Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Dragon Ball Z: Season 4 (Garlic Jr., Trunks, and Android Sagas)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$16.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 25, 2010
Dragonball Z is famous across the globe, most noted for being one of the all time most popular anime series ever created. The show does an excellent job of staying true to the mangas, with few name changes and plot adjustments. This collection happens to be my personal favorite collection of all of the available ones to choose from. Why? It's because of the interesting sagas that it contains.

The Garlic Jr Saga is a great series of episodes that is highly overlooked. Garlic has returned from his "Dead Zone" imprisonment. He now seeks revenge on the earthlings, and will stop at nothing to continue his attack on Piccolo and Kami for the death of his father. Armed with new henchmen and still gifted with immortality, it seems as if Garlic Jr is unstoppable. The fight between Gohan, Krillin, Piccolo and Garlic Jr is one of the most action packed ones ever placed within the anime. The plot is great, and the show does a great job of keeping the viewer enticed and engaged through the many surprising twists hidden within this saga.

The second Saga that this collection contains is one of the most popular sagas of the show, the Trunks Saga. The Trunks Saga marks the arrival of Trunks and the announcement of the impending doom of the entire planet. The addition of this saga marked a new chapter in the Dragonball Z universe. It was once viewed "impossible" to become a Super Saiyan, but as this saga proves, Super Saiyan is no longer a feet unachievable by Saiyans. With the introduction of this saga, power levels increase and enemies once viewed as formidable are no longer so. Once viewed as the strongest being in the universe, Frieza arrives on Earth seeking revenge for his near-death experience that was handed to him on Namek by Goku. Frieza knows that Goku is going to arrive late, so he intends to have some fun with the planet's inhabitants before Goku arrives. Little did he know that another Super Saiyan exists. Trunks quickly dispatches the villain and his father in a matter of seconds. He then goes on to reveal the future that will come to pass, a future where everyone on Earth has been killed by a pair of diabolical androids/cyborgs.

This is a nice little DVD collection. It comes in a nicely sized box with a folding DVD case. The collection pack comes with six DVDs containing remastered footage from the anime. The quality of the images has been touched up, but it also contains image cropping. The sound is better, a much sharper, cleaner quality, but the volume level could use some work, seeing as the actual episodes are more quiet than the rest of the DVD contents. This collection is simply amazing in every way conceivable. A perfect season to purchase if you're a DBZ fan.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
I loved this entire season. The Garlic JR saga was filler, but it's sorta entertaining also. The introduction into the androids is pretty solid. My only problem with this is who I bought it from. I don't know how, but goHastings managed to to include bread crumbs into my season set, along with a messed up booklet. Let this be learned to NEVER buy from them.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
In dragon ball z season four, Garlic Jr. Has returned to take his revenge on Goku and Gohan for locking him away in the dead zone. But Goku has not return from defeating frieza, he is on another planet learning a new technique. Garlic Jr. Heads towards the lookout to get the black water mist and spreads it over the earth to create his army of darkness. Now its up to Piccolo,Krillin and Gohan to stop Garlic Jr. And the Spice Boys. Can they do it or will the earth be lost forever. A young boy from the future shows up and tells the z warriors where Goku will land on earth. The z warriors head for the spot and await for Goku. But unknown to them Frieza and King Cold are heading to planet earth to take revenge on Goku. But the young boy puts an end to Frieza and King Cold by going super saiyan. Goku is now on the earth and the young boy tells him why he is here. Trunks has come from the earth future where two evil android have killed all the z warriors one by one. Trunks has come to give Goku the cure for his heart illness which kills him in the future before he can stop the androids. Now with the cure and the help of Trunks can the z warriors stop the future from coming true.

Season Four Disc BreakDown

Disc 01
108.The Heavens Tremble
109.Black Fog Of Terror
110.Battle in Kami's Lookout
111.Fight With Piccolo
112.Call For Restoration
113.Suicidal Course

Disc 02
114.Extreme Measures
115.The World Awakens
116.Brief Chance For Victory
117.Krillin's Proposal
118.Frieza's Counterattack
119.The Mysterious Youth

Disc 03
120.Another Super Saiyan
121.Welcome Back Goku
122.Mystery Revealed
123.Goku's Special Technique
124.Z Warriors Prepare
125.Goku's Ordeal

Disc 04
126.The Androids Appear
127.A Handy Trick
128.Double Trouble For Goku
129.Upgrade To Super Saiyan
130.The Secret Of Dr. Gero

Disc 05
131.More Androids
132.Follow Dr. Gero
133.Nightmare Comes True
134.Goku's Assassin
135.Deadly Beauty

Disc 06
136.No Match For The Androids
137.Last Ditch Effort
138.Closing In
139.Unwelcome Discovery

Coming Soon Dragon Ball Z Season Five Review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2015
I ordered the whole DB/Z/GT collection. I was thrilled when I got them. I started to watch Season Four but when I put the first disc of this season in it wouldn't play. I checked the disc itself, and it was damaged. If not for that, I'd give it five stars. Every other disc to this point has been perfect. Nothing against the series, just a fluke I'm sure.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
This season is broken into two parts. 1st is the Garlic Jr. Saga and the 2nd is the Android Saga. These sagas are completely unrelated and have no decent transition. The Garlic Jr. Saga was terrible with the main antagonist having recovered from a fate worse than death that resulted from when he opened a portal in a previous saga. The story line was predictable and without much growth. This season leaves the Android saga incomplete ending on cliff hangers, which means I have to buy season 5 to know what happens next. Since the series has redundant flashbacks and I really just wanted the Android saga, I should have just bought season 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
I bought this video series as a gift for my son for his birthday and christmas. He loves them and has enjoyed watching them. The packaging and quality are great and the playback is flawless. He is thrilled with them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
I know a lot of people don't like the orange bricks since the series is cropped in 16:9 instead of being 4:3. Trust me, I know your pain losing some of the picture. However with the Blu-rays being cropped too and the Dragon Box sets being expensive as hell, this is your best bet having DBZ in English on DVD. I can point out a handful of times in each episode where the heads are cut off from the cropping but the picture is remastered in comparison to the old VHS releases. This set is perfect except for the cropping. Get past that and you got DBZ!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
You know how it is. The Dragonbox is probably the way to go if you're a super fan. I am a big fan and the 2-inches or so that they cut off here was a little irritating. I will say that this gets bonus points for nostalgia for including the Bruce Falconer score, which the Dragonbox doesn't have. So if that's a deal-breaker for you then this is the way to go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
Trunks shows up, some filler stuff with the garlic saga and a solid finish with the Android Sagas.....buy this, through a party with sexy women....they will love watching it and will love you. price wise this is a bargain for how much better this will make your life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
This arrived super fast within a day or two of ordering. I didn't expect this to arrive so soon. I bought this as a gift for my fiancé for his birthday. His birthday won't occur for a few weeks so his gift is just teasing him every time he sees it now, especially since I keep it in plain sight. Overall, we love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse