them for 3 days straight and they were fine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2016
These sandals look great are very comfortable. I am glad that I ordered one size smaller than usual based on all the reviews I read. The buckles rattle when you walk which may bother some people. I put some small twist ties around each buckle to keep them from shifting and the ratting has stopped. You can't even notice them. I plan to wear these sandals for a long time.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
I would give these shoes 5 stars for style and uniqueness. They have the verve and funkiness that you would expect from a much more expensive European shoe such as Trippen. The Clarissa manages to be both a pretty walloping big shoe and weirdly comforting AND flattering to wear.

I'd have to give just 4 stars for the reasons that these shoes are HEAVY. I warned you. They feel like bowling balls on your feet. But I think that their heft contributes to the comforting sensation. Your feet are protected, honey. Also, order down a size. They are whomping big. And last of all, like many Doc Martens, they will take a while to break in. Wear socks. Or bandaids. Don't set out on a 4k with these right outta the box. It'll be a commitment, but once you do get them broken in they will be comfortable and so long-wearing you can leave them to your grandchildren.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
My daughter normally wears the shoe size 8 1/2, regular width. She wears a UK6 US8 in the Dr. Martens boots and they fit her perfectly. We ordered the Clarissa sandal in a UK6 US8 and they were gigantic, unwearable, there was an inch to spare in front of her toes. We repurchased a size UK5 US7 and they fit perfectly. If your feet are wide you could get away with it but if you have a regular width I would order a size down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
I'm a size 10 US and my feet are on the very edge of not being wide which normally means wide for sandals. Instead of listening to the reviews I got a size 10 and there's no regret at all! Even though they're a little big, they're really comfortable and breaking them in will be a lot easier. I have about half an inch room in front of my toes and a little less than that on either side of my foot without socks on. With fuzzy socks on, the shoes were snug and comfortable. If the shoes were smaller I don't think I could have worn them with fuzzy socks. The only thing that hurt after wearing them for a day (without socks) was the back of my heels - and this is on the first day wearing them so I consider that a win.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 33 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here