Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 771 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 921 reviews
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 6, 2011
Saw this on Amazon for around $40 and I asked my daughter if I should buy this program. She hollered YES especially for that price. Well I am glad I listened to her as the purchase was an excellent one.

While there are quirks, and it takes training, Dragon is very easy to use in dictation mode. So far I have used the program for word processing only, but Dragon is supposed to be able to help navigate your computer through various functions online.

As to word processing: the program does very well. All you have to is connect the included headset with mike and start dictating. The commands are very simple such as "Cap Apple" or "New line". You can also specify opening parenthesis by stating "open paren" followed by "close paren". You then dictate your copy and Dragon happily types what what you say.

Sometimes you get some funny statements or words as Dragon is confused by similar sounding words such as to or two. You do have to check to make sure similar sounding words are what you wanted typed. This happens rarely but it does happen.

Overall, Dragon has sped up my typing speed and has made writing less tedious.

Highly recommend
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2010
Nuance's Dragon Naturally Speaking software is an excellent product. It has very good accuracy (though it sometimes confuses homonyms); however, one should be careful not to have too many loud noises in the room when dictating (the program will sometimes stall or write incorrect characters)and to speak at a good pace (actually speaking very slowly will cause the product to make more errors). One thing I don't like about Dragon is that there is no trial or demo version. As a result, in order to utilize the program, one has to buy it first. This does not seem like a very good move on Nuance's part. They could probably get more buyers if they offered, say, a 30 day trial or something like that. The best thing about the program, however, is the fact that is less than $100, which makes it very affordable. As a doctoral student, it saves me a lot of time working on draft papers---time that could be spent researching. Finally,the headset works very well with the software and one is probably better off using the ones that come with the software rather than buying another set of headphones. For individuals who need to write a lot, this software is a very useful tool.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2011
(After all this time, it still thinks I'm yelling "fark you" at it.)

The first problem is the claim that this product is 99% accurate right out-of-the-box. That suggests that there is almost no room for improvement, and even after spending a few hours with this product, the user will see that there needs to be a LOT of improvement. The good news is that after about 12 hours of training/corrections, this becomes a pretty decent dictation product. And it's not terrible for browsing the web.

However, it's not really excellent for anything but dictation. One of the reasons is that whereas you can correct its errors in ordinary dictation, you can't correct it when it misinterprets one of your commands like "switch to next window" or "press delete".

Another serious weakness is the documentation. It's shoddy and has holes. For instance there is a table listing descriptions and spoken commands for type used just today, and in one row there is a description but no spoken command for it. Earlier, I was trying to find information on "roaming profiles" in the help documentation, and the only information provided was a single sentence instructing me to "see master roaming profiles", but of course there was no documentation on that term. In fact the only place a description of roaming profiles is given is on the website, and they don't even offer instructions how to do it; they just say that "your IT department will be able to manage it". Worst of all, the documentation lists commands which I think the software can't interpret. For example "list Windows" never produces any results, always gets interpreted as something like "click Windows"; meanwhile, I found that "list programs" does what I would expect "list Windows" to do.

All my complaints notwithstanding, I have found that some of the complaints I read on here are in error (user error). For example, it does work in Microsoft Word (quite well) or any other text input program.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003VNCRNQ/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_img

I was excited to get this product but was soon disappointed. Dragon had a hard time understanding. I have 3 different microphones (1 headset came with the software, 1 an expensive headset, and 1 desktop microphone. Dragon would miss identify words so I added them manually but it still didn't get the word. Then, after a while it didn't do anything, even when I would say a command; nothing, kaput. There have been several emails to the help area but that wasn't helpful at all. After a few suggestions, the responses went back to the beginning and started suggesting the aids from the beginning. I gave up and uninstalled the software. That left a conflict behind that made my laptop make a loud noise from the speakers. I had to uninstall a sound mixer.

If you by it, beware. They give 30 days to return. I would suggest returning it early because they won't take it after 30 days; even-though I spent all that time trying to make it work. I checked my computer and it came with a speech to text program and it is so much better than Dragon!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
I first used Dragon many years ago when it came bundled with WordPerfect. If I'm not mistaken, it was about the time that Scansoft, Inc. bought Speechworks and became Nuance. I was then a Survey Mapper and had to create or copy Survey legal descriptions. They weren't to complicated, as documents go, just a lot of therefores, aforementioneds, cardinal calls (bearings and distances) and regular words. Anyway, it worked great for me in those days, but in my experince, it didn't like womens voices for some reason or noisy rooms, still, I had no complaints and being a one finger per hand typer, it sure did boost my prodoctivity.
FAST FORWARD to today.. As mentioned, the older versions I tried didn't like higher pitched voices, i.e., my wife, but I took a chance and got it for her as a Christmas gift. But this version (11.5 Home) took right to her and she was really surprised at how well it picked up on her voice and accent. She was initially skeptical of this software, because she had tried to use various older versions with not so good results. This software is more than just a toy to her as she has had Rheumatiod Arthritis for many years and also diagnosed with Fibromyalgia 5 years ago. Quite simply, this software allows her to carry on and do quite a bit more with the computer. It isn't perfect, but I don't know to many typists that are.

TIPS:
At first, you will be preoccupied with watching the text, but try and just speak like you would type.

The software will want to look through your documents, emails and contacts, but you don't have to allow that. It will work fine.

You will be asked to pick an accent. Be honest with the software and don't try to over enunciate or you will be disapointed when you start talking in your normal way of speaking.

SUMMARY:
We are both very pleased with the price and performance of this software. I won't guarantee that this will work for you, but I will recomend that you try it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2010
A couple of months ago I decided to give Dragon a try to make report writing easier. Overall, the software is adequate and does get 'smarter' the more one uses it as it learns your particular voice characteristics. Most of my reports include names of people. Dragon falls short on names that can also be adjectives and won't capitalize them unless the name is the first word in the sentence. A real irritant. The names do display correctly all the time if a possessive. The software has crashed twice and both times tech support was amateurish in its efforts to assist. The first crash resulted in an error having to do with a communications port. The second crash was after my 'profile' became 'corrupted'. Re-installing the software from scratch got all up and running, but I had to set up everything all over each time; a real pain. I'm using a new, very fast, computer, but Dragon's 'correct' commands execute very slowly; by my standards, anyhow. Dragon and Word disagree on the spelling of quite a few words.

Ideally, Dragon would work with zero effort on the part of the user and just display each word spoken correctly in the proper context, but that's far from the case. For the money, it's an ok value, but just.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2012
This is a great program and works as advertised. I only had one problem setting it up and that had to do with needing to have Visuall C++ Runtime installed. When I first tried to install the program, I got an error message saying that Runtime was not installed, but not giving any direction on how to rectify the problem. After a little looking around on the web, though, I figured out how to start the install program in compatibility mode (right click on the program's setup file)and that walked me through Dragon's installation of Runtime and then the program itself.

I did the speech training and have been using the program this morning to write a letter. It is remarkable accurate, and since it is possible to teach the program specific names or technical terms, it gets "smarter" as you go along. I'm having a little problem getting the program to distinguish between dictation and commands, but since I've been using it in combination with the mouse, this hasn't really been a problem. This WOULD be a problem for someone with limited or no use of their hands, who had to rely completely on voice commands. I expect that I will learn to speak commands, when I need them, in a way the program will understand.

The great American novelist Henry James would have loved this program. In the second half of his career, at the beginning of the 20th century, he employed a series of typists to take dictation. There are critics who say the practice ruined his style, but then there were critics who said the same thing about imaginative writing when authors first started using word processing software. James's sentences got longer and more complex when dictating; so far, it seems to me that my sentences are somewhat shorter, using fewer subordinate elements or parenthetical insertions, but that's probably because I'm not used to composing this way. In any case, technically, with the noted glitch in installation, the program is brilliant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
I am the "hunt and peck" typist so this software saves lots of time when needing to take notes out of print material or when typing a letter. I don't use the fancier features, I use it for simple dictation, and for that, Dragon works well. It also learns your way of speaking and adjusts over time, given you create a profile and save the changes. It does make hilarious interpretations of what you say at times (for example the word "pornography" gets typed as "per knocker fee," which just sounds wrong and cracks me up every time). Sometimes if I sneeze or cough, it will type words (apparently Dragon thinks my sneezes sound like "him and him and him"). Also, at times it suffers from common internet typos like not using they're/ their at the appropriate moments. I still have to proofread just in case Dragon misheard my statements but most of the time it is because I talk fast and don't always pause in between words.

If there downsides to Dragon, I'd have to say this version does not work on anything later than Windows 7 (I tried uploading it to my Windows 8 tablet). Also, Nuance was aggressive for a while for trying to sell upgrades but they seem to have backed off now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2015
Dragon Naturally Speaking Home 11[Old Version] is a speech recognition software that allows you to interact with your computer just by talking to it. Speaking is faster than typing and this software shows your spoken word three times faster than typing and the accuracy is 99%. The software works with Windows vista/xp and 7. There is a great sidebar with common commands that you can use to increase convenience. This software is a handy tool especially when you need to type long documents. In addition, the installation process is very easy and requires no prior technical expertise. Just follow the instructions and you are good to go.

There are tutorials to walk one through should there be any difficulties interacting with the software. This speech recognition software costs $32. Typing isn’t the only thing that the software can do. You can utter commands to the computer and it will do it. Sending emails, interacting with friends in twitter and Facebook and anything else you do with your computer will be so much fun. This is the kind of application you get to use and wonder how you managed to cope without it. Multi-tasking is so much fun since all you have to do is utter the words and the computer obeys it. If you dread the squiggly red line then you need to get this software. It doesn’t make any grammatical errors. Keyboard interaction is so minimal since most of the interaction is verbal. Don’t forget to invoke the help command in case you are stuck. The software also comes with a headset microphone which is a cost saver. Windows comes with a speech recognition software that does most things if not everything wrong. It will fill in words when you take a breath and also tries to predict what one will say. I like the fact that this software can help people who can’t use their hands anymore. To get the most out of this software, it’s advisable to speak a few words simultaneously and then take breaks in between. For example, if you need the software to output the sentence, “It’s Monday and the Monday blues are intense.” You will utter the words like this: It’s Monday and (take a breath) the Monday blues are intense. Like with everything practice makes perfect and it’s only by getting the gist of how the software works will you be able to have an enjoyable user experience. But all in all this is a great speech recognition software.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have used Nuance voice recognition for years
I could not locate my disc for ver. 10 preferredso I decided to order a new one
I found version 11.5 on amazon.
I could not believe the reviews that complained about the hours spent trying to install the program and get started
Nor did I trust that customer service could be as bad as they reported
So I ordered it
Came promptly as promised and packed beautifully
Unfortunately the reviews were right
Impossible to install. Try restarting they advise "Even multiple times"
And so I did
Decided NOT to waste my time on customer service.
Two hours later I was no better off than when I started so I put it pack in the beautiful shipping carton and sent it back
In shopping for another brand of voice recognition I learned That Windows 7 has one pre installed and all you have to do is turn it on
Works great and is free
Good bye DRAGON Naturally Speaking
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 82 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here